User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Harry's Bar, Wakefield

Pub added by James Joines
107b Westgate
Wakefield
WF1 1EL
Phone: 01924373773

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Harry's Bar

I have been going in this fine bar for many years today was the first since last October due to lockdown to find very mediocre real ale even my wifes lager war not very nice the single member of staff struggled to pull the beer lucked like her first time pulling real ale sad to see a once fine bar going down hill

On 2nd June 2021 - rating: 1
[User has posted 96 recommendations about 86 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Harry's Bar

I turned up at this famous place on a Saturday afternoon. The single room described below was very busy so I sat on one of the benches outside in a relatively cold wind which was perfect after endless days of heat.
The nine hand pumps had two unused, Tigertops Peti Novice, Kelham Island Best, a house beer, Five Towns Fascination (a collaboration) & Owt L Do, Great Newsome Holderness Dark and North Riding Cascade Pale. I went for the Peti Novice (£2.85) and the Fascination (£3.25) both of which were in good nick. I thought this was a good place but it's a shame it doesn't open before 16:00 on a Saturday. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 30th July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Harry's Bar

The final stop of an excellent evening in Wakefield so details are a touch hazy.
The place is comfortable, the customers convivial on our Saturday evening visit and the bar staff fun and friendly including a charmingly cheeky barmaid.
If that weren't enough there was a wide selection of largely local ales available all in superb condition and everything that we tried flew.
My Five Towns Moss Garden was superb and I noted beers from North Riding and Tigertops both noted Yorkshire breweries with Tigertops, like Five Towns, representing Wakefield itself.
Fantastic.

On 4th August 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 680 recommendations about 679 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Harry's Bar

ORIGINAL REVIEW July 2014
This is a bar for grown ups,with a very good selection of real ale and a calm atmosphere in an area where many other establishments need to use doormen on a weekend night.It's essentially an open plan lounge with some exposed brick around a real fireplace.There are some seating booths, traditional furniture and the clientele included a number of beautiful (middle aged) people in designer gear,the crew excepted of course.Everybody was in good spirits on a busy Saturday night.
The real ale selection on our trip included Acorn Sticklebracht,Five Towns Monster Mash and HB,Moorhouse Pride of Pendle,Bob's Brewery White Lion,Roosters Stars and Stripes,Rudgate Battle Axe and Two Roses T'Yellow Jersey together with a pump for real cider.A very decent selection.Beer quality was very high,the GBG entry is justified and this is another establishment you must include on any tour around town.

UPDATE
I feel compelled to upgrade to the full 10 ,after another excellent visit.It was an oasis of calm on a busy Saturday night,the cheeky barmaid enlivened the atmosphere and the interior is authentic and pleasing.The ale selection and quality was outstanding and my Five Town Moss Garden and North Riding US Session IPA were pints of the night of a good sized crawl around towm.Unmissable.

On 25th July 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2748 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Harry's Bar

First rate bar which, whenever I have been in it, does not seem to suffer from the Westgate runners, I'm happy to say. Was in it last night on my return from Newark but must confess I can't remember what I drank!! It was 5% ABV and finished off a decent day. Would recommend this place to any real ale man or woman although it can get quite packed on weekend nights.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Harry's Bar

Rightly respected real ale pub, a little hidden away at the end of a terrace to the south of Westgate. Attractive alehouse-style interior with generally light-wood furniture (and a couple of half-height screens), with the bare-brick walls enlivened with a variety of pictures. Excellent choice of beers in a range of styles from the eight handpumps, from which I went for the Imperial 4 Way IPA (four hops, four malts and - more difficult to understand - four breweries) at £2.85.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Harry's Bar

One small room with some bare brick walls and some wood panelling, with lots of sporting pictures. The room is divided by partitions/booths and there's a small outside area. 9 handpumps on the bar and the two halves I tried were both in excellent nick. A must visit pub in Wakefield.

On 10th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3226 recommendations about 3137 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Harry's Bar

A small and homely pub, full of discerning drinkers. The pub had a various selection of ales on handpump, mostly from microbreweries. The bar faces you when you enter and the pub was carpeted throughout. We went for the Five Towns Harry's Beer, Blue Bee Brewery Reet Pale and Tiger Tops White Max.

On 17th May 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3391 recommendations about 3391 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Harry's Bar

Feeling like a long-established traditional pub, despite its name, Harry's Bar is a recent Pub of the Year for the local Camra branch. At the time of our visit, a weekday afternoon at a time when office workers might be expected to be making their way home, there was quite a crowd in here, of mixed ages and appearance, not to mention sex. There's a real fire and the seating was in booths which break up the room into smaller spaces. I arrived just too late for a porter, which was in the process of being replaced. Most of the beers were pale and hoppy, or pale and bland, so that when I saw a mild on the lately denuded pump I was kicking myself for not being more patient before ordering. That slight grumble aside, I found this a refreshing experience, with friendly service and a genial atmosphere with no music. There are several pubs within a quick dash of the station, and I would recommend this if you've only time for a swift one before your train.

Date of visit: 27th March 2014

On 14th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3795 recommendations about 3523 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Harry's Bar

Whilst the name may conjure up images of sipping Bellini's alongside the Grand Canal in Venice, the reality is that this is a small and somewhat basic single room bar in an unassuming part of Wakefield, reached via an alleyway from the Westgate. As you enter the room, the servery is on the right hand side, with some booth style seating along the left hand wall and a more open space with standard seating to the rear. Dark beams and bare brick walls give the place a pleasant feel, but the constraints of the small space mean that there isn't all that much to distract the eye. An outdoor terrace provides some room for extra seating, which I would imagine would come in handy on busier nights. Live music was being advertised and I imagine that a decent band could generate a pretty good atmosphere in here.
The main draw seems to be the generous range of beer on offer, with Saltaire Winter Ale, Leeds Pale, Cottage Golden Arrow, Bob's Brewing Golden Lion, Morland Old Golden Hen, Ossett Silver King, Thwaites Bomber and Moorhouse Lap Prancer across the eight handpulls. I gave the Leeds Pale and Golden Lion a try and thought they were both in good shape, with the Golden Lion particularly standing out.
Having visited on a very quiet Sunday afternoon, I'm not sure I saw this place at its best, but I expect that the addition of a few more punters would quickly transform it into a convivial spot to enjoy some well kept beer.

On 12th January 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]

Page: 1 2