User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 17th November 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Ship Isis, Sunderland Central, Sunderland

26 Silksworth Row
Sunderland
SR1 3QR
Phone: 01915147684

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Ship Isis

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub with it's great ale selection. Chose Three Kings Dark Side and Fell Tinderbox IPA and both were fine.

On 11th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Old Boots left this review about Ship Isis

A multi roomed Victorian pub sadly with a recreated but very faithful interior. It ceased to be a pub and was used as an orphanage for some time and, so the manager told me, a "body store" during the seccond world war. Ten pulls of well kept local-ish beers, a Cider and a Perry. Great knowledgeable staff. Definitely one not to be missed.

On 12th May 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Ship Isis

I have paid several visits to The Isis pub over the last couple of years and it is a place I enjoy going back to when in Sunderland. An impressive 10 pumps at the bar, and at the time of my most recent visit one of these was off and one was serving cider. This is a Cameron's pub and I have noticed there are usually a couple of their beers on with the rest being guests. On my most recent visit the pub was pretty much empty, the lass behind the bar looked a bit bored and presumably the older lady propping up the far end of the bar was the manager. I have, however, been in when this pub has been very busy, so if nothing else it's nice to be able to get a seat! I had a White Rabbit which was a Cameron's collaboration white stout, and £1.80 for a half. Unfortunately I found it a bit odd and did not really taste like a stout. I have definitely had better examples of pale stouts before this. However the pub still gets a 9 from me, you could spend hours looking at the interior with its impressive and imposing dark wood bar and marvelling at the different beer choices on offer. There is keg stuff available too which I did not pay too much attention to, but everything is listed on a big chalk board behind the bar. Definitely one to seek out when in Sunderland, in my opinion.

On 12th April 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 437 recommendations about 404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Isis

This pub, also known as Ship Isis, dates back to the 1880's and was taken over by the Jarrow Brewery in 2011 after a period of closure. However, the brewery sadly went out of business recently and the pub has been picked up by Cameron's Brewery, who, judging from the reviews below, have kept things much as they were. The entrance takes you into a passageway from which a door to the right leads into the main bar area. This is a grand room with a high ceiling, dark wood panelling and lincrusta wallpaper above, creating a smart, traditional look and feel. The servery runs down the left hand side with a boxy dark wood counter and an amazing bar back which seemed to be loosely styled around a ship's head with some large figurehead plaster statues at either end, mirror inserts and some decorative detailed touches in the woodwork. Large lamp posts run along the counter and there is a smart brass canopy and shiny keg fonts to admire. Seating is mostly arranged down the right hand side, with some good standing room to the rear, and most options appeared to be of the sturdy, well-made variety. There was a good mix of local photographs and old-school breweriana on the walls, all in keeping with the room's classy look and the huge ceiling mounted light fixtures were swamped with hops, in a nod to the pub's beer-led approach. Low-tempo jazz and blues music played during my visit and there was a good buzz from those in on a Saturday night. The entrance corridor also leads to a separate lounge area, but sadly I neglected to visit this room before departing.
The ale range was up there with anything seen elsewhere in the city, as a long row of handpulls offered a wide selection including Rudgate Ruby Mild, Hadrian Border Reviers IPA, Fell Tinder Box, Ilkley Fireside Porter and Credence American Pale. My pint of the latter was excellent and having placed my order with a barmaid, a very friendly chap who I took to be the manager intervened to ask if I was a CAMRA member, thus helping me make a small saving on the cost of my pint.
I really liked the feel of this place which seemed like an oasis of calm on a Saturday evening in Sunderland. The beer was outstanding, the welcome warm and friendly, the interior comfortable and attractive and the ambiance of the sort that makes you want to settle down for a long session. This is a great place and should be an essential port of call for anyone looking to take in some good pubs in Sunderland.

On 25th February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2342 recommendations about 2342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Isis

Splendid old pub renovated by Jarrow brewery in 2011, not sure how much retro they added but it certainly looks the part. Lobby area on entering with bar to right featuring high ceilings, wood panelling, ships wheel adorned with hops, ornate carved wood bar upper, white marble maidens either side holding it aloft and a general air of old grandeur. Shame about Coldplay and the fruit machine spoiling the ambience. To the right of the lobby are two doors leading into another room, which is amazing - a gentleman's club with red leather banquettes, sherry barrel stools, wood panelling, chesterfields, turn-of-the-century black and white prints. Quiet in here, no music or bleeps. Twelve pumps with seven ales (mainly local) and three ciders in the main bar and my Jarrow Rivet Catcher was in fine form. Also a decent keg range with Chouffe, Liefmans and Brooklyn lager as standouts. Really, really good.

On 26th June 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Isis

Currently unfortunately named, but this is not a recruitment centre for Muslim Extremists, its a plush, high ceilinged listed building, almost Fullers like. Large mirrors behind the bar. Tastefully done there are 7 real ales and 3 real ciders, however the beer is served slightly warm. Beers includes 3 from Jarrow who own the place.

On 25th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Isis

This pub dates from 1885 and the frontage is Grade II listed. The pub stood empty for a couple of years until Jarrow Brewery took it over and restored it back to it's Victorian splendour in 2011. The pub features high ceilings downstairs as well as the upstairs rooms. Three Jarrow ales on handpump, plus 6 guest and 3 real ciders. The ales here were excellent and the pub is well kept.

On 24th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2903 recommendations about 2903 pubs]