User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Garricks Head, Bath

8 St. Johns Place
Bath
BA1 1ET

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about Garricks Head

Inevitably has been done-over in the intervening years. It now sports an odd blue/turquoise interior and has gone rather upmarket, with a hard sell on bar snacks as I attempted to order a beer. Three cask, 2x from Stone Daisy and a house beer of uncertain provenance. My Stone Daisy Cow Down wasn't quite stone dead but had a very faint pulse (NBSS 2). Certainly not the tidy pub I remember from 13 years previously.

June 2010
A smart, two-bar boozer by the theatre. Three interesting ales for Bath (Milk Street Funky Monkey, Box Steam Dark and Palmers Best) available alongside four ciders. My Box Steam was in good nick. The pub is laid out with two rooms either side of a central bar, with a nice outside seating area too. It’s high-ceilinged and there’s a large area set over for diners. Based on this visit I’d say it’s worth popping in here, especially in the summer. Rated 7

On 5th December 2023 - rating: 4
[User has posted 5197 recommendations about 5180 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Garricks Head

As described by others, below, in most respects.  Service was very slow, as were the wits of the barthing that eventually served us.  Or tried to.  It took considerable time to persuade it that it didn’t matter if we didn’t have the correct amount of money each and that our sums being correct would have meant we overpaid by 10p – it just didn’t get the concept.  Other customers waited considerably longer and with more patience than we did, and it reached the point with some where a simple act like buying a drink got too difficult so they walked out.  Ales on, when eventually delivered, weren’t in great condition but were very much over-priced even for Bath.  Hop Union Maiden Voyage should be a great pint; it wasn’t.  Nor was their own branded IPA, which was just generic bland beer.  I shan’t bother in future. 

On 18th May 2022 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3302 recommendations about 3267 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Garricks Head

I came in here on the back of it's listing in the 2017 GBG,and left wondering why I bothered.It's a very fine exterior and the building splits into a restaurant from the left entrance and a bar from the right.Small,open plan wood floor with a semicircular bar with bar stools ,there are a few tables dotted about but it fills quite easily.The silver salvers on the chimney breast were the only point of interest internally.
There are 5 handpumps offering on my trip Palmers 200,Plain Ales Inntrigue,a house beer of unknown provenance,and Clearwater Devon Darter (out of condition,horrible).
I sat outside and squinted at the menu,a total rip off with pub grub mains at £14 ,catering to the tourist throngs.
I wouldn't return and I dont know what the local CAMRA branch are doing by selecting this bar for the GBG.Beware.

On 25th June 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2748 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Garricks Head

The interior of the pub is quite tastefully finished in keeping with the splendid exterior. The pub is close to the Theatre and attracts the pre theatre drinkers. The pub wasn't mad busy on our Friday eve visit, but the service was slow, due to people choosing wine and paying on plastic. The bar had a choice of four ales, so we went for the Box Steam Brewery Leaf Kicker, which was quite pricey in here.

On 25th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3391 recommendations about 3391 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Garricks Head

Large ceilinged bar next to the theatre, wooden floors and tables & 4 real ales

On 30th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1456 recommendations about 1434 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Garricks Head

Located right next to the theatre this is a two-roomed pub that has a suitably arty feel to it, perhaps at the expense of it’s “pubiness”. In many ways it has more of a wine bar feel to it. Ceilings are high, and there are large dual aspect windows with black and white tie-back curtains. A fire was roaring away on a recent January afternoon visit which was very pleasant. It was also very busy, with barely any standing room. This made it very difficult to get to the bar as there was a group of punters stood at one end and another group sat up on stools at the other, leaving one small gap in the middle. Fortunately the barmaid was able to see beyond the front row and service was prompt enough.

Paintwork is a rather plain cream with some black woodwork. Four large silver serving platter covers were stuck on the wall above the fireplace. There was a large board listing some menu choices, but in spite of the size of the board there were only about half a dozen choices. Whether this was just a specials board I’m not sure. Other boards listed the wines that were available and a dozen or so “beers” available by the bottle, although many of these appeared to be lagers. There were a couple of leather sofa’s at the front, and candles on all the tables. A smaller room to the right looked as though it may have been more geared up for dining, although we didn’t investigate this.

An unusual selection of beers on tap with Palmer’s Best, Redemption Ale and Green Laner. Ciders on tap were Pheasant Plucker and Orchard Pig, although a board also listed Kingston Black and Broadoak Perry. I’m not sure if this was draught or not. In addition to this, hot mulled cider was available from a barrel at the end of the bar.

On 30th January 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1957 recommendations about 1870 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Boyes left this review about Garricks Head

Large two roomed pub next to the theatre, with an outside area at the front. The pub has two rooms either side of the central bar. The room on the right is the pub side with many different tables with chairs and sofas. The other room on the left is set out mainly for dining. Three real ales available on top form on our two visits, with a real local cider also on hand pump. The food menu has a good choice with two roasts on Sunday, excellent food at reasonable prices.

On 9th November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 55 recommendations about 55 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Garricks Head

Was surprised to find a nice range of ales in this pub after hearing it had gone 'gastro'. Well worth a visit if in this part of town as the beers were well kept and an intersting range too.

On 18th August 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Garricks Head

Small historic pub by theatre; gone a bit gastro but still has some excellent beers.

On 4th May 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3353 recommendations about 3290 pubs]