User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore crawls 2020 with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Bhurtpore Inn, Nantwich

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Wrenbury Road
Aston
Postal town: Nantwich
CW5 8DQ
Phone: 01270780917

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Bhurtpore Inn

An extremely well known and well regarded pub, a shortish walk from the nearest station as described. Perhaps I was expecting too much but I was a bit disappointed here, not with the beer, that was all excellent but the service was sloppy from the constantly disappearing bar staff and serving beer in ten year old glasses that are scratched to hell doesn't do anything for the presentation. I found pretty much a restaurant, perhaps the atmosphere is more pub like in the evenings, there is after all a pool table in one of the rear extensions. I think I'd go back but only if someone gave me a lift.

On 15th September 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 1994 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bhurtpore Inn

Legendary pub in the small village of Aston, about a 15 minute walk from Wrenbury (request stop) station. Simple but attractive façade, but extended at the back to provide further seating / dining areas. The central bar has multiple counters on three sides, with plenty of space for the total of 13 handpumps and various keg founts offering much-better-than-usual selection of craft beers. On the real ale front, there are usually 11 available in a wide variety of styles, making decisions rather difficult... but I opted for the Torpid Expression from Idle Valley Brewery (£3.40). One of those 'must visit' places, and it certainly doesn't disappoint.

On 25th June 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bhurtpore Inn

Another well deserved ten from me. We travelled here by train, Crewe to Whitchurch. An important note to make is that Wrenbury is a request stop, if the driver sees no waiting passengers on the platform, the train won't stop. It took us 15 mins to walk from the station to Aston. Opening times Mon to Thurs are 12-2.30 and 6.30-11.30, except Fri Sat Sun open all day from 12. We had lunch on our visit, which was excellent and their ales were also top notch. We went for Prospect Pioneer, Peerless Viking Gold and Howard Town Wren's Nest.

On 4th May 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Bhurtpore Inn

The reviews below cover much of the detail which I won't repeat.
The Bhurtpore is a lovely, comfortable old building which is clearly being well looked after and the fixtures and fittings all fit the building.
The governor is a friendly real ale enthusiast and the staff chatty and welcoming. There's the feeling of a well run but friendly team who know what they're doing and seem to enjoy it and working with each other.
The menu is an interesting one with much locally sourced and there were several things I'd happily have gone for. There's also a specials board with a couple of starters and a couple of mains on so that you're not overwhelmed with choice (and neither is the kitchen). As it was, my guinea fowl was very good and none of it comes at a silly price with main courses tending between £9 and £12.
The real draw though has to be the beer with the best selection I've seen this year and one of the best ever. On our visit the choice was from: Old School OSB Hopscotch, Reedley Hallows, Salopian Boomerang, Town Mill Black Ven, Derby Halfway to Heaven, Pedigree, Wychwood Thrasher, Cheshire Brewhouse DBA, Allgates Golden Aeld, Black Jack Royal Flush and Rat King Rat. A real range of strength and styles and there's a well written and informative blackboard detailing the beers, strengths and characteristics to aid choice. We tried quite a few and all were very good and in tip top condition.
A great pub and one visit doesn't feel like nearly enough to fully appreciate their offerings.

On 19th September 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Bhurtpore Inn

Wandering through the sleepy village of Aston in was hard to believe this is the location for one of the best pubs in the country.The pub is much larger than the outside suggests and you enter into the tap room with an L shaped bar and traditional furniture dotted about.Carrying on towards the back ,you pass through a snug area into a pool room where the regulars gather around a small serving counter.Beyond this is a larger function room,capable of taking any overflow when busy.To the left of the entrance is a square lounge with fireplace and this is where the food specials boards are kept while through an arch is a more formal restaurant area.However you can pitch down any where to eat,and on a quiet Monday it felt right to eat where we were drinking in the tap room,where an interesting collection of whisky water jugs hung from the ceiling.
There are 10 handpumps including a real cider.The ale selection was very well thought out,a mix of styles and the friendly guv'nor wasn't scared to put on some high ABV brews.My Black Jack Royal Flush,King Rat,Reedy Hallows New Laund Dark and Town Mill Black Ven were all in fine condition,prices ranging from £3.05 -£3.60 depending on ABV.There is a very helpful website which the pub keeps up to date with their beer on at the bar.
The food was also excellent,proper cooking at work and I had to complement the team on my venison curry.Locally sourced meats ,a good fish selection, it fine dining but you never loose the sense that this is a pub first and foremost.
Just under a mile from the Llangollen Canal at Wrenbury Heath ,via a farm lane and track,it is a walk I will gladly make again.It's also not far from Wrenbury station.An unmissable treat,a GBG regular and full marks from me.

On 15th September 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2024 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Bhurtpore Inn

First class country pub with a huge selection of real ale all in excellent condition. If you are not driving, the only real option for getting here is the train to Wrenbury from either Crewe or Shrewsbury. It is a request stop so you have to tell the guard that you want to get off and when you leave, you have to flag the train down. Trains are about every 2 hours and the walking time is 15 minutes over the fields and down country roads.

The pub it well looked after and obviously does a roaring trade in food as a good percentage of the tables are set up restaurant style. the young barman was very knowledgable about his product and delighted in telling us that we had arrived 2 weeks early and had missed the 130 brew beer festival happening in July. The pub has a large beer garden at the back with picnic style benches and umbrellas. The toilets are in great shape, very clean and smell free.

If you are on a session in Shrewsbury, this place is well worth the effort to visit, despite the transport issues. If you miss the train back, it's not really an issue is it?

On 24th June 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Bhurtpore Inn

Visited in September 2009

Splendidly traditional village pub in the village of Aston, a few miles away from Nantwich in the Cheshire countryside.

It's a much larger pub than it looks from the outside. There's a dedicated restaurant area at the side on the left and there are clearly extensions at the back creating additional distinct areas.

Bhurtpore ( or Bharatpur ) is a city in Northern India. I won't bore you with the history as to how the pub came by this name - you can find this out for yourself from the pub's own excellent website or a leaflet available in the pub itself. Suffice it to say that the pub is not short of related memorabilia such as photos of the Iron Fort and the Palace at Bhurtpore together with framed pictures of the key players involved.

As you approach the pub, you notice that the tall pub sign appears to be outside the house next door to the pub, which is presumably because the pub is just by a bend in the road and you could easily drive past.

The pub is traditionally furnished and comfortable. One of the rooms towards the back has a large snooker table, a fruit machine and a TV which, according to a notice at the side, is "for sports and current affairs, definitely not soaps".

There's a large car park and outside grassy garden at the back.

The pub is a real ale drinker's paradise. On the day of my visit 11 real ales were available, nearly exclusively from Northern micros - Derby Brewery, Allgates, Manchester's Marble Brewery, Summer Wine Brewery ( Holmfirth ), Blackwater, Ossett, Salopian, Weetwood, Titanic and Acorn. Prices ranged from £ 2.55p to £ 3.00p according to strength. Marble Brewery's Dobber at 5.9% was the most expensive at £ 3. I thought the Allgates Mild at Heart was a rather bland tasting mild, but all the other beers sampled were enjoyable and in perfect nick.

The pub has been in the GBG for a number of years now and has been South Cheshire CAMRA's pub of the year for 4 consecutive years. It's also won awards for its food.

The pub is holding its Second Novemberfest Beer Festival between 10-15 November 2009 and its advertising flyer tells us that around 65 real ales will be available.

Finally, how do you get to the pub?. Yes, it's a challenge - but one worth taking on. There's no bus service to the village of Aston. The nearest station is Wrenbury ( a request stop on the Shrewsbury/Crewe line ) - from there it's about 15 mins walk along country lanes. The train service is infrequent.

I think this pub is well worth making the effort to get to - but do check train times and pub opening hours carefully.

On 6th July 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Bhurtpore Inn

Great real ale pub , larger than it looks from the front several extensions over the years have increased the size of what was once a cosy two room village local , the main front room is basically L shaped with the newer part to the left of the entrance , there is a lot of wooden fittings and despite being open plan there are plenty of nooks , cranies and little alcoves to keep it looking cosy , there is a smaller room to the back and a large beer garden to the rear . The food has a very good reputation but for me the main attraction is the beer there is Erdinger and Budvar for lager drinkers , a Belgium fruit bear and 12 handpulls , one with a real cider , the ales varied from golden to dark and included two Milds all served by the friendly and knowledgable staff , there is a good selection of bottled Belgium beers and a wide selection of Malts for Whisky lovers .
This is a gem of a pub well worth a journey out to

On 13th June 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Joe Hoyles left this review about The Bhurtpore Inn

What a great village pub with loads of great hand pulls and the best food (Curries)You could wish for.You get good service Beer and Food 100%

On 16th September 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 15 recommendations about 15 pubs]