User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Admiral Benbow, Shrewsbury

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
24 Swan Hill
Shrewsbury
SY1 1NF

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Admiral Benbow

A brick built building slightly away from the town centre on Swan Hill this pub, which was the former Benbow Hotel, does not open till 5.00 pm during the week.
Internally it is an L shaped room with a small separate snug room as described below. A decent beer selection as also described below and the Salopian Hop Twister was very good indeed. This was a very good concluding pub for me on the recent Pubs Galore crawl of Shrewsbury.

On 27th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Admiral Benbow

Externally, this is a somewhat sombre brick built double-fronted end of terrace town centre pub, once the Benbow Hotel.
Inside it gives a slightly upmarket though traditional feel with candles on the tables, something of a novelty for Shrewsbury.
I plumped for a half of Wood's Shropshire Lad, a name taken from A. E. Housman's eponymous poem, at £1.70 and fine.
This is certainly one for the pub traditionalist and ale drinker alike, therefore worthy of an inclusion on any crawl or even a prolonged stay.

On 25th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 997 recommendations about 982 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Admiral Benbow

A traditional style pub, which was carpeted throughout, low tables and chairs and comfortable bench seating around the perimeter of the main lounge. The bar area was finished in dark mahogany and the main service was from the back room, however I found a decent position in the front part of the main lounge, where I ordered my beers through a small hatch whilst perched on a bar stool. There was a good selection of fairly local ales, so I settled on the Ludlow Gold, which was decent and warranted a second pint, even at the end of the days crawl.

On 24th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Admiral Benbow

A comfortable old pub just off the town centre which is mainly open in the evenings and has a laid-back sort of feel, added to by the candlelight. A fair selection of changing ales, mainly local, are on handpump, plus a cider.

On 20th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Admiral Benbow

Strangely not open until 5pm on a Friday,but a very decent ale house awaits inside.There are two section in the front of the pub served by an L shaped bar.Through the corridor there is a strange little snug with limited seating plus darts board and a serving hatch,ring the school playground bell if you want service here.Outside there is a good sized courtyard.
It was busy by 6.30pm and I noted 7 handpumps offering Rosie Pig cider,Ludlow Gold,Three Tuns IPA,Woods Shropshire Lad,Wye Valley HPA,Hobsons Town Crier and Salopian Hop Twister (NBSS 3.5).
One not to miss out on when in town,I enjoyed my brief stay and would spend longer in here on my next visit.

On 20th October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Admiral Benbow

One main room with a fair sized outside area which was being well used. Various real ale pumps, this strongest of which was 4.5% ABV. There also were ciders on offer which were stronger.

On 14th May 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Wilkinson left this review about Admiral Benbow

Visited this pub a few weeks ago with my work friend. Pub was recommended from people who had visited Shrewsbury in the past. Got the feeling from the older female staff that if you don't come from Shrewsbury or of the young well to do young person you are not made to welcome. Ordered two glasses wine which was overpriced and served by a blond woman with a sour face on her. The impression I got was if you are not a local or a member of the Shrewsbury elite (words I use lightly) you would be advised to spend your money in some other bar in Shrewsbury.

On 11th May 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Admiral Benbow

Packed to the rafters during the Rugby World Cup final, so it was difficult to take in the undoubted merits of this side-street pub. Two-part bar area supplemented by a rear room and sizeable side / rear patio beer garden. Lots of real ales and ciders on offer from a variety of handpumps, including Shropshire Sawn Off (£3.50).

On 21st November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Admiral Benbow

A largeish looking pub. I liked this pub and a good selection of 6 ales made it a worthwhile visit.

On 15th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Admiral Benbow

This is a small carpeted pub with a courtyard at the back and a second bar. It was late on a Wednesday evening when I got here so didn't get to note all the beers but I did see ciders, Six Bells Black Echo & Cloud Nine Gold and Ludlow Gold. I went for the Black Echo which was excellent.
I preferred the Coach and Horses nearby to this but it's still well worth a visit. It is GBG 2015 listed.

On 18th June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3