User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Six Bells, Bishops Castle

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Church Street
Bishops Castle
SY9 5AA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Six Bells

The Six Bells is at the bottom of the town's main drag and has two rooms of equal size around a central bar. It was quite busy for its size, with most tables taken. Everybody seemed to know one another. So, it's clearly a popular local.

The 3 regular real ales are Clun Loophole, Ludlow Gold & Three Tuns XXX. In addition, they also have a guest beer, which was Ludlow Blonde. But of more interest to me were the 2 boxes of Long Mynd Cider on the bar. This made my choice quite easy.

Friendly place and my favourite pub of 4 I tried in the town.

On 2nd November 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 434 recommendations about 434 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Six Bells

First visit and made to feel like a local. Stripped back country pub feel to the place with bench seating arranged around a log burner. Few high chairs at the bar.

Beers were all whats produced around the back and new to me. My Cloud Nine did not look as good as everyone else's Hero.

I'll try something different next time. And there will be a next time.

Visit Blogged at http://bit.ly/2ySHZxX

On 12th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 703 recommendations about 697 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Six Bells

Unlike the Three Tuns this was my first visit to this one. It's only a small place with a square room at the front and a lounge behind. I couldn't see any TVs which is a big plus.
The front room has four hand pumps and the lounge two all of which had Six Bells offerings. I tried the Cloud Nine and the Pig's Ear (both £3.00) which were in good nick.
This place is much more old school and friendly than the Three Tuns. I didn't think it was an exceptional pub but it is a very good one.

On 31st July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Six Bells

The second brew-pub in the town; nothing like as old as the Three Tuns of course, but still well known in its own right. Retains a traditional two-bar layout, with the busy smaller room being the hub of conversation, and the larger one being decorated in a less rustic style and furnished as a more formal dining room. Five of their own real ales on offer: Noggin, Ow do! (£2.95), Cloud Nine, the seasonal Winning Webb and Renaissance IPA.

On 21st November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6214 recommendations about 6214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Rowe left this review about The Six Bells

Another fabulous pub/brewery in Bishop's Castle. The barmaid was so friendly, we felt like regulars! Great beer in tip-top condition was the icing on the cake.

On 17th October 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 65 recommendations about 57 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Six Bells

A very busy spot this one, what with the locals and visitors making a beeline to Big Nevs. He is a big lad as well so you wouldn't want to upset him. All the ales are brewed on the premises which is fab. I tried all that was on offer, but to me they all tasted pretty much the same.

On 30th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Joe Hoyles left this review about The Six Bells

Great little Pub run by Big Nev. Brews some great Beer.A real small town pub.

On 14th December 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 15 recommendations about 15 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Six Bells

One of two brewpubs in town (the other being the Three Tuns), the 17th Century Six Bells is thankfully at the lower end of the steep hill. The current owner (Big Nev) opened the brewery in 1997 and core of 4 ales plus numerous specials and seasonals are available at the Six Bells as well as pubs in the wider area.

The interior is a lot smaller than you initially expect.and is divided into a main bar and lounge bar / dining room. The main bar is split by pew seating down the centre which doesn’t make it the best pub in the world to navigate around when busy but does give ample of opportunity of engaging in conversation with strangers during manouvres. The main feature is huge inglenook fireplace that feels like it isn going to swallow the entire room and the tiny stove that stands inside it is totally dwarfed. There are lots of old pictures on display and numerous certificates in respect of the multiple awards that have been bestowed upon the pub. There are no fruit machines, game machines, piped music or as far as I could see TV’s but you will find a selection of traditional pub games (dominoes, darts, cribbage boards etc).

Through the central lobby is the quite basic lounge bar which appears to be used more for dining purposes (the main bar was packed on my visit whist there was little overspill into the lounge). To the rear is a small unassuming patio which is really not much more than a smoker’s area.

There are generally 4 ales available - Goldings Best Bitter, Cloud Nine, Big Nev (sadly the man himself was absent on my visit) and Old Recumbant on my visit of which I tried the first 2 but could have gladly stayed for the remainder had time permitted.

Beer tourists to Bishops Castle will inevitably either start or finish their wanderings at the Six Bells depending on whether you wish to stagger up or down the hill to/from the Three Tuns (and a few inbetween) but either way, a trip to both is highly recommended.

On 20th November 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]