User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Fly in the Loaf, Liverpool Central, Liverpool

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Hardman Street
Liverpool
L1 9AS
Phone: 01517080817

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Fly in the Loaf

Called in this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub and found Okells beers plus four guests. Theakstons Shot in the Dark, Rat White Rat,Ilkley Summer, and Roosters Baby Faced Assassin. We chose the Theakstons which was fine.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jon B left this review about Fly in the Loaf

a nice opened-up space pleasantly decorated, full of 30 somethings and unfortunately deeply tedious. Rigbys is a classic pub, this isn't and definitely isn't on Saturday nights when it gets uncomfortably packed.

On 7th June 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 591 recommendations about 581 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Fly in the Loaf

We've visited several times since my last review. Always a very good selection of beer and the staff are always excellent. I still think it's a great pub, despite the last couple of reviews. Maybe I'm still a bit hip. :-)) A excellent pint of Crate Pale this time around as well.

26/04/2013
Another pub we always visit when in Liverpool and this time was no different. Excellent choice of well kept beer, efficient and knowledgeable staff. It's a great pub, in fact it's Ms CAMRA's favourite in the city.

22/06/2009
Visited 3 times over a long weekend recently. Great pub with a decent selection of real ales, Okells + guests. We ate here one lunchtime and the food was good, it looked a bit pricey at first, but then we realised it was buy one get one free! The beer was excellent on all 3 visits as was the service. It was absolutely packed on the Saturday night, still got served OK though. One to visit.

On 22nd February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2703 recommendations about 2632 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Fly in the Loaf

Have to agree with Mr Quinno. I've never seen the appeal of this place, or Rigbys to be honest, despite the real ales available.

On 14th November 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3347 recommendations about 3263 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Fly in the Loaf

Despite the magnificent exterior this in actuality a heavily modern Okells place, with four of theirs plus two guests. I tried one of each; Okells St Nicks (end of barrel) and Odyssey Evil Empire which was much better. Plenty of craft keg etc available. Long and narrow internally, a bit like a Spoons (I kid you not) with a raised area to the left. The large main bar area is for vertical drinking. Fairly blandly decorated (some wood panelling to the rear and tiled flooring excepted) the bar was the star, quite a striking charcoal black with some nice embossed finials and a very long marble-style bar top. Gripe point was the pub was stupidly hot, probably down to a preponderance of those crappy hipster lightbulbs on a wire that seem to be de rigeur at the moment; may have lost as much weight drinking my pint as Gary Lineker did against Cameroon in Italia 90. Decent enough beer barn but I’m struggling to see why it’s held in such high regard elsewhere, really. Preferred the other Okells house I sampled, Thomas Rigby’s.

On 15th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3899 recommendations about 3887 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Fly in the Loaf

Refreshed and renovated with a brighter paint job, new furniture and a new menu. They're also doing 1/3s & 2/3s of a pint but it's the same outstanding service and great beer. There's a slight re-branding with a Liverpool Born & Bread slogan, 1927 is emphasised as well. For my money the best pub in the city centre.

On 8th July 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 1926 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Fly in the Loaf

This is a large Okell’s pub that has been converted from a former bakery. The pub has a fairly open feel with the bar counter running down the right hand wall leaving a decent amount of space for vertical drinking, although the room is broken up by a few partitions and the odd stone archway. There’s a good deal of seating as well, mostly in the form of standard tables and chairs plus a few banquettes, with each corner of the pub having a raised seating area including one to the rear right which bizarrely includes an old church pulpit. The mosaic floor and nice wood panelled walls give the place more of a traditional feel when it might have been easy for the place to end up looking like a bit of a drinking barn. The bar back is particularly impressive with plenty of glasswork and a great number of bottles along its not inconsiderable length, as well as a few rugby shirts and a rugby ball. There is a second bar upstairs but this was closed on our midweek visit.
The Okell’s pubs I’ve been to haven’t really excelled in pushing their own beers and this place was no different, with just Okell’s Bitter available from their range, alongside Lancaster Black, Newman Bronze Beaver, Wapping Baggy Wrinkle Bitter, Brains SA and Salopian Oracle. I gave the Lancaster Black a try and thought it was a really good pint.
The pub seemed to be well set up and has a broad appeal judging by the mix of customers in on a Thursday night. One of several fine pubs in the area and certainly worth spending a bit of time in.

On 14th March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2303 recommendations about 2303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Fly in the Loaf

Have to say apart from the fab interior, good choice of beers, and pulpit, the staff here still come first in my rating as they are friendly and on the ball. A very professional bunch of people and service with a smile and good manners. I enjoyed the Wapping Baggy Wrinkle Bitter. Will defo call again.

On 4th March 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Fly in the Loaf

An impressive conversion by Okells into a leading real ale pub,there is a beautiful marble bar top which runs most of the length of the right hand wall.There were 8 handpumps with many microbrewery offerings as well as a few from Okells,a much better range than available at the other Okell houses in the city.My Salopian Oracle was in top form,and really this pub deserves a longer stay than my brief crawl visit.I particularly liked the raised sections at the rear of what is a large ,open interior.There were a good number of barstaff around which mean efficient service even at a peak time like 6pm Friday evening.Another must visit pub in Liverpool.

On 4th March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1977 recommendations about 1977 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Fly in the Loaf

A 2011 Good Beer Guide pub that deserves its place for beer selection and quality. Although busy, the staff took my husband to the disabled toilet on the ground floor and when he came back they brought him a seat at the end of the bar. Really looked after him. The beers we chose were Blackwater Art Deco and Newmans Wicked Weasel, and they were excellent. Deffinately a pub not to miss on a crawl.

On 6th March 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]

Page: 1 2