User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Your plans in upcoming weeks with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

Bar Fringe, Manchester

Pub added by Andy Hemingway
8 Swan Street
Manchester
M4 5JN
Phone: 01618353815

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Bar Fringe

Called in here twice in the last month and sadly this place is on a steep downhill slope. The beer was average at best and I even left some and at rip off £4.50 per pint which is steep even for the city centre. Offhand and uninterested bar staff and I'm told that the Ladies were disgusting. Living on past glories, we won't be visiting here for a while.

02/08/2010
Great bar on the N4 crawl. We always call in for one or two when in the Northern Quarter, which is regularly. Eclectic mix of regulars (and staff), lots of tattoos/piercings/bright hair dyes in evidence. It's often busy in here. Has huge rats & bats adorning the walls along with cartoons, it also has a full sized motorbike above the front lounge area. Has a sign over the ladies saying "Caution Moose Crossing". You get the idea, it's a really unusual place. Has 5 handpumps but often there are only 3 or 4 beers on, one of them is usually a Bank Top beer. It's always a decent pint in here. Loads of Belgian drafts and real cider as well. Give it a try, you may well like it.

On 18th August 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2863 recommendations about 2783 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Bar Fringe

I loved this quirky bar with its lively atmosphere and excellent jukebox. the beer almost doesn’t matter when the bar is as charming and affable as this but the Oakham Citra was good anyway. just go there, you cannot fail to have a good time!

On 6th January 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Bar Fringe

An unassuming frontage gives way to quite quirky and interesting interior, It has a pubby feel and a good beer range as described by Bucking Fastard below. Well worthy of a visit.

On 21st October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Bar Fringe

Well worth a look in when visiting this part of Manchester. This is a traditional pub, full of curios and it would take a few visits to spot them all dotted around the place. The pub has a decent range of beers and a decent jukebox, which plays at a reasonable volume, so you can still engage in a good chat with your fellow drinkers. The barman was friendly and upbeat, even when faced with the thirsty bunch of PuG crawlers.

On 15th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Bar Fringe

This is as quirky as it gets.You enter into a vaulted ceiling,peer immediately above your head and you will see a motorbike attached high up to the outside of a gallery rail.There is a raised seating section below the front window,while on the high wall to the side different size model black rats are climbing.The rat motif carries on throughout the interior,small painted figures that apparently change position regularly.The bar runs on the left side of the interior ,there is a rear seating section whichs looks onto a wall with three moulded heads of folk in seeming agony.Sit here too long staring at these figurines and expect to get freaked out.
The juke box is meant to be the second best in Manchester,and fine sounds were playing.There is a modest selection of stools and a shelf opposite the bar which offers 6 real ales which on my trip were Green Duck Hoo Doo,Backyard The Hoard,Shiny Wrench,Bluestone Rocketeer,Steam Box Ghost Train and Oakham Deep Thought (too warm sadly).
The piano get played and although quiet on my Friday lunchtime crawl visit,I would expect the pub to fill with bohemian types later in the day.It's a fun place to visit with an ale house vibe,worth popping in on a crawl of the area.

On 13th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 2070 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Bar Fringe

A cracking venue, unassuming from the outside but full of character inside. Pretty busy on my most recent Saturday evening visit. There were a few cask ales on and went for the Uncle Monk's IPA, which was a bit of a let down, perfectly drinkable but lacking the punch I expected from an IPA. We were eyeing up the bottles in the fridge and spotted Leffe Rituel 9° and decided to splash out the £5-ish per bottle for this 9% beauty - no regrets! Absolutely lovely. It feels like a proper old pub, but in smaller premises. I have heard a vicious rumour that this area is due for redevelopment which may result in the loss of Bar Fringe. It would be a sad loss if that is indeed the case.

On 17th May 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 538 recommendations about 480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Bar Fringe

What sounds like a distinctly unpromising place is actually a first rate pub. Inside is a long narrow room with the bar along one side, little in the way of regular seating, a long shelf and stools opposite the bar to maintain space plus a couple of proper tables to each of the front and rear, the front bit up a step with a guarding balustrade across. There is a gallery here, not accessible with a motorcycle and a cut out of Sid Vicious plus a couple of others who mean nothing to me at all.
All sorts of stuff on the walls, mostly humorous and with cartoons dominating, there is also a wall mounted guitar plus high shelves containing a range of bottles. At 2pm a cuckoo clock sounded, a new pub one for me.
Great range of beers, Fixed Wheel Suzies Rye Ipa, Great Heck Chopper, Ilkley Brewery Tribus, Cottage Rocket Ale, Rudgate Brew No 23, Battlefield Gold plus ciders from Barbourne, Cheddar Valley and Abrahall's Lily the Pink. There is a huge selection of Belgian beers. 20p CAMRA discount, freely offered by the livewire barman who joined in with the pub chat. An excellent spot, I perched on my stool and was immediately included in banter with a few blokes and the barman.
Nice toilets too, classic old style huge urinals.

On 17th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Bar Fringe

Excellent little pub. 6 handpumps with a good variety of guest ales. A long thin pub with a decent decor. A Honda motorcycle is above the main door with a cardboard cutout of Buffy, Spike, Angel from Buffy plus Sid Vicious (a bit dated but hey ho). Other cutouts are also dotted around. This is a really good friendly pub. I liked it.

On 12th November 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Bar Fringe

what has happened to this once fine pub called in
last week to find the beer in poor form and very quiet

On 10th May 2014 - rating: 3
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Bar Fringe

Even though Bar Fringe had been recommended to me I still nearly walked past. The frontage is understated and I only took a second look when I saw the A board out the front that states that CAMRA had given it the North Manchester cider pub of the year award.
Inside there is a raised seating area by the front window and the bar on the left hand wall faces some bar stools that line a shelf on the right hand wall. There is more seating at the rear and out the back are a few picnic tables. The décor is very quirky and busy, but I managed to get very comfortable as it wasn’t very busy on Thursday afternoon a couple of weeks ago. At busier times I can see it being a bit of a squeeze in this small thin bar.
The bar supports five hand pumps and I had a decent pint of Phoenix Brewery’s White Monk. Food is available from midday until 16:00, but I didn’t see any menus as my visit was after this time.

This place is worth a look if in the area.

On 22nd August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]

Page: 1 2