User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Fox & Hounds, Reading

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Gosbrook Road
Caversham
Postal town: Reading
RG4 8BS
Phone: 07540816293

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Fox & Hounds

There has been quite a refurb over the summer and the interior is now more modern and metropolitan in look. It may put some off but I think it's quite well done (and some sort of overhaul was desperately required). The beer range and quality remains first class, as so the Sunday roasts which are the best in RG1/RG4 for my money. The opening of the pedestrian footbridge across the Thames from the new north entrance to Reading BR has also been a boon. It's a Reading essential and Caversham's top dog.

September 2015
Doing well here, up to six ales on the go plus some ciders with an emphasis on quality (Dark Star) and local sourcing (WEBREW, Two Cocks, Rebellion etc) with some interesting bottles in the fridge. Beer quality is generally high. The interior is now a lot tidier and there are quite a few people. The owners are really nice people too. Shows the football/rugby so a good spot to catch the match with a decent pint. Beer garden been created in the car park which also has an outside telly for al fresco sporting events. Well-worth the walk from Reading BR (there's now a footbridge).

2011 UPDATE - has just been taken over by the Two Bridges Brewery people, who will be making big changes here over the next six months. Last night saw the pulling of the first ever decent pint from the lines (Two Bridges Blonde Bevvy £3) and lighting that actually allowed you to feel like it wasn't the three day week. It will soon close for a week or so to get the interior sorted. The main news is that they will have 8 handpumps (2 Two Bridges, 6 others). The place has been refurbished, so if you know how it used to be, you might be pleased at the new flooring, new clear glass in the windows (so people can see in), new decoration and the general much brighter and more comfortable ambience. "Coming soon" are Sunday lunches and Saturday breakfasts. It sounds as though it could become a destination pub.

January 2010
Vague claim to fame is that Lennon and McCartney played here pre-Beatles. Otherwise this a is a drab, dark, unkempt and smelly place serving London Pride or Two Bridges. Given its got 'freehouse' on the pub sign I am amazed that they don't do more here as it has potential.

On 16th July 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Fox & Hounds

The beer selection here seems to get better with every visit,now smartened up, as Quinno mentions below, without damaging the traditional nature of the pub. It was though rather quiet on a Saturday afternoon. About a 10 minute walk from the train station, but a bit of a hike from The Nags Head,worth it though.
16th July 2013
A nice basic locals pub with a surprisingly interesting beer selection,there was a good reception from the couple of locals and from behind the bar when our 17 strong group of pub crawlers invaded their Saturday afternoon peace,as I said a good selection of beer (itemised by B.F. below)The Cairngorn Caille was not initially to my taste but grew on me the more I had.The small separate games room was adorned with Beatles memorabilia and we were informed John Lennon and Paul McCartney played here on the 23rd of April 1960.
this was a very enjoyable pub and I intend another visit in the near future.

On 31st January 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Fox and Hounds

A sign outside the Fox and Hounds advertises ten ever changing real ales and ciders which is some feat as there are only eight hand pumps. Two of these were drawing cider and the other six were drawing an interesting range of ales. I went for Sunny Republic Brewery’s Beach Blonde which went down a treat. There is a limited draught selection which was of no interest to anyone in the pub during my recent sunny Saturday afternoon visit.
In the bar area are a couple of plasma screens that were showing muted golf via Sky Sports. There is also a jukebox on the wall, but there was no noise coming from it. At the rear of the pub is a room with a pool table.
Outside some covered picnic tables overlook a large car park. It was whilst having a cigarette here that I read about the weekly quiz which takes place every Thursday from 20:30.
I found the service to be very friendly and the lone local at the bar was a chatty amiable man.

This is a very good pub that is worth the trip from central Reading.

On 3rd August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about Fox and Hounds

An excellent street corner pub, interior decoration featured a large number of brewery branded mirrors. Staff are friendly and good-humoured. The bar offers 7 pumps of good quality local ale, plus another 1 for cider. It's really not far from the centre of Reading and is well worth a visit.

On 28th July 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 282 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Fox and Hounds

Yes those Micky Mousers get everywhere! Well all that I can add to this, is that it was worth the 200 mile journey for my pint of Mighty Oak Tiger Tim. This is a good traditional pub, with friendly staff and locals alike, serving excellent ales.

On 16th July 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Fox and Hounds

A detached pub with patio area. It looks early 20th century, so I can only assume it was part of the expansion of the village at that time. It has a touch of the mock-Tudors, with its white and wood panel gable and lower frontage - the rest being in plain brick. The interior has a couple of rooms, which are, to purists, open plan. The front room is in red and white, with a brick fireplace. It has a few mirrors, old adverts, old bottles and a pump clip collection for interest. There is a piano too - just in case Paul McCartney pops back in. A large TV was showing the golf. The back room is in red and black, with a wood floor and brick fireplace. It has pool and darts, with Beatles memorabilia on the walls - yes, Lennon and McCartney played here in 1960. The service was friendly and the clientele consisted of the PG group and one bloke, a chirpy gent that entertained Mr Hatter for what appeared to be several hours. Beer; the Captain (BF) has listed the beers below - just to add the two Sunny Republic Beers were Beach Blonde and Dolphin Amber - which is what i had and was decent enough. A great pub and one i could spend hours in. A special moment occurred here too. Whilst returning from the loo, i saw Real Ale Ray, alone, amongst the Beatles ephemera:-
ME: Hi Ray, this must be powerful for you, being a Liverpudlian - to actually visit a place where THEY played - do you need some time on your own, to reflect?
RAR: 'Ang on a mo' is dat 20p left on da pool table..... Great.

On 16th July 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Fox and Hounds

A proper street corner local boozer with a very good selection of real ale.There was a friendly welcome for us crawlers,and the interior is genuine with the main L shaped tap room having a real fire with a flatscreen above,an upright piano,a collection of board games and wooden flooring.To the side is a seperate ,raised games room with a pool table.
The eight handpumps were drawing two real ciders and among the ales were Mighty Oak Tiger Tim,Red Squirrel Hopfest (in good nick),two Sunny Republic brews and Cairngorm Caille.It's certainly worth getting over to Caversham if you are touring the Reading area to come to this pub.I would be quite tempted to base myself here for a session,it ticks are the right boxes.

On 14th July 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]