User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Komakino on the Pub Forum

The Parcel Yard, Leicester

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
48a London Road
Leicester
LE2 0QB
Phone: 01162619301

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Parcel Yard

Has it really been over six years? It has. Not much immediate change from the description below, save that the rear rooms now have very plush oches and a full-length shuffle board. It costs a fair bit to play though, so that might explain why they are in pristine condition. Anyway there were six ales on with three Billies, all in decent shape (NBSS 3, 2x 3.5). Mrs Quinno tried the Boss Brewing beer which tasted lovely too (4). Service was notably good from the bespectacled barmaid. So still a good shout for a beer in Leicester and a no-brainer if you have 15 minutes before your train. 7.5

April 2013
Train station pub recently converted from ‘Time Bar’ which was a cocktail emporium (the building was originally a parcel depot). A change for the better IMHO as it is now a Steamin Billy outlet and a worthy stop either side of your choo-choo. There are two entrances but most will come in from the station front entrance (no direct access from the platforms), which opens to a small area that has some comfy seating. This then drops via few steps to a large, cavernous open-plan bar area with a dining room to the rear, decked out with modern furnishings, wood flooring and exposed brick walls – designed for vertical drinking. I visited twice in quick succession in March, which found two Steamin Billy ales plus Theakston XXB. Both my Billy beers were in good nick, £1.65 a half (a good price for a station bar) but disappointingly both times were poured into a low-grade lager glass. Service was prompt and on my latter visit the solitary barman was on the ball and acknowledged those of us waiting and then sent the relief barmaid straight over to serve us on her arrival. Departure screens throughout the interior which are a helpful bonus. Clientèle are largely on the younger side, as befits the interior vibe. A good place. Rated 7

On 20th December 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Parcel Yard

We were staying in the Premier Inn very close to this bar yet completely missed it walking from the railway station next door.

We only spotted the bar walking back to the station on the Sunday morning but luckily this place opens at 10am for breakfast, so a quick drink before catching our train gave us the chance to sample this interesting place.

A good range of ales on plus some rather eclectic foreign beers including two American craft beers. One beer we didn't recognize but nor did the bar staff but hey, thats what the internet is for!

Definitely a place to return to even if you only have half hour between trains.

On 10th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Parcel Yard

Recently converted from a cocktail bar called ‘Time’, this station side bar shares several architectural characteristics with its namesake at London Kings Cross, which suggests that its name reflects the building’s former use. The pub is laid out over a number of different levels with access from London Road and Station Street, but not from within the station itself. The main London Road entrance takes you into a raised seating area with a large window and smart comfortable chairs before dropping to an intermediate level where a few more seats can be found. The main part of the pub however, is to the rear where a large open space with bare floorboards and walls painted in neutral colours plus the occasional bit of bare brickwork, provides ample space for vertical drinking. The bar is on the right, with a row of padded banquette booths opposite and the odd table and chairs dotted here and there. At the rear there is a dimly lit space with some nice chairs around tables that were laid for diners, although this space was empty on my lunchtime visit, with punters preferring to eat in and around the main bar area. An eclectic mix of décor can be found throughout, including deer heads, farm tools and suitcases, but perhaps the most notable features are the various light fittings which include lamps made from top hats, champagne bottles and clusters of antlers. A large skylight above the servery provides additional light for a part of the pub that would otherwise be starved of natural light.
The pub has been reopened by the local Steamin’ Billy brewery and three of their beers were available – Tipsy Fisherman (£3.30), Bitter and 1485. The Tipsy Fisherman seemed like a decent session beer and was a good start to an extended tour of the city. The barman who served me seemed very personable and we chatted about some of the other pubs worth seeing in Leicester.
Some excellent station bars have opened across the country in recent years, and whilst this one doesn’t quite reach the levels of these, it still provides a good option for those wanting a swift one before catching their train and is doubtless an improvement on its former incarnation.

On 17th April 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Parcel Yard

I didn’t visit under its former guise of the Time Bar so cannot really judge if this is an improvement by the Steamin' Billy Co. over what was there before. I believe it was more of a cocktail bar before and although after the refurbishment is more aligned to beers, it certainly retains the kind of aura of a cocktail bar.
It is an L shaped property with entrances in London Road next door to the railway station and then round the corner in Station Street. The layout is on several levels and on the lower level where the bar is there is tables and seating away from the bar area.
Certainly was lively with the after work crowd on the Friday evening we visited, but no issues with being served. Three Steamin' Billy beers were available in the form of the Bitter, Tipsy Fisherman and 1485 and the one I tried was perfectly OK. However the pricing structure did seem higher than in other Steamin' Billy outlets in town, but I guess they have to pay for the refurb somehow.
All in all I liked it here and it is certainly a convenient spot for a last drink before catching the train out of town.

On 2nd April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Parcel Yard

Three Steamin' Billy beers on offer on our visit and a steamin Real Ale Ray trying to order a Fishermans Tipple. Looks a small set up from the outside but once through the entrance the place really opens out. In spite of it being busy on our Friday eve PG visit, there was no problem at all waiting to get served. The train times displayed was an added bonus.

On 24th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Parcel Yard

I quite liked this pub that is handy for the station. Well described below. Enjoyed the Steamin Billy 1485 here. A bit puzzled as to why the disabled toilet was downstairs, but there is another entrance on the same level as the bar.

On 24th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Parcel Yard

The modest entrance gives way to a small seating area but once down the stairs the pub opens out to a lively bar style interior with seating booths down one side.A crowd of predominantly younger drinkers on a Friday night were enjoying the upbeat vibe but there are three handpumps for real ale fans featuring beers from Steamin' Billy ,these days brewed by Grainstore in Oakham.There are departure screens throughout the interior and this would be a good option if you have time before your train departs for a quick one or two.

On 23rd March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Time Bar

Refurbished by the Steamin' Billy company, the former Time Bar in the old parcels area of the station has a large downstairs beer hall sort of room, with a big bar on one side, a row of tables arranged along the other and a back area with more of a restaurant/wine bar feel. Outside is a further large seating area while upstairs at straight level is a small and cosier lounge. Draught beers from the Grainstore brewery in Oakham - sadly only time for a quick pint but seemed nice enough.

On 7th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ericonabike ericonabike left this review about The Time Bar

Well worth dropping in if you're catching a train or as meeting someone. Good atmosphere for what is essentially a cocktail bar that serves beer

On 16th March 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 25 recommendations about 25 pubs]