User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Mrs Sarah's Chop House, Manchester

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
52 Cross Street
Manchester
M2 7AR

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Mr Thomas's Chop House

A long narrow historic pub with tiled floor and much ceramic work around the walls. the chop house restaurant part is at the rear, with a small standee bar at the front and an outdoor area at the back. A fair range of draught beers included Timothy Taylor's Landlord and Double Spring, Black Sheep, Robinsons Dizzy Blonde and Dartmoor Darkness, as well as a house-badged ale.

On 19th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Mr Thomas's Chop House

although it's impressive inside I couldn't get comfortable here. it's corporate, calls its outdoor area a 'gin garden' and is mostly set out in fine dining style. oh and it's bloody expensive too. interestingly its official description on Google refers to it as a 'former pub'. i can't disagree really.

On 10th July 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Mr Thomas's Chop House

A place to seek out in Manchester. All original Victorian features are in place. TT Landlord and Black Sheep were on - which makes this a holy grail type pub for me. I would settle on either.

Good food and service in the restaurant. Famous for their corned beef hash.

On 20th June 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Mr Thomas's Chop House

Historic old pub, but the prices are getting ridiculous. Called in last night and was charged £3.95 for a pint of Black Sheep Bitter.

A total rip off even in the city centre. We'll give it a rest for a while again now.

29/04/2010
Historic old pub with a fine interior in the back bar and restaurant. Great tiling and a floor to ceiling wine bottle store. Real ale is usually Black Sheep and Boddingtons with Lees bitter making an appearance at times. Beer is kept OK but not top class. Very pricey even for the city centre (same policy as Sams Chop House across the road). We often call in for one on the way back to Victoria Station. Well worth a visit for the fine interior but take extra money out of the A & L cash machine next door if buying a round.

On 27th March 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Mr Thomas's Chop House

This was our first pub to visit after getting off the free bus from Manchester Piccadilly. If you're looking to visit a heritage pub, then this does tick all the boxes. The pub was built in 1867 and both interior and exterior are very impressive. Five ales on offer, I went for Robinsons Unicorn. Prices for drinks are steep.

On 8th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Mr Thomas's Chop House

Called in after going to sams just like there very busy had to wait prats paying on cards cash machines every hundred yards why dont they just draw a few bob out but its always worth a visit

On 20th December 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Mr Thomas's Chop House

When in Manchester it’s definitely worth a visit to the Chop House for the architecture alone. However the overall feeling I got was that this place is not really a pub, more a restaurant serving real ale. But I would concur with the comments already made that it will probably be one of the most expensive ales you buy whilst in Manchester , so best visited for a quick half on a quiet Sunday afternoon (like I did) and move on after having a good look at the inside.
The impressive Victorian Gothic brick and Terracotta coloured exterior seems out of place bolted onto the corner of a non descript office block, and the pub itself is an interesting design of interconnecting rooms. The interior consists of four spaces, one behind the other, the middle two being defined by a wide, green-tiled arch. As previously mentioned these two areas are characterised by an impressive display of tile work, with a green dado running round the walls and cream tiling above extending to ceiling. Period lamps then add further to the character of the place. The smallish front room is set up for drinking but then the rest of the space seemed to be reserved for the Chop House restaurant as far as I could see.
Glad I visited though, but after a small Black sheep I was off to find a more welcoming pub set up, with a better beer choice

On 12th February 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Mr Thomas's Chop House

The front part of this narrow building is divided into two small bars, with the back one opening out into the 'chop house' dining room. All three areas have the same pattern of black and white floor tiles plus decorative green tiling part way up the walls. The back part of the building also seems to have plain cream-coloured tiles on the upper parts of the walls, many of which are also decorated with large black & white portrait photographs. Three handpumps available in each bar, with a selection that includes Holts (£2.85), Lees Bitter and Flowers IPA. Interesting place - well worth a look.

On 18th November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Routledge left this review about Mr Thomas's Chop House

Really good food. Worth finding this place

On 4th September 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about Mr Thomas' Chop House

A famous pub worth the visit to see the tiled interior.The buildng is long and narrow with the dining area at the back. Wheel chair access is awkward, almost impossible if full.Try to avoid lunch times and end of office hours when it can get packed. The beer and food are pricey. I recommend a swift half while admiring the interior during mid afternoon.

On 4th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]