User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Date for Summer 2022 crawl in Winchester. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Cock Inn, Leek

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
19 Derby Street
Leek
ST13 6HN
Phone: 01538388013

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Cock Inn

Attractive Joule's pub with a very traditional-looking L-shaped bar filled with plenty of the usual 'not as old as it looks' breweriana. There are also several additional side rooms, with comfortable furniture and light wood-panelling throughout. With all five handpumps in use, I found the small-batch Chocolate Corker stout (£4.20) and Beer Club #1002 in addition to the expected Pale Ale, Pure Blonde and Slumbering Monk.

On 21st March 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7021 recommendations about 7021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Cock Inn

A bit disappointing to find no guest ales but there was no problem with the Joules Kolkata beer we chose. There are a variety of rooms on different levels,

On 9th September 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Cock Inn

A nice enough Joules pub. Typical Joules interior with wood panelling everywhere and the usual Joules stylings inside. It's a multi-roomed place with 2 rooms to the rear, each of which are up a few steps. All 5 handpumps were on and all 5 dispensed Joules beers only today.

On 4th May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3447 recommendations about 3354 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Cock Inn

This is a more old school pub than the Roebuck opposite. It's an L shaped room with the bar on the right as you enter. The floors are wooden with a few alcoves. At the rear is a raised dining room.
The bar has five hand pumps with an extra one at the end selling Bass. The others had Joule's Pale, Golden and Slumbering Monk with Sarah Hughes Ruby Mild as a guest. I went for the Slumbering Monk (£3.20) which was in excellent condition.
This was a very good pub but is up against strong opposition from the Roebuck opposite, the Wilkes Head and even the Spoons.

On 1st June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Cock Inn

I really liked this Joules pub, and not just because one of the guest ales was Sarah Hughes Dark Ruby Mild in excellent condition. The atmosphere was great and the landlord friendly and knowledgeable about his beers. We started with the 3 Joules beers and decided we may as well have lunch here from the menu with lots of reasonably priced baps and oatcake meals. The pub itself has many different drinking areas, and a large outside drinking area. The other beer available was Thornbridge Jaiper. Will find time for another visit while staying in Leek.

On 4th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Cock Inn

This Joules Brewery pub is well worth a visit. It consists of a central bar and has lots of good drinking areas. The front bar has original beams dating back 300 years, when the building was first built. There was an open fire, oak panelling and oak floors. There were three Joules ales on offer, Slumbering Monk, Joules Pale Ale and Joules Blond. I went for the Pale Ale and the Joules Blonde, which were superb. The pub serves food and opens at 10 daily, 12 on Sundays. Will defo return.

On 17th January 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Cock Inn

The Cock Inn is on one of Leeks main shopping streets.
This was a fairly smart and normal type pub i went in the room at the front and ime not sure if there were any more rooms.
There were a couple of handpumps on the bar but only one had beer on this was Jennings Cumberland and on my visit it tasted a bit off which surpsised me has this seemed a decent pub.

On 7th December 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


sam ward left this review about The Cock Inn

Finally a pub worth visiting in the town centre.after years of neglect,misuse and mismanagement the Cock in is in capable hands again.The ale is on form the food is good and the atmosphere is buzzing.

On 9th July 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Anthony Barnett left this review about The Cock Inn

Always liked this place - welcoming and well kept, a friendly crowd, good drink, what more could you wish for.

Anthony James Barnett - author of WITHOUT REPROACH

On 2nd April 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 12 recommendations about 12 pubs]