User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - June 2022 with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon), Twickenham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
24 London Road
Twickenham
TW1 3RR
Phone: 02087444300

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


E TA left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

As described below, this rather ordinary ‘Spoons is not one of their best, but it does cater for the early arrivals to watch the rugby. On this occasion it was full of people attending the Army v Navy game so was more like a NAAFI bar on drag night than a civilian pub. Sadly there were only 2 ales on, Doombar and Twickenham Naked Ladies,and the beer was served in plastic jugs. And because it was an ‘event’ day they wouldn’t take CAMRA vouchers. It was a handy facility but by no means a great pub.

On 5th May 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2869 recommendations about 2836 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

A fairly large Spoons in one of the more modern and rather boring styles. As the name suggests, it is rugby themed but restrainedly so. Entering through a couple of seated areas at the front, a long main hall has the bar along one side, while there is another pokey bit behind. It was a bit blokey and echoey, although not overcrowded. However I was impressed by the beer range, with three from By the Horns, Boss Beetlejuice, Swanney Pleep, Twickenham Naked Ladies, Westerham Audit Ale, Kelham Island Pale Rider (and the 3 unmentionables).

On 12th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2608 recommendations about 2552 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large High Street Wetherspoons pub, just down the road from the train station and therefore a complete no-go on rugby days. You enter to a front section with bare floorboards, fancy wallpaper and half panelled walls where numerous high tables and stools have been arranged in a spacious seating area. Over to the left is a carpeted section with a long banquette down the back wall under plain mirrors and regular tables and chairs through the rest of the space. Once through these seating areas, you emerge into the main bar, fully carpeted and semi wall panelled with some plain painted uppers. The servery runs along the left wall and has a smart counter front, the usual polished stone counter top and a nicely lit bar back. Large pillars through the middle of the room give this vast pub a compartmentalised feel, even in the bar area, where high tables and stools have individually been placed between them, with regular tables and chairs along the right hand wall, including on a raised platform a little further into the room. The rear section wanders left a little, past the end of the bar and offers more regulation seating, albeit in perhaps a slightly cosier space. Large windows to the rear look out to a garden area. As you’d expect, there are plenty of rugby themed photos, newspaper clippings and signed shirts on show, creating quite a nice, coherent display throughout the pub. A couple of TV screens were showing muted darts coverage rather than the usual news channels and I assume they show rugby fixtures here too.
There was a great guest beer to ‘Spoons regular ratio here, with eight of the former and just three of the latter, to create quite a selection dilemma. I ended up with a pint of Titanic Iceberg, which was very enjoyable and slipped down easily once I’d negotiated the rather slow service.
Putting that slow service to one side, this was a pretty enjoyable ‘Spoons experience. I thought the pub was smart and well presented, the beer range was extensive and the place had a number of comfortable spots to settle down over a few pints. It obviously can get excessively busy, so your enjoyment may vary depending on the timing of your visit, but I was impressed with this place and would call in again.

On 2nd January 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2805 recommendations about 2805 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

Typical one room Spoons with a good selection of ales including Pale Rider @ 5.2%. Best pub I found in the area on the day, which may or may not be a good thing.

On 7th December 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

Long narrow open plan spoons with quite a nondispript modern interior. Suspect a special pricing policy on twickenham match days.

On 23rd October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2824 recommendations about 2766 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

A large formula spoons,one long room carpeted throughout with the usual multi-seating options,the room itself was quite gloomily lit. At the bar the service was good, quite a novelty for me as far as spoons go,there were three banks of four handpumps with the furthest four from the entranced reserved for the usual boring suspects,
the remaining eight pumps featured a pretty good selection, Harviestoun Schieallion,Twickenham Naked Ladies,Trumans Swift,Oakham JHB,Exmoor Gold,Reunion Talanar,Prescott Grand Prix and Darkstar Hylder Blonde which was in good condition.

On 25th July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1559 recommendations about 1540 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

Not too busy when I visited, though it was before 12. Very large pub lots of seating with seating out the back. Lots of ales available, I had a pi t oakhams JHB, golden colour nice taste. Lights were. Bit dim, but luckily my Kind!e is bright. Very nice chandeliers over the bar. Friendly staff too. Was only going to have one pint then move on, but changed my mind and will have a Tillingborne A-O-N-B. That took a lot of typing, I'm sure it will be worth it.

On 7th July 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 757 recommendations about 720 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

Ah, the "William Webb Ellis" pub, what a good bar! A very long bar...! And the bar service is generally pretty good, even when its busy. And it was busy this last weekend, it's a rugby pub (...obviously! hence the name...!) and there was some local rugby event on the tv screens when I popped in (...to see the football..!) Harlequins were playing - so no chance of seeing any footy that afternoon! I tried a pint of "That's Real Lager"...(or something along those lines) by "Brewdog" and I was pleasantly surprised by what a nice pint of lager it was! Try it sometime. (It has a fairly distinctive black+yellow label on the pump, very similar to the "Meantime Brewery" London Lager logo, and perhaps a main competitor - but it was good)! The place was obviously busy with plenty of middle-aged, middle class rugby fanatics, and it was hard to actually find a spare seat. But I found a rather nice, high-backed leather armchair near the main doors as you come in. And I turned it in the space available to face the tv on the wall above, to watch some of the rugby (..you have to, in the Webb Ellis)! But a bit like "Rex Rattus" experience below (17/10/14) I couldn't reach my pint easily on the nearest ledge, about 2 foot above my head! AND...there was this air-con unit thing immediately above, dumping loads of cold air right onto me, from a great height..! And it was a blinking cold enough day as it was thanks! :o(

On 20th January 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

This pub has a similar layout to most high street ‘spoons, being a relatively narrow fronted conversion which has been considerably extended and/or opened up to the rear. It has the usual row of tall tables/tall stools running down the centre of the room, plus sufficient normal tables and chairs for those wanting to eat, but many more armchairs than you normally expect to see in a ‘spoons. There is an unusual feature down at the back – an open, circular coal effect fire, with a hood above it of course, surrounded by high sided bucket armchairs and low tables. For some reason I sat at one of these, but found it a bit like lying in a bath. I couldn’t reach my beer, nor had enough room for my arms to be able move to write in my notebook. I should have known better – I had to move.

It’s OK in here. If you know what ‘spoons are like you won’t be surprised.

On 17th October 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The William Webb Ellis (JD Wetherspoon)

I had a much better visit today when all four pints tried were in great nick. The prices are 50p a pint dearer than my local Spoons but the presence of Dark Star Revelation and Westerham Audit Ale more than made up for that. Other beers tried were Rooster's YPA and Naylor's Citradelica.

Rating increased from 5 to 8.



Visit 21/09/2013

This is a 2003 conversion of the old Twickenham Post Office and is a Lloyds No 1 rather than a JDW. No doubt the good folk of Twickenham now have to queue in some poky little shop with a tiny Post Office counter to buy a stamp or whatever.
Unusually, but not uniquely for a Spoons this place has Sky sports, not something that appeals to me at all. I'm glad I was here in daytime when they had the usual subtitled news on.

It's GBG listed and with 12 handpumps to choose from my hopes were high. There was GK Abbot and IPA (no Ruddles) and despite two uninvited guests of Doombar and London Pride, the rest was an interesting selection. Sadly Oakham Attila was Available Soon but then there was Adnam's Broadside, Hawkshead Cumbrian 5 Hop, Dark Star Hylder Blonde, Twickenham Naked Ladies and Yakima Valley, Westerham Audit Ale and Tillingbourne AONB.

I went for the Cumbrian 5 Hop (£2.65) which was not clear and did not have the big hit of hops that I had encountered on previous tastings, all in all rather disappointing. Apart from the better than average beer selection this place is nothing more than a standard Spoons with Sky Sports. It's more expensive than most Spoons outside Central London. I may have just got unlucky with the Cumbrian 5 Hop but have to mark it down as a result.

On 2nd May 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]

Page: 1 2