User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Globe, Leicester

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
43 Silver Street
Leicester
LE1 5EU
Phone: 01162539492

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Globe

Almost corridor bar with adjoining space including a snug with snob screens. Tiled floor, old building. Nice features, nice pub

On 9th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Globe

Well described below by my fellow PuG crawlers, so I won't bother. My pint of Malty Tasker was in good nick and the locals were friendly and chatty. As it was just after the budget when George Osborne knocked 1p off a pint there was a large jar on the bar full of 1p coins that said "A present from George Osborne, please take one", very amusing. It's a very good pub.

On 16th May 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Globe

The Globe is a pleasant, multi roomed pub, supposedly dating back to 1720, with a good central location close to the cathedral. The layout is focused around a central servery which is encircled by a series of rooms – some clearly defined, others merging into one another. The front left section seemed to be popular, with several locals propping up the bar, but the partitioning here means that space is limited, so it quickly became over-crowded when the PuG crawlers arrived. The patterned tile corridor leads to the front right, where there is a space that looked ideal for diners, with standard table and chair arrangements and a specials board on the wall listing main meals for around a tenner. Towards the rear, past a window bearing an image of the Queen’s Head, there are sections with bare floorboards and flagstone flooring, the latter boasting a brick fireplace with a small stove inside. The lighting throughout was suitably muted, creating a nice warm ambiance. There is also apparently a bistro upstairs although I didn’t get the chance to explore this area.
Five Everards beers – Original, Tiger, Sunchaser, Beacon and Malty Tasker – were supplemented by Burton Bridge Rabble Rouser, York First Light and Bath Golden Hare, with a couple of real ciders also on handpull and Titanic Stout on tap as an alternative to Guinness. There were no problems with the quality of my pint and the customers sat at the bar were a friendly bunch, happy to chat to new faces.
There is much to recommend in this pub and I would imagine Everards view it as one of their flagship houses. I suspect this is the sort of pub that will appeal to a wide range of people and it is an essential addition to any city centre crawl.

On 1st May 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Globe

First visit to the Globe and I also liked this one and will certainly revisit when back in Leicester.
Several different spaces arranged around the central serving area, and although the area to the left of the bar as you enter is a bit tight and more aligned to vertical drinking, the rooms to the right and to the back are more spacious and comfortable.
Good well-kept range of Everards Ales and guests available and there was no evidence of the supposed spirit of the young boy in the cellar having pissed in the barrels during our visit.
Everards Original, Tiger , Beacon and Sunchaser were complemented by Bath Ales Golden Hare and Burton Bridge Rabble Rouser and the couple I tried were in fine nick.
There is also now a bistro restaurant in the room upstairs but didn’t utilise this.
And today's themed anorak fact is that the boy in the cellar is reputedly not the only ghost and there is also a woman on the stairs who allegedly comes from the time when pre pub, the building was used as accommodation for women awaiting impending execution at the hands of the noose man in nearby Gallowtree Gate.

On 2nd April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Globe

I count myself lucky to have got a good pint of Everards Tiger on our PG visit, as the manager told us about a ghost down the cellar who turns the beer off now and then. I enjoyed this pub and especially liked roaming round from room to room. Defo a must when visiting Leicester.

On 24th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Globe

A very interesting interior to this Everards tied house.You wind round a nesting of rooms as you tour the pub,with many nooks and crannies.There is an island bar which serves several of these sections.The front bar contains the most handpumps,with seven dispensing a wide range of Everards including seasonals and a smattering of guests.My Malty Tasker was on fine form.A rear bar area supports two real ciders on handpull.I will leave a detailed interior description to others,but all I will say is that the refurb has maintained the important elements of the pub while smartening it up.A must visit on any crawl.

On 23rd March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Globe

Fine old Everards pub with a variety of rooms around a central bar. Good selection of beers and ciders from a total of 10 handpumps, including Malty Tasker (£1.50, half). Only had time for a flying visit, but will certainly be back.

On 22nd March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Globe

The quintessential Everards pub in Leicester. If you like Tiger, you are in the right place. Clean and tidy pub in the city centre with excellent beer. The only down side was the banging music, which added nothing to the experience on a sunny Saturday afternoon. We took our pints outside and sat in the sun where it was much quieter and the views were much better :O)

On 28th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Globe

Popped in again today as I had a few minutes to kill in Leicester. Pub refurb in 2007 seems to have coincided with a general all-round improvement which has been retained. Full Everards range on today, my pint of Original was spot-on. Clientèle were mainly working class males. The interior of the pub is a multi-area'ed extravaganza, reflecting the pubs claimed age of being over 300 years old - the oldest in Leicester, according to the plaque on the wall, accentuated by the gas lamps present inside (assume they are for decoration only!). Some people were chowing down on the Sunday roasts. Sitting outside with my pint was quite pleasant and I'd recommend this as part of a tour of Leicester.

July 2007
Interior has been done up to a better standard now, showing off the nice touches. And by default seems to have rid it of the weirdo element - perhaps the 'broken window' theory in action. I had a decent pint of Tiger to boot. A big improvement and worth a visit if in the town centre needing to kill half an hour.

30 July 2006
This place is a mess. The seats have chunks missing and it needs painting something else from that nasty vomit yellow colour. A weirdo in the corner kept staring at us too. The Everards beer is fine as you'd expect, but as a drinking experience this place sucks, especially with so many other decent ale houses nearby like the Criterion or the Vaults.

Don't go here until the place is done up.

On 3rd April 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


matt hemstock left this review about The Globe

I have been using this pub since i was a young 'un,i am always glad to visit the globe as i have had some brill nights there!!

On 26th January 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]

Page: 1 2