User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

O'Neill's, Reading

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
4 Friar Street
Reading
RG1 1DB

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

O'Neill's (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about O'Neill's

Big barn of a place with a dark interior and seemingly little atmosphere outside of busy evening times. There were a couple of ales available - condition fair but notably more expensive than other pubs nearby.

On 22nd January 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about O'Neill's

Refurbished in May 2017 with the original O'Neill's internal ambience stripped back and painted over, making way for a more contemporary interior (painted wood panelling, exposed brick, grey walls) though the original layout remains almost as it was. Now a tokenistic music theme, with live performances on the weekend. TV sports remain. Three ales on; Doom Bar, Purity and a guest, in middling form.

November 2015
Popped in again the other day - three ales on; Doom Bar, Wild Bird (or something like that) from GK and Moles Mole Catcher. The latter was in decent nick and the sparklers have gone. They seem to be doing alright in here and as I've said before it's one of the better O'Neill's, internally.

March 2014
There are now two ale pumps at O'Neills in town. Doom Bar and Brakspear Oxford Gold. Both sparklerised. The Gold was a bit chilly but in decent shape. I've always thought this place had a bit more character than others in the chain (wood-heavy, separated seating areas) so hopefully it'll do well. Notably busy for a Tuesday and the barman was on the ball enough to ditch the dubious looking glass he first produced. This one is a little bit better than the average RG1 chain pub in that during the summertime they open the large sliding doors (from where you can watch the urinal opposite rise out of the ground in the early evening, a real spectator sport). Popular for the football.

On 24th June 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about O'Neill's

Usual deal inside this large rectangular bar with a range of seating areas and faux-Irish decor. However, if only by coincidence, at least it was an Ireland live Euro 2016 match on the various screens, large and small when I stopped by. Two narrow patio areas outside on the pavement. Three real ales on handpump, which was at least one more than I anticipated, with Doom Bar, Sharp's Atlantic (£3.25) and Summer Lightning on offer (and a more extensive range of pump clips on the back wall than one might expect from the chain).

On 9th July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about O'Neill's

A typical O'Neills setup with three beers on,St Austell Proper Job, Hobgoblin Gold and of course Doombar, the first of the trio was ok without being outstanding. The breakfast was very good and the only reason I would likely return here.

On 29th May 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about O'Neill's

Way too packed in here. Too many people clogging up the bar area, gave up after 10 minutes.

On 17th March 2013 - rating: 3
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about O'Neill's

A pleasant place to sit on a warm day when all the sliding doors are opened. We visited on a quiet mid week afternoon. I find the sausage and mash the best of any chain pub. As usual with O'neills I have visited no real ale but plenty of keg and reasonable prices on wine. Never did find the disabled toilet

On 22nd September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about O'Neill's

I'd not been in here for about 6 years and unfortunately the place hasn't changed, it's still an O'Neill's.

I had a very quick pint as the bouncer wouldn't let my stone cold sober, six foot four, 25 year old bearded brother in as he had no id on him. I didn't really mind though as I couldn't believe we had arranged to meet there anyway.

On 1st April 2008 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]