User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
2020 Spring crawl: Preston on Friday, 17th April with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Monks Walk, Beverley

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Highgate
Beverley
HU17 0DN
Phone: 01482862710

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Pub SignMan left this review about The Monks Walk

I visited this pub in August 2021, after the restrictions on pubs only being allowed to serve customers outside had been lifted, but for some reason, this message didn’t appear to have filtered down to the publicans of Beverley, as both pubs I visited whilst I was in town were insisting that customers remained outside. This was no great problem when I was visiting the Chequers micropub, but meant I missed out on what appeared to be a cracking traditional pub interior here. Just a short walk from the Minster, this is a well preserved historic pub with a central, open passageway from which various rooms can be accessed on either side, putting me in mind of another great pub all the way down in Cornwall – The Blue Anchor in Helston. Sadly, all of the rooms down the left side of the passageway were closed, with the exception of the toilet block, and whilst it was technically possible to pop into the main bar area to the right, a barmaid quickly pointed out that I’d have to take a seat outside in the garden at the end of the passageway. This brief indoor interaction gave me a fleeting moment to take in as much as I could of the interior, which seemed to comprise a lovely front room with an attractive servery down the left hand side, a nice fireplace at one end of the room and plenty of traditional, comfy looking seating. Décor was mostly in the form of traditional paintings and trinkets and the muted lighting throughout gave it an appealing ambiance, even when empty. To the rear, there appeared to be a second room with additional seating, but it was in total darkness, so I couldn’t really figure out what was in there. Out the back, there is a large courtyard with lots of seating and a makeshift bar of sorts – more of a table for ordering and paying, with a runner being sent back into the pub to fetch the beer. The main courtyard space felt a bit rough and ready, but passing to the right, through a couple of crumbling old arches, you’ll find a secluded garden with a paved floor, plenty of picnic benches, a long shelter down one side and some fine views over to the Minster.
Pump clips were laid out on the tale in the garden, indicating the draught range, and I counted five cask ales, a couple of real ciders and what I assume were two craft keg options, although I wasn’t entirely sure, despite the best efforts of the friendly young barman who tried to help me choose something. I eventually wound up with a pint of Isaac Poad Baxby Blonde, which was in good nick and representative of the generally locally sourced ale selection.
This is clearly a lovely pub with lots going for it, whether that be the beautiful interior, the fine garden, the well-kept ale or the enthusiastic staff – it’s just a shame that I was unable to properly appreciate the place on this visit, as who knows when I’ll be back in this neck of the woods again? Definitely worth a look on a crawl – I’d like to think they’re letting customers back inside by now.

On 5th October 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2625 recommendations about 2625 pubs]


ROB Camra left this review about The Monks Walk

A gorgeous multi roomed old pub that, sadly, is still doing a 1 way system and table service. The numpty at the front door told us we had to do Track & Trace at the rear. We pointed out that this is no longer required, he said "It is here". Went to the rear, the bloke there said T & T is no longer required. We know we said, please talk to the numpty.

I ordered at the bar (not allowed, but we still did) and went to sit down. The pleasant girl behind the bar pulled our drinks and brought them across to our table. The Jolly Boys YPA was in very good nick.

A great pub, let down by poor management. It was Beverley races ladies day the day after our visit, best of luck with your crap system then.

Would have been a solid 8, dropped a couple of points for stupidity.

On 18th August 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2928 recommendations about 2846 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Monks Walk

Beautiful pub and garden next to the Minster. Beer slightly warm. Nicely adapted and still historic. Nice spaces inside.

On 7th June 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Monks Walk

A truly aged place in the shadow of Beverley Minster, with multiple rooms off central alleyway and a walled garden at the end with a decent view of the minster and good audio for when the bells toll. The main room is the Merchants Bar, which features heavy beam timbers, red carpet and red fabric bench seating. Further back under a brick arch is a more rustic area. Lots of CAMRA gumpf in situ and takes it’s ale offering seriously - six pumps with a good selection; York Terrier, Isaac Poad 86, 2x Brass Castle, Newsome Liquorice stout etc. Also some interesting keg including Brass Castle Baltic Porter and two boxed ciders. Tasters were readily offered. The ale was flying out and I noted staff having tasters of beer that was new on, so they actually know what it is they are offering, great to see. I had three of the ales which were all in excellent shape, as well as a half of the Baltic Porter; I busted my schedule to stay here for as long as I could. A genuine quiet pub, just the gentle background hubbub of conversation and the occasional swoosh of an ale being drawn. A top, top place – I’ve never played a quadruple joker on a crawl before. A deserved 10 and straight into my top 10 in the UK.

On 1st April 2018 - rating: 10
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Monks Walk

A very old building (13th C) and a pub since the 18th, entered down an alley from either Highgate or Eastgate, the main bar is to the right with a spare bar and lavatories to left |(from Highgate). The counter holds six pulls of smaller brewery stuff, the barman was a bit put out that I needed to see all the clips before ordering but otherwise a very pleasant pub going experience. Pub clip collection shows a good range with lots of Brass Castle and Wild Top. Old and not as old timber on show carpet & quarry tile floor, decorated with very nice line line drawings of the Minster. Mix of furniture some bench seating, some tables & chairs and some bamboo-a-like stools and chairs in brown, the bar stools are made from five gallon barrels.

On 24th June 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2437 recommendations about 2241 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Monks Walk

The Monks Walk can be accessed from either Highgate or Eastgate, where the inscription over the arch reads Thee Old Monks Walk. From this direction the garden is to the left and the bars are ahead, the main bar on the left and the extension for busy periods on the right, off the passageway leading through to Highgate.

There is a different beer offering in the two bars. The main bar has three hand pumps and there is a blackboard listing what's on in the other bar. The servers always offer to go and get a beer from the other bar if you seem interested. When the second bar is open there are three more hand pumps there and also some small barrels on a shelf behind, so potentially nine beers altogether, though they don't last long. (See photos for some of the beers seen during our visits.)

The garden is being redeveloped, but is still usable, and in fact there seemed to be some sort of function taking place on one of our visits, with food laid out as for a buffet. There is plenty of room inside (the second bar can be used for seating even when it's not staffed), though on a busy Saturday night I must admit we did struggle to find a seat. At quieter times, this is one of the most relaxing pubs I can remember, even when a casual look around reveals any number of anomalous fittings in rooms that are clearly trying their best to look as though they haven't changed for four or five centuries. Definitely one to keep coming back to.

On 9th August 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2739 recommendations about 2579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Monks Walk

This Grade 2 listed building is set in the shadows of Beverley Minster and is on of the area's oldest pubs with parts of the structure dating back to 1270,and after undergoing a sympathetic restoration opened up earlier in the year.An alleyway separates the restaurant from the pub part which has real ales,a cellar bar,beer garden and on my Friday lunchtime visit a friendly barman.Although slightly out of the way the pub is certainly worth the wear on the shoe leather.

On 28th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2107 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Monks Walk

The Monks Walk is a decent looking pub that is quite close to Beverley minster.
I went in the right side of this pub the left side looks as though it is not in use at the moment,the room on the right is a smallish room that is quite narrow there were a couple of real ales on that i could see and i had a drink of Black Sheep bitter which was a decent drink.
This pub soon fills up so you have to get in at a quiet time to get a seat in here.

On 20th December 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Monks Walk

Pub near the Minster with a restaurant and beer garden.
# GBG 2008 listed #

On 3rd April 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]