User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Market Tavern, Atherstone

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
21 Market Street
Atherstone
CV9 1ET

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Market Tavern

This old-fashioned ale pub overlooking the square certainly looks the business. Features simple furniture and decor in the main bar, but the real fire was a distinct benefit on a cool autumn evening. Also has a smaller, plainer and pumpless bar behind the servery and a few small metal tables out on the pavement. Five of six handpumps in use, with three Warwickshire beers - Darling Buds (£2.90), Yer Bard and Kingmaker - plus Summer Lovin from Milestone and Old Rosie Cider.

On 19th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Market Tavern

The Market Tavern is a nice looking white painted pub.
Once inside there is an oblong shaped room to the front with the bar facing,the room is bare boarded and the seating normal tables and chairs,there was a real fire on the go which is always nice to see,there is a separate room to the rear.
There were four real ales on the bar that i noted,i had a drink of Clarks Westgate Gold which went down well in a nice pub,the other beers were Warwickshire Lady Godiva / Golden Best and Hobgoblin.
There was some quiet background music playing,there is a TV to the front.
The pub was very busy on my latish Saturday afternoon visit,i quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 25/10/2014

On 25th October 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Market Tavern

ORIGINAL REVIEW March 2010
This is a great pub with a real problem. The atmosphere is cosy, it's wood clad, floor, ceilings and beams, no muzak and no machines. The staff are friendly and knowledgable.
The problem is that it's a Warwickshire Beer Company tied house. When we visited they had on 5 WBC ales and a guest from the Shardlow Brewery. We tried each of the Warwickshire ales, except the Best, and couldn't face a second pint of any of them. They all appeared well kept and were clean and crisp but they all had a heavy woody flavour and an unpleasant sour tang as an aftertaste. The WBC brewer needs to taste some of his own ales.
So if you want a great pub in Atherstone then this is it as long as you don't want to drink real ale.

UPDATE November 2012

The Market Tavern has been significantly spruced up since my last visit with fresh paint, new pictures and new furniture. The layout remains the same but there's now a real fire, lit on our visit, in the updated fire place and a couple of large settles against the right hand wall.
It remains a warm, friendly and very pleasant place to be while watching the world pass by in the market square.
The beer issue mentioned before is still very much a problem. On our visit Warwickshire Beer Co Lady Godiva, Golden Bear and Churchyard Bob were on along with Hobgoblin and 2 of the handpumps were unused. Although marginally better than previously, everything we tried from WBC was sweet, tangy and very difficult to drink to be honest.
A huge shame as it's a great pub and well run but the beer really does seem to be putting people off and I won't be returning in the near future.

On 12th November 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Market Tavern

Soupy describes the interior very well,it was pleasant to see a real fire in the Victorian fireplace in the front room on a cold evening.Several of the handpumps were not in use,with Hobgoblin the only guest.The Warwickshire Beer Co. brews have a house style which is fine if you like sweet ale with a strong caramel flavouring and minimal hop character but that's not for me.The pub was noticeably quiet despite hosting a quiz night,compared to the days when it was a free house.The loud muzak failed to lift the atmosphere.Despite an authentic interior and good refurb,this was a one pint visit before departing for better options in town.

On 10th November 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Market Tavern

A terraced pub ran by the Warwickshire Beer Co and formerly known as the Cricketer's Arms. The building to one side is somewhat taller, while the other, seems somewhat grander, but this is a nice Georgian three storey building in white render, with black paintwork. The upper levels have 6 and 12 pane sash windows with rusticated quoin stones. The lower frontage has larger sash windows and a pilastered entrance (as well as a side entrance). There is a small patio at the front and a larger beer garden at the back.

Interior has a couple of rooms (although technically open plan) served by a central island bar. The bar is at the front and looks out onto the market place. The decor, having been refurbished, has coffee, brown and wood panel walls, with a white and beam ceiling, supported by a central column, and there is a wood floor. The seats are a mix of perimter and chairs at tables and in stripes and brown. There are pewter tankards, a real mix of pictures on the walls and a street lamp in the corner for interest. There was a TV, which was actually supplying soft background music via Heart FM. The service was friendly and there were a couple of others in as it was early afternoon. The louge, at the back, is in a peach colour (i think) with wood panel and with a wood floor. It too was decorated with mirrors and pictures.

Beer; the usual tap stuff with WBC's Kingmaker (decent), St Patrick's MILD (decent), Duck Soup (was off, changed without quibble), along with Hobgoblin and decent Milestone's Crusader as guests.

I really enjoyed my stop off here. WBC beers have improved over the years in my opinion and the place does guest beers too. A definite return place and one you could stop in for hours.

On 22nd March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Geoff Ollerton left this review about The Market Tavern

The Market Tavern in Atherstone was voted the 4th best pub in England a while back and little wonder. It's a great pub with great REAL ALES. My, nay our, favourite of them being the Lady Godiva. Can't wait to return there once again.

On 16th April 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]