User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The White Cross, Richmond

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Water Lane
Richmond
TW9 1TJ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris Amies left this review about The White Cross

A large Youngs pub by the river, making the most of its upstairs dining room and in summer the outside terrace area which is right by the water (and at high tide very close to it indeed … access can be impeded by the Thames!). There is no longer a carvery, it is now table service which means the downstairs is a bit more civilised and indeed the downstairs bar is remarkably cosy and pleasant considering the way this place can be mobbed on a warm weekend (although if you sit right by the window you risk breathing the outside sitters' cigarette smoke). Access is good from the landward side although the whole riverside is on a bit of a slope at this point. Toilets are downstairs. Beers were Youngs Ordinary - very palatable - and TfA Naked Ladies ("settling" according to the label on the pump clip, which is honest of them at least). Beer wasn't cheap if I recall but eye-watering was three pounds for a can of cola (50p or so in a shop). The White Cross is going to be popular given its size and position but it is worth a visit.

On 28th May 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 8 recommendations about 8 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The White Cross

A fine Youngs pub with an excellent Thames Riverside location close to Richmond Bridge.
Fairly small inside but best visited on a fine weather day when the large raised outside patio drinking area to the front of the pub and the smaller balcony accessed through the higher of the inside rooms can be utilised.
Three Youngs beers were on in the shape of Youngs Bitter (on fine form), Special and London Gold and a very passable Twickenham Naked Lady as the guest.
It was a fine day for our visit and the small patio bar was in use and as this had two handpumps with Youngs Bitter and the Guest available saved us from having to go inside. The tap water pump on the patio bar was a nice feature as well. We could have easily stayed here all day, but further Richmond pubs awaited.

On 30th April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1704 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The White Cross

Very busy Youngs pub in the perfect location. First really warm day of spring, lovely views across the river, quintessential English outside drinking experience by the river and then Twickenham -Grandstand served in a plastic glass kind of ruined it for me.Wouldnt have had a drink if I had known it was going to be plastic.Dont mind paying with plastic but not drinking from it.deduct one point

On 26th March 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The White Cross

Riverside Young's pub in fact the water was lapping at the kerbside during my visit. Patio area had its own bar and a tv showing rugby when I visited.

On 2nd October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The White Cross

January 2015:- "The White Cross" serves 'Meantime Brewery' beers, I'm glad to report! :o)

On 20th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The White Cross

The WHITE CROSS - is a decent pub. As described by others below, it is one of the TOP TEN pubs in Richmond (...it may even be in the Top 3...)! I'll let YOU decide. I've been coming to this pub, on&off for 45 years...!! That must tell you something. It's a pub that you have to go back to. And on a sunny day, you could travel the globe thousands of miles to find a better vista..! There's a challenge :o) I will actually point out, recently they have been serving "Meantime" brewery beers, and I thoroughly recommend that you try one! The Meantime Brewery is up the River Thames a bit, in Greenwich (by the GMT dateline, hence the name). I like these new "Meantime" beers & lagers. In particular, if you like lager, do try their "London Lager" which has a distinctive taste & lasting flavour. Very nice! The "London Pale Ale" is also recommended. People don't generally associate London with good ales or lagers, but 'Meantime' can compete with the best of them. An intriguing feature at the White Cross pub is it's fire-places under windows...!! Check that out :o) there's one in the main bar area, over-looking the river (excellent if you're a river-watcher, or a boat-fancier)! I will keep visiting this pub, I just can't stay away...for long! BE AWARE:- the river does overflow the towpath outside this pub, regularly! Do NOT park your car nearby, unless you are very sure of your Tide Tables...! You've been warned, white BMW driver...!! :o(

On 15th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The White Cross

A fine Youngs house in a splendid location beside (and sometimes partially under) the Thames. The tide can leave the front patio garden under water, and if you arrive at the wrong time it becomes obvious why you need to go up quite a few steps to reach the main bar via the side door. Inside, the seating is arranged in two opened-out rooms around a compact island bar. Busy, but the bar staff were working as an efficient team. Also has a upstairs room and balcony overlooking the river. Seven handpumps in total, and despite a couple of duplicates you still get a good choice from the Wells and Youngs range. Also has draught Pimms straight from the pump. Recently refurbished (thankfully with a fairly light touch, with a new mural in the upstairs room). Overall, well worth a visit. PS - Locally renown for its Winter Warmer Breakfast in November, celebrating the arrival of the famous seasonal beer with a couple of pints, a fry up, live music and a visit from the horse-drawn brewery dray offering rides to the Green and back.

On 10th November 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The White Cross

This is a pleasant Young’s pub with an attractive Thames-side location. The current pub was built in 1838, replacing a previous pub called the Waterman’s Arms. Approaching the building from the river, you pass through a sizable patio area with plenty of bench seating, which is an ideal spot in good weather, although it’s worth bearing in mind that this area becomes submerged at high tide. Steps take you up to the main bar, but any hopes of being stranded as you wait for the water to recede are dashed by a side door which offers a dry route from the pub. There is an island servery made from dark wood with some nice glass panes inserted. The bar area has exposed floorboards and a surprising amount of seating for an area of its size. This right hand side of the pub is the best place to enjoy a drink as the left hand side has been set up as the dining room, with a deli counter at the rear from which you can order your food. Steps lead up to a small room which had a large drop down screen showing the cycling road race from the Olympics – an event that was due to pass through Richmond later in the day. There is a good deal more seating up here and a balcony looks out over the river making it an attractive place to grab a seat.
Three Young’s ales – Ordinary, Special and Wells Bombardier – were supplemented by a guest in the shape of Liberation Ale, which turned out to be a very nice pint to enjoy in the sunshine outside. We had a bite to eat as well and the food was tasty and portions were generous.
This pub’s main asset is its enviable location and it certainly enhances the enjoyment of drinking here. It’s well worth calling in if you’re walking the Thames Path and remains one of Richmond’s top pubs.

On 22nd September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The White Cross

This pub hasn't changed much over the past 40 years.Smaller inside than it looks from the outside it has a front bar with a side drinking/eating area with fine views over the river.There is an outside terrace from which you can enjoy the long summer evenings and at one time many years ago there used to be a small bar selling beer.Don't know if that still exists.A very unusual feature inside is that there is a fireplace under one of the windows.The usual selection of good Young's beers which I must admit (reluctantly) taste better now they are brewed at Bedford although still not a patch on what they were in the 60s/70s.

On 5th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The White Cross

Imposing solid looking building in a prime riverside spot, elevated to allow for high tides with the seperate side entrance to allow access under said conditions. A raised terrace to the front overlooks the river; a more intimate upper balcony is accessed off the higher level inside. The interior is elegant and retains many original features including wooden shutters to some windows.
A Youngs house with the usual offerings My visit today coincided with I'm told the highest tide locally for some years. The guy who went for the escape with rolled up trousers and bare feet was applauded loudly. Fair play to him, but getting flooded in at the pub had more attractions for me.

On 1st February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]

Page: 1 2