User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
PuG Reviews - Appreciation Thread with Quinno on the Pub Forum

The Head of Steam, Hull

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
10 King Street
Hull
HU1 2JJ
Phone: 01482210446

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Head of Steam

This is a very small branch of the Head of Steam chain just across the square from Hull Minster. It was also fairly quiet compared with most Hull city centre pubs on our Saturday evening visit.

Just the 4 real ales were on - Atom Catalyst & Ellipsis, Green Duck American Pale & Ossett Butterley. The cider was Snail's Bank Banoffee Pie.

The pub has a cafe-like feel, with bench seating around tables. I'd imagine it gets more custom during the daytime when tourists are around. The female bouncer seemed a little bored and cold!

The Head of Steam chain is still fairly reliable and despite the lack of beers compared with other branches, I quite enjoyed the atmosphere in here and both the beers and cider we chose were enjoyable.

On 10th January 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2416 recommendations about 2415 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Head of Steam

7 cask ales on the bar plus some keg too. On cask was Darkness Cometh by Wilde Child, one or two by Atom, Theakston Best Bitter, Camerons Ahopalypse Now, Camerons Strongarm and possibly something else. Belgian and American bottles were also advertised.

I went for the Darkness Cometh which was a chocolate orange stout, at £2.00 for a half. Decent enough place and I would be happy to pay a return visit (indeed, this is my second visit, and I don't get to Hull often).

On 20th February 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 750 recommendations about 598 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Head of Steam

Strangely no where near the, or actually any previous, station, one L shaped room with L shaped bar (nearly), 7 pulls and some interesting kegs. Mainly woody in feel, apart from the brick bits, there’s some upholstered furniture and a partly tiled bar. Beer quality is fine, it’s GBG2019 listed.

On 11th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3157 recommendations about 2870 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Head Of Steam

The Head of Steam chain have, over the last year or so, emerged as one of my favourite pub chains and this new venue in the heart of Hull's Old Town is another winner. The pub has a nice, clean and simple single room interior with scuffed floorboards and an angular servery along the rear wall. The bar has a part-tiled counter front and a mirrored bar back with high tables and stools opposite and banquette seating down the right hand side. Elsewhere, the mixed seating options continue, with some mid-height tub chairs in the front left corner and a single button backed bench further into the room. The decor has been kept simple and fresh looking, with bare brick and wood plank walls accounting for most of the room, decorated with nice black and white photographs, some modern brewery signs, a couple of cages full of beer bottles and unusual light shades made from empty bottles. A mural on the right hand wall depicts an industrial scene although my local knowledge was not such that I could tell if it was specific to Hull or just a generic scene. The bar canopy holds a collection of whiskey bottles and some rare looking beers and this complimented the various bits of breweriana dotted around the room. I was a little surprised to find that there was no music playing through the pub and I didn't spot TV screens either, which helped to create an atmosphere conducive to conversation, and as if on command, one of the locals got chatting to me almost as soon as I arrived, discussing the local pub scene and the whole City of Culture thing for the length of my visit.
The beer range appears to have diversified slightly since ROB's visit, with the cask options comprising Camerons Ahopalypse Now, Leeds Best, Half Moon F'Hops Sake and Rudgate Chocolate. A strong keg line up focused on micro brewery output complimented the handpulls nicely and there was a wide range of craft bottles and cans in the fridges as well. I tried the Rudgate Chocolate, which certainly delivered what the name promised and was in excellent shape to boot. The barman was very friendly and popped over to chat about some of the beers during a quiet moment.
I really liked this place and thought it was the sort of pub you could happily lose an afternoon enjoying the various beers on offer whilst relaxing in a comfortable environment. It perhaps needs a little longer to properly bed in, but I got the impression that it was already building up a good local following and a reputation for well kept beer. A good addition to Hull's already strong pub scene.

On 20th February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3093 recommendations about 3093 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Head Of Steam

Once the Kings Ale House that rarely had any ale and latterly the Purple Pig this is now the latest member of the Head Of Steam chain. They've made a good job of the interior with differently lit glass and bottles around the place. Mainly dining tables and chairs with a couple of small booths. The food is their take on assorted burgers & fries served a la McDonalds on plastic trays etc. 5 handpumps on the bar with a definite leaning towards the owner's brands of Camerons & Leeds, there's also a real cider available. The only none Camerons beer was Half Moon Bellows which was in decent nick. Leeds Pale was coming soon. There's a nice outside area overlooking the churchyard of Holy Trinity Church, soon to be Holy Trinity Minster, but that wasn't really an option in December. They've made a good job of this pub and hopefuly it will flourish.

On 10th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3200 recommendations about 3111 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Head Of Steam

Hartlepool brewery Camerons is converting the former Purple Pig diner in King Street into the latest addition to its Head of Steam chain.

On 15th July 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2878 recommendations about 2815 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Kings Ale House

This pub is in a nice setting in the old town area of Hull.
There are some tables and chairs at the front of this pub,once inside the pub has bare boards and chunky wooden tables but this place did'nt live up to the ale house in its name there were only two real ales on and these were not that good i had a drink of Bombadier which was too warm the other beer was Deuchars IPA.
I think they could make more of this pub.

On 12th September 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Martin Amos left this review about Kings Ale House

Good old fashioned Pub was good food lost its way a bit trying too compete in the weekend trade with music and no where too sit.

On 12th June 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 34 recommendations about 34 pubs]