User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Favourite Bands with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

The Butler, Reading Central, Reading

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
85-91 Chatham Street
Reading
RG1 7DS
Phone: 01189595500

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Butler

I knocked off 4 of the 2018 Good Beer Guide entries tonight and despite the pub sign, this was my pub of the night.

Classic pub interior with a long bar. Three or four ales on and my Hogs Back Bitter was perfect.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2yuLhXK

On 6th October 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Butler

Recently taken over and is now a genuine freehouse. Now five to six ales with cider too - mainly regionals and larger micros, often unusual for RG1. The outside has had a lovely paint job and various other improvements are underway. Worth checking out, as it's only a couple of minutes away from the Nags.

September 2013
A Fullers pub a little off the beaten track despite its RG1 postcode. Usually has 3-4 ales on the go which are becoming increasingly variable in quality outside the Pride. As with many Fuller's outlets, prices are on the higher side than the nearby competition. The inside is a bit of a strange affair, with a long narrow bar immediately at the front - which can be a bit of a squeeze - with a pool table and dart board off to a spur on the right and a log fire up a couple of steps to the left. Feels a little gloomy and could do with a freshen-up. Should be aiming higher what with the posh new flats next door.

On 22nd April 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Butler

Another steadily improving pub in Reading,a now even more impressive exterior and generally improving beer selection,there were no local beers on during my visit ,but my pint of Brains First Gold was decent enough.Upgraded to 7/10.
31st August 2013
Looks fairly impressive from the outside especially next to the modern multistorey car park next door that now dwarfs it . Unfortunately once inside I found it to be a rather shabby affair, it could certainly do with a lick of paint to brighten it up a little inside. It has an open plan rather featureless interior wrapped around an L shaped bar, it was all a little tired looking and I would guess a tight budget, or none at all to be the cause. On a positive note it seemed to be supporting six real ales, the bulk of them locally sourced.It was quiet on my visit with just a couple of blokes playing pool,it was still in the first hour of opening on a Sunday lunchtime though, maybe its a little more lively later on in the day.I wouldn't rush back here but may have a look in the future to check out the beers.

On 31st January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Butler

Being an old bloke I felt at home with the punters, who seem to be hooked on London Pride, but the further choice of 5 small brewers wares was most welcome. The décor is a work in progress but they might like to tone down the white brightness. Not the Nags but it should have a future - I did spot some customers who frequented both on my short visit to Reading. A jam session started in one corner set up with speakers and mixing desk, mind you it didn't look like the audience was there to appreciate it but a ripple of applause greeted the singers. More live music is planned, a blackboard lists what's coming.

On 22nd September 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Butler

Reasonable Fullers Pub, seems like a locals type of place but a friendly enough atmosphere and better than the Nag's over the road. Worth a trip.

On 8th January 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Butler

Slightly isolated pub beside a major road. A pleasant Victorian building, internally it is one uneven U shaped room. To the left is a lounge area with a nice mid victorian fireplace and comfortable seating. A piano and TV sit just by the entrance to this area. To the right is a long room with sparce bench seating and very few tables, this area houses the pool table, a poker table and leads to the outside gents. No smoking is allowed in the rear yard between the gents and the pub although the front patio area with picnic table doubles as a smoking area. The bar is centrally located along the front face of the pub, the counter being plain but honest in panelled wood with scrolls supporting a pine bar top. Above the counter are two very fine cast iron ceiling roses. Five handpumps but only London Pride and ESB on sale, reversed clips for London Porter and Jack Frost on two others. My pint of Pride was one of the best I've had in a very long time. Keg offering of Guinness, Amstel, Fosters, Strongbow, 1664 and Stella. A quiet Tuesday evening with a solitary but attentive landlady and a mixed bunch of customers of various age groups.

On 28th January 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Butler

Fullers pub which, going by the enthusiasm of my Reading pub guides, has gone down hill a bit. Still a decent pub but was very quiet on both my visits and seemed a bit disorganised. Hasn't got a great location and don't imagine there's much passing trade. Beer was decent enough and there's a pool table (£1 a game) and a juke box.

On 2nd February 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]