User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 24th May 2020) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Head of Steam, Nottingham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
7 High Pavement
Nottingham
NG1 1HF
Phone: 01159886870

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Head of Steam

I’ve been ignored in better pubs than this, but never when there’s been so few other punters in the place. The guy here takes it a whole new level, wanker. Had a wee and left.

On 13th February 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Head of Steam

The Head of steam has only been open around a year in the lace market area off Nottingham city centre close t other bars and restaurants. Unlike a lot of their other long established venues this is much more modern and bar like than say their Huddersfield or Leeds offerings witch both retain classic pub layouts. The pub is one long square room with the bar running halfway down the left hand side. The interior id very modern and decked out in a similar style to a lot of chain bars with hard wooden floors, and lots of exposed brick. There was also music playing. All of this creates the sort of environment and attracts the sort of late weekend evening crowd that is really not my scene, however this could all have been forgiven if their beer offering was up to scratch...... it wasn’t.

There were seven pumps available but disappointingly only three in operation which is poor showing on a Saturday night. The always available Camerons Strongarm was supported by local brews Blue monkey BG sips and Scribblers One Brew Over the Cuckoos’ Nest. The former was expensive at £3.80 and in poor condition. Sadly the Scribblers beer that had only just came on as we entered was woefull and even dearer at £3.90! and also out of condition and cloudy, clearly rushed through and put on way too soon, bad cellermanship all round in a chain that prides itself of its large beer offering on one that really should know better. Overall even if the beer had been good this would not be a regular haunt of mine as there are many better traditional pubs you choose from in Nottingham but sadly with the beer effort they gave on this occasion will make me swerve it in the future. It’s better than keg only chain bars but most places are really, I feel this chains recent large expansion over the country has mad them lose their way with the Leicester branch not even lasting a year.

On 23rd May 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 451 recommendations about 451 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Head of Steam

This place is set over two floors although I didn't venture upstairs. Downstairs it's a long room with the bar on the left. At least the decor wasn't half finished like next door. There were a few in on my early Friday afternoon visit.
I counted eight hand pumps on the bar which had three ciders, one unused, Camerons Strongarm, a Leeds brewery beer, Roosters Yankeee and Harvest Rock Harvest Pale. I went for the Yankee (£3.50 discounted) which was in reasonably good nick.
I've been to better outlets of this chain.

On 29th July 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Head of Steam

The main reason for a visit here was that The Head of Steam group, owned by Camerons, had only opened this new outlet two weeks ago and after visiting a few of them around the country I was fairly certain that they would have a good selection of cask ales. So no surprise to see 8 handpumps on our visit.
They had a varied selection of beers, with a locales choice, a couple from Camerons and 1 cider.
We went for the Magpie Brewery Jay and a Castle Rock Fools Gold, both of which were in good shape. The ground floor bar was finished to a high standard and a visit to the upstairs bar with a Belgium Trappist bar was even more impressive.

On 8th April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Missoula

Now re-branded as Missoula, we went for an evening meal at the upstairs restaurant recently. Still no draught ale on the bar, but a good selection of kegs from around the world. The food was average USA sports bar style, but it was well cooked and tasty. Not a beer destination at all and I suspect that it gets rammed on evenings over the weekend. Probably won't bother again, lots of better pubs in Nottingham and certainly better food outlets.

On 2nd March 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Living Room

The Living Room is a trendy type bar that caters for the bright young things of Nottingham.
The pub is situated opposite the Pitcher and Piano and is very close to the Cock and Hoop,once inside the pub has one room which is fairly narrow the bar is on the left side and there were a few leather settees at the front of the pub and some more stupid looking half circular leather settees to the the right,there was a baby grand piano halfway down the room and this was painted white,the rear area had normal tables and chairs.
There were no real ales on the bar and the only bitter option was Gk IPA on keg,this took an age to pour as it was very fizzy when i finally got my half which cost £1.70 it was a really bad tasting drink not like vinegar just bad.
The pub was fairly quiet on my mid afternoon visit and it did have a decent laid back atmosphere with music playing that was'nt to bad.
This is not a pub i would go in again.

Pub visited 21/8/2012

On 21st August 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Paul Brett left this review about The Living Room

£3.80 a pint. I have found probably the most expensive beer in Nottingham. As for the pub, it's a rather nice place that at least has heaters (not £4 nearly worth) i'm from the south and even this beats London prices.

On 29th November 2010 - rating: 2
[User has posted 65 recommendations about 64 pubs]