User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Cornerhouse, Beverley

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
2-4 Norwood
Beverley
HU17 9EY
Phone: 01482882652

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


ROB Camra left this review about The Cornerhouse

About 15 years ago when I worked in Beverley briefly, this was the premier alehouse in the town. It still has plenty of handpumps, but the selection is now rather pedestrian with mainly national beers.

It's a narrow, split level pub with the bar running most of the way down one side. A real mix of seating, from a settee to standard dining table and chairs. Friendly barmaid and a guy who was possibly the owner or tenant also had a chat with us. Pretty quiet when we arrived, but it was only about 10 minutes after opening. It was getting busier as we were leaving 30 minutes later though. Notes fail me on what I had to drink, but I remember that it was in good nick. Still worth a call in to see what's on the bar.

On 1st September 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3026 recommendations about 2941 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Cornerhouse

A Black Sheep branded outlet on a main junction but you'll only find one of their beers on over the plethora of handpumps. I think there were 15 (!) with around 12 ales and the rest ciders. The selection tends to major on national and regional brands, with GK IPA, Doom Bar and Timothy Taylor Landlord spotted. Four more off the wall choices in Abbeydale, Tim Taylor Porter, Box Steam and Almasty Oatmeal Stout. Unfortunately my Taylor's Porter was flat and had a distinct feel of an aged beer aspiratored beyond normal life. It was quite quiet and I noted that turnover on the ales was slow with most of the punters on keg, perhaps unsurprising given the heat outside. The interior has a rustic feel with bare boards and slate flooring, along with third length whitewashed wood panelling, Farrow & Ball shades and bench seating. I decided not to chance another substandard and moved on. I’d give it another go – surely with all that ale on they must shift it in and around 72 hours each barrel…right?

On 1st April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Cornerhouse

Modernised interior of an old pub, split level at front, the lower part is L shaped with the counter in the long arm along the front of building, 14 hand pulls - not all in use and it's a mix of macro/micro fortunately mainly micro. decorated in a mix of modern and traditional styles, it's sort of trad' but not so much as to scare the youngsters or alienate the oldies. Young staff but mainly 30-40 something customers on an afternoon plus a couple of oldsters like me. It always does Black Sheep Bitter, Timothy Taylors Landlord, Greene King IPA & Abbeydale Deception with 5 guests when I called. There's a fairly interesting but not pretentious or too pricey menu available.

On 24th June 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2639 recommendations about 2404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Cornerhouse

We were less impressed than other reviewers with our visit to The Cornerhouse: too many ordinary beers, and all the guests were pale and featured New World hops - which I know will have some of you salivating at the thought, but they just don't float our boat. There were 12 hand pumps, two for cider and nine real ales: Black Sheep Bitter, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Greene King IPA and Abbeydale Deception are regulars, and the five guests were three from Abbeydale all tasting of lemon and two others which were pale or golden and featured American hops. My pint of Black Sheep was fine, but I would have hoped for a wider range of beer styles over nine hand pumps.

Date of visit: 30th July 2016

On 9th August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3141 recommendations about 2950 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Cornerhouse

An excellent pub this one, and well worth a visit. The interior was traditional with a dark stained oak bar counter with glazed green tiles along the front. The bar area had a flagstone floor and across from the bar was a small mezzanine with a settee, a large old table and a church pew. Tiffany lamps and feature wall wallpaper added a modern feel throughout the pub.
Twelve handpumps, all in operation on our visit. So we went for Abbeydale Deception and Abbeydale Trance Sister, both were in excellent shape.

On 5th April 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3121 recommendations about 3121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Cornerhouse

Excellent bar with up to 10 real ales and food served.

On 19th May 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2833 recommendations about 2774 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Cornerhouse

This pub does'nt look that promising from the outside with modern looking pub signs but once inside here things get a lot better it has wood floors throughout the pub with farmhouse style wood tables and chairs or benches.
There are about 9 or 10 handpumps on the bar plus a couple of real ciders,the bank of pumps on the left were mainly from nationals Bombadier, London Pride ect and the pumps on the right were all from yorkshire brewerys Tetley bitter Roosters Yankee which was very drinkable i carnt remember all the beers that were on but it was a very good choice.
This pub is quite a pleasant place to have a drink in and i was happy staying here for a few.
NOTE This pub opens at 10.00 am sunday morning for breakfasts and beer if you want it.

On 20th August 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Cornerhouse

Home to quality beer and highly rated food.

On 3rd April 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]