User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Euros Prediction League with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Hop Pole, Nottingham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
2 High Road
Beeston
Postal town: Nottingham
NG9 4AE
Phone: 01159251174

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Hop Pole

Two room pub with public to left on entering, didn’t get into the front room due to plague rules. It appears to have quarry tiles, wood lined walls and machines but I couldn’t see any further. The main sign says “micro brewed cask ales”, and inside are eight pulls with mostly small or local or both, the biggest brewer here was Castle Rock with a Thornbridge coming next, Grasshopper, Charnwood, Dancing Duck and Purity were among the six beers on. beer was good so I stayed for a couple. The back room is decorated with tongue & groove with tasteful wallpaper above and a mix of bench seating and separate tables. Good bunch of sweary bantering locals in on my visit. Probably not enough pumps for Nottingham Camra to put it in their book.

On 29th September 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Hop Pole

06/07/17.
Still a great pub, spanking pint o Ay-Up from Dancing Duck and as always, a pristine pint of Castle Rock Harvest Pale. Keep it up chaps.

16/03/16
last call on a crawl round Beeston and as usual, the Hop Pole was perfect. One of the best pints of Harvest pale in the country (see picture)

21/03/14
Popped in here a couple of weeks ago to kill an hour waiting for the new Bartons Comedy club to open. The Hop Pole is a great little boozer serving 3 or 4 decent ales on rotation, as well as the usual tap fiz. On my last visit, I had Castle Rock Harvest Pale and a beautiful pint of Timothy Taylor Landlord. the pub has 2 rooms, but we nearly always go in the back as the fromt room has a bit of a locals only atmosphere, although this feeling might just be my perception. Nice friendly staff and half right wine according to the Mrs. the pub does lots of live music and open mic nights, but I have never stayed long enough to sample any. there is a small beer garden out the back, which is a real sun trap in the evening. the toilets let the place down a bit and could do with a renovation. Excellent place to pop in on the way to and from Beeston if you live in Chilwell and far superior to the Chequers accross the road. Will call again and again.

Continue to frequent the Hop Pole. Always a 7 point boozer

On 13th August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Hop Pole

The hop pole is located a five minute walk out of Beeston town centre along the tram tracts. Upon entering through the door at the side of the pub there are two rooms separated by walls with a central bar that serves either sides. We went right into the bar area while the larger bar/lou8nge to the left had a lot more chairs and tables and a live band on. The pub was all hard wood which I sometimes find a little uncomfortable but the comfy bench seating was nice and it was very warm and cosy on a cold winter’s night. There was a good selection of real ales between the two bar but conveniently they display every beer available on both bars (more than one clip per pump, to show their full range) a practice that I think more pubs should do to stop people missing out on potential beers because they didn’t check the other bar. The beers available on my visit were the always available Harvest pale (re badged hop pole harvest and said to be one of the best kept harvest pales in notts), Castle rock’s Elsie Mo, bath Ales Bansey, Petrich Death valley and Charnwood Vixen. I opted for a Vixen at £3.35 which is probably slightly more than the average for Nottingham but this is Beeston and prices do tend to be a bit more round here but the beer was in great nick and a very enjoyable pint, they do look after their beers here. Overall I nice experience and with the Chequers across the road a good place to start or finish a crawl around Beeston, I will be returning here.

On 7th December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Hop Pole

An excellent real ale pub on a busy high street, with a decent sized car park and a smoking area at the rear. Two bars: the front public bar was lively and friendly, livened up by locals playing darts (for fun rather than seriously) and offering sound advice about other Nottingham pubs, while a piano and gaming machine quietly sat there doing nothing. The rear bar was full of families, while the jukebox subtly masked the sound of children. Appears to be very much a CAMRA haunt, but not in a cliquey way, and they host live music acts from time to time. Four ales on draft – I had Voodoo Mild, which was absolutely perfect. A very good place to spend a few hours, and highly recommended for a crawl.

On 24th September 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2612 recommendations about 2580 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Hop Pole

The Hop Pole is a pleasant two room pub dating back to 1870 and is located on the boundary line between Beeston and Chilwell. The front room is a fairly traditional public bar with standard seating looking out to the main road and I noticed a dart board as well. I sat in the larger rear room which has wooden flooring and half paneled walls as well as some exposed brickwork towards the rear of the room. Seating is a mix of banquettes and standard chairs, some of which have some nice elaborate high backs. There is a fireplace with an old range on the back wall and old photos and pictures provide a bit of visual distraction. The pub has a beer garden to the rear which I forgot to have a look at before I left. An eclectic soundtrack was playing an odd mix of 60’s hits and obscure 90’s indie records which was quite enjoyable for its eccentricity. A couple of people came in to enquire about food but were told that the kitchen is only open for Sunday lunch.
There were four beers on when I arrived – Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Nottingham Sir Blondeville, Sharp’s Doom Bar and Exmoor Dark. I gave the Sir Blondeville a try and found it was a very well kept and tasty pint. Two more hand pumps were dispensing Weston’s Old Rosie and Traditional Scrumpy. There is a 15p discount on the cost of a pint for CAMRA members and the Harvest Pale is available for £2.45 a pint from Sunday to Thursday between 12:00 and 19:00.
I found this to be a very friendly and hospitable pub with a decent range of beers to enjoy in a pleasant, traditional environment. It may not be able to match the likes of the nearby Crown or Victoria, but it isn’t really trying to and it stands up as a good pub in its own right.

On 2nd November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Hop Pole

The Hop Pole used to be an Ansells tied house and it is on chilwell high road which is a short walk from the middle of Beeston.
There is no front door to this pub the main entrance is to the side and once inside there are two rooms the room at the front is the smaller and the back bar is the main drinking area.
This pub is now owned by the Pub People Co and they have introduced real ale to ths pub,there were three real ales on the bar i had a drink of Castle Rock Harvest Pale which was very nice as usuall the other beers were Bass, Black Sheep bitter and Nottingham EPA.
It is worth the short walk from the centre of Beeston to get to this pub

On 3rd April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]