User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 2nd August 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Fox & Crown, Old Basford, Nottingham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
33 Church Street
Old Basford
Nottingham
NG6 0GA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


E TA left this review about Fox & Crown

Much as described by Alex, below, this traditional town pub serves as a lively local as well as a Thai restaurant.  The right hand side of the octagon as you enter is mainly a public bar-type area, with a pool table, darts and a juke box, while the left hand side is mainly dining tables.  The barman was helpful and explained that the food was a totally separate business – you buy your drinks at the bar then ring a bell by a side door, whereupon a Siamese gentleman appears to take your food order.  The clientele is a mixed bag, and there was a good atmosphere when we visited.  Ales on from Shipston’s were Mild, IPA, Gold and Original, plus there were two guests, Kruger’s Blue and Magpie Brewery’s Wanderers.  They have a weekly quiz, and daily Happy Hour, and the barman quickly pointed out the CAMRA discount.  Well worth a visit. 

On 13th January 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2548 recommendations about 2526 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Fox & Crown

The Fox and Crown used to be the Brewery tap for the now defunct Alcazar Brewery but has recently been acquired by Shipstons and this is now their Brewery Tap. Being a huge fan of the rejuvenated Shipstons I was eager to try it out. A former shipstons pub from back in the day there are two main entrances at the front of the pub that originally this would have taken you into two separate rooms but these now lead into one large opened up space with the large square shaped bar in the centre of the room. The bar serves from three sides and these all have a set of hand pumps meaning there were 16 in total. Unfortunately things dipped from here as there was only a measly five beers to choose from out of the large selection of pumps. To make things worse there was only one of Shipstons three core beers available, their gold star which is my least favourite of the three which I thought was a very poor showing from the supposed brewery tap. The other beers available were a Christmas pudding ale left over from the festive season that was sweet and rancid and on offer at £2 because no one wanted it. A one off IPA by Shipstons and stab in the dark by Black Iris. I plunged for the Gold star at £2.95 which was in an ok condition and served in a pint dimple mug. There were a lot of younger student types in on my Thursday evening visit and the pub was ok if not lacking a little in atmosphere and the bar man rubbed me the wrong way a little and remarked that I was “picky” because I wanted to try the beer first, as you can imagine this left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. I had visited once before when Alcazar had it and their beers were horrible and the clientele didn’t really sit well with my too much so two less than stellar visits really. I will be willing to give this place one more try but three strikes and it’s going to be out with this place for me. Once Shipstons have been there a little longer and put their stamp on things This place should improve as it does have great potential and the foundations to be a proper gem and I I can’t imagine them wanting their Brewery tap to be the place that I visited. It scrapes a seven because it had a drinkable ale on but by the skin of its teeth, needs improvement.

** On a more recent visit still no Original or Nut Brown from Shipstons but they did have a new beer called Alcazar (£3.20) ale which I was told was a stronger special v version of original and it went down well so at least you can get to taste some one off/new inventions in here first which is a bonus.

On 23rd February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Fox and Crown

This nice community local is easily reached from the city centre thanks to its proximity to Basford tram stop. The pub is worth the trek, as it is the brewery tap for the Alcazar Brewery, which ensures that a number of their ales should greet your visit. When I arrived, there were four Alcazar brews available – Alcazar Ale, Vixen’s Vice, Windjammer and New Dawn – as well as a less than inspiring guest of Sharp’s Doom Bar. There are quite a lot of hand pumps along each of the three sides of the servery, suggesting that a wider range might be available at peak times. I decided to give the Alcazar Ale a try and was disappointed to find it was not really up to scratch. This may, judging by the reviews below, have been a bit of bad luck on my part, but it did put me off trying any of their other beers.
On approach, the pub certainly stands out thanks to a large mural of Robin Hood and friends painted on the end wall. Inside, there is a large main bar area with a centrally positioned U-shaped servery with an imposing modern wooden counter and canopy. The left side of the bar has a tile floor with banquettes running around the walls and lots of standard chairs in accompaniment. A brick fireplace on the left hand wall has a small stove inside and rather bizarrely there was another stove plonked down next to the bar. A nice framed tap display took pride of place on the wall, surrounded by numerous black and white photos and several TV screens showed Sky Sports News whilst music quietly played throughout the room. To the right there is a carpeted area with limited seating at the front due to the presence of a pool table and dartboard, but some sofas appear further to the rear. A few bits of breweriana can be found dotted around the room, mainly in the form of old signs and advertisements and the overall effect is very pleasant, with the pub striking me as somewhere you would happily settle down for a good session. For those wanting something to eat, a Thai food menu is offered and a number of people were taking advantage of this during my lunchtime visit.
This is clearly a very good pub with a warm, welcoming feel and a range of facilities to keep a wide customer base entertained. It’s a shame my pint was poor, as I would have liked to have sampled a few more of their beers, but given the positive reviews below, I might be tempted to give the place another try sometime.

On 23rd March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Fox and Crown

The Fox and Crown was originally a Shipstones tied house with a few different rooms inside.
The pub is now the brewery tap for Alcazar brewery with the brewery located behind the pub,once inside the pub has been opened out into one room with the bar facing,there is a pool table to the right and a few bench seats in the bay window,there are leather settes at the side of the bar in this area,the left side as more seating with normal tables and chairs in the middle of this area and bench seating along the left wall and in the bay window.
There are around 15 pumps on the bar with most in use at the weekend,these usually have most Alcazar beers plus a couple of guest beers on,the usuall Alcazar beers are Alcazar Ale,New Dawn,Vixens Vice,Foxtail Ale,Wind Jammer and Brush Bitter.
This is my wifes favourite Nottingham pub and whenever we come here for a drink it usually ends up being an all day session which is unusuall for us as we get itchy feet after a couple of drinks normally and want to move onto the next pub.
We normally drink Alcazar Ale which is a really nice bitter,but we have tried most Alcazar ales in this pub.
The pub does Thai food after 5 in the evening and this is very popular with the pub getting packed after 6 on weekends.
I carnt really find fault with this pub.

Pub first visited 2/10/1982

Photo taken when a Shipstones house 1985

Photo taken and latest visit 4/12/2012

On 9th December 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Fox and Crown

When you get off the tram coming from the city centre, stay on the same side walk up the street and take a left. I heard a few comments that the Alcazar Brewery beer wasn't up to scratch. Maybe their beers did go through a bit of a low. This is most definitely not the case now, as all their beers were top notch. In fact, each one had it's own individual colour and taste. They also do great Thai food and I wouldn't class it as a restaurant at all, as lots of people were drinking and having a bit to eat alongside a pint. The girl behind the bar couldn't have been more helpful. The beers I went for on the day were Alcazar Ale, Foxtale Ale, New Dawn and Vixens Vice. Will defo call again

On 9th April 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ivan Dale left this review about The Fox and Crown

A pub that can be classed more as a restaurant these days. Serves delicious thai food which is hard to better. However the beer isn't quite as good, in fact, it can be classed as ordinary at best. Which is sad because, with up to 15 hand-pumps, the pub has a lot of potential.

On 5th September 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 21 recommendations about 21 pubs]