User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Old & New with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Sweeney & Todd, Reading

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
10 Castle Street
Reading
RG1 7RD

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Komakino . left this review about Sweeney & Todd

One of my remaining Reading Centre ticks and a bit of character in this pie-led restaurant - the late Geoffrey Fletcher would have enjoyed this place: especially the bustling be-tabarded waitresses and curtained, worn wooden booths. This does have a functioning bar midway through its narrow length against the right-hand wall, and there's no truck with the solo drinker. Adnam's Southwold Bitter, Wadworth 6X, Butcombe Gold and Box Steam Stoker's Quench were the back four, with a pint of the latter the best I've had yet from that brewery - robust and quaffable - and £4.20 a pint is probably an acceptable price considering this is more eatery than drinkery. There is also further seating downstairs. It's a curio, but I'd say its entry is justified over the plethora of nightclubs, hotel bars and chain eateries that pollute this site. I feel bad that Mr Mapp had such a bad experience in the below review and will maybe give it another go.

On 5th May 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 962 recommendations about 962 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Sweeney & Todd

Totally bizarre experience and not at all what I was expecting.

I had read reviews of the food and liking a pie, though I would investigate.

Its a supermarket deli in the front, with all the pies in a chiller. No worries, I can see a bar. Unmanned but 4 real ales on.

Then the tables are in the back. I sit down. An elderly waiter ignores me for 5 mins.

I go to the bar where the same elderly waiter is pouring drinks and doesn't even acknowledge that I exist.

I walk out.

On 17th May 2015 - rating: 1
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Sweeney and Todd

Pint and pie house (go past the deli counter and up the steps). Lovely. Four ales, with Wadworth and Adnams often taking up a couple of spaces along with the occasional interesting guest. Beer is usually decent, if sometimes a bit warm. Beer prices are on the steep side, more restaurant than pub prices. Well-worth a visit for the novelty value - the pies are superb. To clarify - you can just go in for a beer if you want.

On 22nd January 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Sweeney and Todd

Arriving in Reading at lunchtime, I made a beeline to this pie and ale house for some hearty grub and a pint before heading of to the football. You enter into a small delicatessen with a counter on the left offering a few tempting goodies, but steps to the rear lead you into the dining area with a proper dark wood servery along the right hand wall. The room is very narrow, with bare floorboards and a row of booths down the left hand side, each furnished with hard settles and partitioned with small curtains. The walls are painted white and have been decorated with a few black and white photos, period wall lamps and a brewery mirror. Two small tables with standard chairs have been squeezed along the right hand side just past the bar, before you reach a second, larger room which is carpeted and has a skylight allowing plenty of light in. Plates are suspended from the dark wooden beams and large art prints cover the walls. Seating is a lot more comfortable looking here, with lots of high backed padded chairs throughout. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, with a welcoming matriarch running the show with her winning charm offensive. The pie menu is pretty huge, but not all varieties are available, so you'll need to ask for a run through before ordering to make sure you get what you want. I paid £7 for a huge steak and kidney pie with a side of chips, which was delicious.
On the bar, there are four hand pumps which were dispensing Adnams Southwold Bitter and Explorer, Hook Norton Old Hooky and Wadworth 6X. I opted for the Explorer, which I've not had for a few years, and I thought it was a very good pint in excellent condition.
I tried to gauge whether you would be able to pop in here just for a drink without ordering any food, and I have to say I'm not sure this would be possible. However, for the purpose of my visit, everything was pretty much spot on and I would happily recommend this place to anyone wanting some honest grub with a good pint of beer to wash it down. 9/10 as a pie shop but this is not a pub, so my score has been adjusted accordingly.

On 22nd January 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2449 recommendations about 2449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Sweeney and Todd

As mentioned before has a novelty value about it ,4 beer pulls Wadsworth 6X, Bishops Tipple, Adnams Southwold Bitter and a seasonal from Adnams Shingle Shells,had a taste of the latter and it was suprisingly good as was my beer of choice Bishops Tipple,probably not a destination for the serious ale/pub buff but worth popping in for something a little different .

On 9th December 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about Sweeney and Todd

Really this is a Cafe more than a pub, something feels a bit like the Cafe from Last of the Summer Wine here. Ok, for something to eat but would not suggest it for the pub atmosphere. Real Ales are available however.

On 21st December 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Sweeney and Todd

From the front it looks like an ordinary pie shop, although the sign says “famous pies... fine wines... real ales”; once inside the door the bar and dining area is still partially hidden by screens and curtains. Carry on up a short flight of stairs and you reach the bar with its four beer engines carrying Adnams Bitter, York Ghost, 6X and Tanglefoot, a little less boring keg range from Peroni and Becks plus Stowford Press cider. I chose the Adnams as I've not had it for a while and was not disappointed by the condition, taste or quality of the ale. To the side, front and back are tables and chairs for the consumption of the delicious pies, you need to ask which fillings are available when you order as it does vary from the menu. There is a larger dining room further back. You can drink here as a non diner but I guess that would defeat the object of visiting. Decorated in a fairly conventional style, Constable prints, pictures of old Reading, framed awards and brewery mirrors there are also some interesting theatrical ephemera. Mixed bunch of customers although my evening was enlivened by a couple of 12 year olds from the BBC, listeners of Ed Reardon's week will understand the cruel truth of that.

On 21st November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about Sweeney & Todd

Not a pub and I doubt that anyone comes here just for the bar, but a geat concept for beer drinkers – real ale to accompany a quality pie. Steak with stilton, kidney, or mushroom, plus exotics like pigeon & peach, and the Sweeney – a 3meat combo - some featured on a standard printed menu & others on a good daily list announced at table. Four handpumps included Adnams, 6X, Tanglefoot, ours in good nick. We managed to snag the ‘booth' opposite the bar but beyond that was more seating to the rear. Early evening & our pies came with chips, so unsure about prev comments about chip curfew. Your pie chips & pint will get up toward £10 but a great way to re-fuel before continuing on a crawl. I have to doff my cap to one of our company who will henceforward be known as TPC, or Two-Pies-Chas, impressive eating mate!

On 3rd December 2007 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]