User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 2nd August 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

White Cross, Lancaster

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Quarry Road
Lancaster
LA1 4XT
Phone: 0152433999

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about White Cross

no qualms with quality or range of beer here, it's a bit of an emporium. but the place itself is completely up its own arse sadly, devoid of any atmosphere or soul and not cheap at all. comfortable and pleasant enough but plenty of better places in Lancaster. though many will disagree with me.

On 10th August 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 746 recommendations about 727 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about White Cross

Pubs with as many as 15 hand pumps tend to get dismissed by me as permanent beer festivals or drinking barns, so I have to say this is the most pub-like I've ever experienced. The bar manager was friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable, without being at all condescending. The atmosphere, given the size of the place, was cosy. I can imagine that in summer, with people spilling out onto the canal-side benches, it would feel a little different, but the excellent beer range, with some "usual suspects" at one end of the bar and obscurities at the other, with a decent choice of darker, maltier beers for the winter, would make this my top pub in Lancaster at this time of year.

Date of visit: 29th November 2015

On 14th January 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about White Cross

I can't really add anything from what's been said before so I'll just say I found it to be really nice. Worth a visit.

On 4th March 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3387 recommendations about 3302 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about White Cross

Another canalside pub converted from an old mill, just 5 minutes walk along the towpath from the Water Witch. This pub is much more of a lounge than the Water Witch. It's a very large space with lots of comfy seating alongside dining tables and chairs. Food is served, but it doesn't appear to be as prominent as at the Water Witch. There's a canalside patio with plenty of seating as well. 12 ales available on our visit, many of which appear to be changing guests. My pint was in good nick and Ms CAMRA thought that the red wine was decent as well. There were also 2 real ciders available. They have a pie and beer festival in April. I quite liked it here and Ms CAMRA loved it.

On 11th June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2855 recommendations about 2776 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The White Cross

Only a few minutes walk from the Water Witch along the toepath. This is a large open plan pub, which was slightly warehouse/boat workshop in style. The main room and bar is along the canal side, which consisted of a few steel columns, timber clad walls and slate floor. There was also a large conservatory on the left of entry. The manager was welcoming and chatty. There were 14 handpumps, all of which were in use on our visit, plus 2 ciders, including one from the Ribble Valley. We went for the Hawkshead Lakeland Gold and Tirrill Brewery EVPA, both ales were in excellent condition.

On 23rd February 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The White Cross

Modern pub/restaurant on the canal bank, inside there is almost a wetherspoons feel initially but it does have more going for it than a standard chain pub. Comfortable with good service the 9 real ales are superb.

On 19th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The White Cross

Christmas re-visit found the pub unchanged and still performing very well. I supped an excellent Bowland Black Dragon Porter and a serviceable Kirkby Lonsdale Jubilee Stout. Mrs Quinno had a mulled cider!

December 2010
The White Cross is a ‘must-visit’ in Lancaster and it’s easy to see why. A very nice canal-side conversion (used to be warehouse), it’s on two different levels and has a light, airy interior with distinct areas and plenty of decent seating that’s well-maintained – perhaps a bit loungey for some tastes but I like it. The bar is in the centre of the pub and serves a wide variety of quality ales (ten in total, mainly local brews) alongside numerous other offerings - the quality is always exceptionally good. Beer is often served by knowledgeable staff – I’ve seen them handing out some tasters to groups of drinkers to broaden their horizons. It’s child-friendly during the day. Food is available in a nice-looking conservatory area and the outside canal-side seating is nice on a sunny day.

Overall this makes for a cracking venue, albeit slightly out-of-the-way unless you know town quite well or come prepared with a decent map. A good pairing with the Water Witch, the other Lancaster canal pub.

On 28th December 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tim Tomlinson left this review about The White Cross

Lovely pub on the canal side. Great in the summer sun or welcoming in winter.
9 cask ales to choose from,including quite a few local ones.
The food is good pub fare and really healthy portions.

On 5th April 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]