User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with Quinno on the Pub Forum

The Nag's Head, Shrewsbury

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
22 Wyle Cop
Shrewsbury
SY1 1XB
Phone: 01743362455

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Nag's Head

As I can't find a Bag's Head in Shrewsbury, I'll assume that my note taking had fallen prey to the menace that is predictive texting.
This is a jettied building built in a mock mediaeval style, though is of appreciable age, dating back to 1780. The pub also claims to be haunted, but this may be a recent addition, given that the pub's adoptive cat - Indie - was killed by a dog on 13th April this year.
My half of Wye Valley HPA was fine and the pub makes for an obvious inclusion if on a crawl.

On 26th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1513 recommendations about 1493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Nag's Head

This small traditional two roomed pub is half way up (or down depending on your perspective) the Wyle Cop. The small serving bar in the front room had five hand pumps on the go providing for our visit Butty Bach and HPA from the Wye Valley Brewery, Butcombe Original, Rebellion IPA and TT Landlord. I went for the Landlord and it was in good nick and the back room was a good spot to enjoy it. Unfortunately due to the inclement weather, did not get a chance to check out the beer garden.

On 26th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1810 recommendations about 1748 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Nag's Head

Not been in this small, traditional, two-room, alehouse-style pub for over ten years, but not much has changed from what I recall (describing it at that time in the following way: "Perhaps I should have tried the beer garden, but the wood-panelled front bar seemed a bit bare and lacking in atmosphere"). Five real ales available on handpumps, including the Wye Valley HPA (£1.65, half) on this visit.

On 21st October 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Nag's Head

A Grade II medieval building, where the landlady told us about the resident ghost, that haunts the back room where we were all congregated. We were all in high spirits, so this didn't deter us from supping the beer and some merriment. I went for the Rebellion IPA, which was decent. They serve a very good looking pork pie, along with home pickled onions for £2.50. So I kicked myself on the way out, when I spotted a gentleman in the front bar tucking into one.

On 21st October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3090 recommendations about 3090 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Nag's Head

A small town pub with a fair few ales on draught. At the front is a relatively small bar, with a not-much-larger room behind and a small yard at the back. I didn't feel it was any great shakes as a pub but it was made up for by some good beers, I think including Landlord, Wye Valley Butty Bach and HPA, Butcombe Best and Rebellion IPA although there was some contradiction in lists of what was available.

On 20th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2598 recommendations about 2542 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Nag's Head

An ale house vibe,you enter into a bar room with a wooden floor,bar stools down one side,with a large fitted bench around the front window.Up at step there is a small rear room with limited bar access,but the 5 handpumps are only visible in the front bar.A flatscreen had BBC News 24 on mute,there was some muzak playing just a little too loud,but the barmaid was friendly enough.There are pork pies on offer ,and it's a proper boozer which I was drawn to by it's GBG listing.Sadly it came up short with an ale selection of Wye Valley HPA,Sharps Atlantic and Sea Fury,Elgoods Cambridge Bitter and TT Landlord (tangy and served southern style,mistake)
Not sure that it is a must do on any crawl around town,I got the impression that this pub isn't striving for real ale excellence.

On 25th June 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2338 recommendations about 2338 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Nag's Head

Decent enough pub with the bar to the let as you enter. Six real ales but nothing of any great strength. The ale we were trying went off during the pulling so we got a free half (ish) before the barmaid started to change it.

On 14th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Nag's Head

A very good pub. Small and 2 roomed with small front room and back rooms. 5 handpumps on the bar. It can seem claustrophobic if its full but I like the pub so sod it. A ginger cat can, unfortunately, be seated on your table.

On 28th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3446 recommendations about 3353 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Nag's Head

Proper pub like the old days what you see is what you get pint and a pork pie very nice

On 1st November 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 122 recommendations about 122 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Nag's Head

Traditional alehouse in a medieval building (check out the overhanging eaves). Two rooms, front bar and a rear room up steps, with a large beer garden leading off (shame I didn’t explore here as below is mentioned a C14th smoking shelter!). Basic bare board/exposed brick feel and traditionally furnished. The place smelt of Mr Sheen, better than stale beer and farts I guess. TV tuned to news. Various unrelated framed prints dotted around, including one bearing the legend “don’t drink any old horse piss – get the real thing at the Nags Head”. Five ales - not the most exciting selection, Deuchars, Hobsons Bitter, Wye Valley HPA, Enville, Bombardier (those named on the blackboard had little bearing to reality) though I couldn’t really fault the quality of my Hobsons. Friendly atmosphere inside and a nice barmaid too. Spotted a ‘fine dining at the Nags’ board advertising pork pie, pickled onion & mustard for £3. I enjoyed my brief stay and would have it on the list for next time. Could be even better with a slightly more adventurous selection and an up-to-date blackboard.

On 26th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]

Page: 1 2