User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Bishop on the Bridge, Winchester

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
1 High Street
Winchester
SO23 9JX
Phone: 01962855111

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Bishop on the Bridge

Unchanged from my previous visit (unreviewd)in the past. a rather uninspiring interior and uninspiring Fullers beer lineup. The only thing going for it is its riverside location.

On 7th January 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Bishop on the Bridge

Superb Location and the first open pub I found after completing the South Downs Way.

A couple of Fuller's ESB, whilst sat on the delightful patio - waiting for my legs to start working again!

Some photos on my walking blog - http://mappiman.blogspot.co.uk/2015/09/040915-completing-south-downs-way.html

On 5th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 697 recommendations about 691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Bishop On The Bridge

Lunchtime visit, a showery day early September. Like Steve I reckon more could be made of this pub, but as it was filling up when we left,loads of reserved tables, tourist coming in a steady stream. I guess thinking is if it aint broke why fix it?

Had London Pride, which is not my normal Fuller's tipple but no HSB on my visit. The LP was in good condition, so I had another

Main mission was a bite to eat, and we were nicely surprised, the food, or at least what we had, was good, and from what I observed everyone else was enjoying it also, with huge portions being served, so perhaps beer is not the prime reason for this pub? But a Fuller's pub is never going to beat some of the other pubs in Winchester on beer,so go for food & tourists

And it seems to work for them

PS, staff polite and helpful, upstairs loo, but has disabled loo on ground floor

On 8th September 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Bishop On The Bridge

The Bishop on the Bridge is a large building well situated on the bridge over the River Itchen with a great outdoor terrace space next to the river.
It was decent enough but somehow I too was left a little flat by the experience. The beers are OK and four Fullers beers were available in the shape of Pride, ESB, HSB and seasonal Spring Sprinter.
But I left thinking that this place with its room and good outside space should be utilised much better, and when compared to some of Fullers prime London locations, this one feels like not a lot of thought has been put into it.
A more extensive range of Fullers Ales including a couple of guests would help for a start.

On 10th May 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Bishop On The Bridge

Disappointing considering it is a Fullers pub.

On 22nd January 2011 - rating: 3
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Bishop On The Bridge

Large corner pub standing by the bridge over the River Itchen at the bottom of the High Street. It has an open plan modern interior with lots of old pine, an exposed brick fireplace, grey painted tongue and groove and fancy light fittings. The candle powered tables have menus on clip boards and there is also a drinks and wine menu although the kegs are referred to as “Draught” and the cask beers as “Ales”. A Fullers pub so on the four handpumps are their ESB, Bengal Lancer IPA, London Pride and Seafarers, nothing very unusual in the kegs, Peroni, Staropramen, and Leffe being the more exciting, Carling, Becks, Strongbow and Guinness making up the numbers. The smooth is Fullers Honeydew. There are machines, including a cash point, but no screens. The upper floor houses the kitchen and lavatories.

On 21st March 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Bishop On The Bridge

Very expensive pub in a pretty location (the rear garden is positioned by the river). Light, bright, airy and spacious inside, this must have been refurbed in the past 12 months or so and the toilets were exemplary. Disappointed to only see three Fullers ales on, and my ESB was fairly lifeless, sadly. Felt that it had more to offer than this, so will try again next time I'm in town. But for now, very middling points, and wouldn't particularly recommend it for a Winchester crawl if Fullers' pubs aren't a novelty in your area.

On 23rd July 2007 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]