User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
In the Hop Garden with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Lilley Langtry's, Nottingham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
4 South Sherwood Street
Nottingham
NG1 4BY

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Langtry's

When i first went in this pub it was called The Peach Tree and had a very rough reputation.
In the early 80s Whitbread did the pub up and renamed it Langtrys and it still looks the same inside to this day as it did in the early 80s.
Once inside the bar faces in a single L shaped room which is bare boarded,the seating is normal tables and chairs,the rear left side is up one step.
There is always a good choice of real ales on the bar,on my recent visit there seven real ales on and two real ciders,i had a drink of Adnams Old Ale,which went down a treat,the other real ales were Exmoor Antler,Castle Rock Elsie Mo,Hop Back Summer Lightening,Youngs Bitter and Bombardier,plus one i failed to read my notes of.
Decent food is served and the pub is always busy.
One of our favourite Nottingham pubs that we visit often.

Peach Tree first visited 1981

Recent visit to Langtry's 18/2/2017

On 16th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Langtry's

A staple in the good pub guide every year but not without its faults in my opinion. The real ale range is always very good with a nice selection of 8 local and regional beers with Hop back summer lighting usually available and this is one of my favorite blonde beers though sometimes beers can venture into the very expensive (for Nottingham) Timothy taylors landlord at £3.60 is pushing it a bit. The quality to me though can be a little hit and miss and beers sometimes seem to be a bit new or hazy. This pub gets very busy and can be very cramped when busy; as a result there is more standing room that seating and tables that can make the place feel bare when empty. The interior to me always seems a little bit dirty that can maybe be down the wooden interior that required a lot of upkeep. The service is also questionable with bar staff very harsh and at times rather rude, this place is very popular so seems that upsetting people does not really bother them as they know they will always have a que at the bar.
On a good day this can be a quality ale pub in Nottingham but its sometimes hit and miss makes me question its good beer guide status, maybe an omission or two could be the kick it needs to sort its consistency out. Defiantly worth a visit but lacking in completely fulfilling its potential.

** Update November 2016
And just like looking into my crystal ball it has been dropped from this years good beer guide like I predicted, maybe now they will steady the ship a little and get it back to being a top top pub rather than just an above average one.

On 5th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Langtry's

Occupying a prime location close to the Theatre Royal and Concert Hall, this is a well worn traditional pub offering solid food and drink options. You enter into a spacious room with scuffed floorboards and a quarry stone floor bar area to the rear. The servery has some rather grubby wood panelling on the front of the counter and a large pillar which obscures the majority of the bar back from view. The canopy has been decorated with a number of quotes and some decent hand drawn images of the people being quoted. Two seating areas can be found either side of the entrance. To the right there is a simple space with half panelled walls, some exposed brickwork, lots of blackboards listing various offers and food options, pictures of the eponymous Lillie Langtry and a range of standard and pew seating with a few partitioning screens offering limited privacy. Meanwhile, over to the left, there is a slightly cosier area with similar seating arrangements and a good collection of breweriana on the walls. A final space can be found here, with a couple of steps taking you up to the rear of the room where a few more tables have been arranged around a nice fireplace on the back wall, with more old photos on display. Music played quietly throughout my stay and several people were eating from what appeared to be a competitively priced menu.
The ale range was much better than I’d anticipated, with the range split across two banks of handpulls, comprising Blue Monkey Infinity, Lincoln Green Tuck Porter, Everards Tiger, Taylor Landlord, Wychwood Hobgoblin, Jennings Cocker Hoop and Brakspear Bitter. A final handpull offered a real cider option, although I failed to note what this was. I tried the Infinity which was in excellent condition and made up for the fact that I’d had to cut the Organ Grinder from my crawl due to time constraints.
I didn’t really have any particularly high expectations for this place, but thought it was a pretty decent spot for a drink, with the shabby interior giving it a bit of character. It might not be one of the city’s top destination pubs, but as long as they keep offering a broad range of ales, it is probably worth a regular look-in.

On 23rd March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2449 recommendations about 2449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Langtry's

Nice pub called in very busy had a good selection of hand pulled beer on got sat down and got CHATTING TO A LOVELY OLD COUPLE HE WAS 82 SHE 92.
Good to see old people out and enjoying them self. The only down side was a hand pull beer from Batemans called we blew it in Brasil we had just gone out the world cup that night but will call back

On 4th July 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Langtry's

This traditional corner street pub had eight ales on handpump on our Wednesday lunchtime visit. The bar was well staffed and service was friendly and helpful. The pub is well worn round the edges which gives it character. I went for Copper Dragon ale.

On 9th April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Langtry's

A terraced Georgian styled corner pub with a white and brown split rendered exterior and with a patio area on the street.

The interior has an L-shaped room with wood panel and undressed brick walls, wood floor and a white ceiling. There is a brick fireplace and the rear area is on a different level. The walls have old acting and Shakesperian photos on them, as well as posters, prints and old adverts. There is a TV, but this wasn't on at my visit and the music was general and at a decent level. They do food here. The menu seems quite good, but i didn't eat, so can't comment on the quality. The service was good and the clientele consisted of a mixed crowd - it was busy on a saturday night.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Abbot, Bombardier, Young's Bitter, Flower's IPA and a very good pint of Titanic MILD on handpull.

I liked this place and would definitely return here.

On 13th September 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Langtry's

Called in again on a Sunday night. Visiting Langtry's is like putting on a favourite old overcoat. You know it's tatty, but it's always warm and welcoming and usually busy and buzzy. The beer range is never particularly adventurous, but is always well kept. I'll no doubt call in again next time we're in Nottingham.

23/04/2010
Shabby old pub, very close to the Theatre Royal and the Royal Centre. This means that it, and everywhere around it is heaving on a Saturday night as ususal. I've been coming in here for years and it never seems to change, which I think is a plus in this case. Had 4 ales on the bar. I had a pint of the Marston Moor Brewers Droop which was pretty good as usual. A pleasant oasis away from the Market square. Not at the very top level as Nottingham has plenty of great pubs, but well worth a visit if in the area.

On 13th September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2848 recommendations about 2769 pubs]