User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

The George Wallis, Wolverhampton Central, Wolverhampton

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
11-15 Victoria Street
Wolverhampton
WV1 3NP
Phone: 01902426892

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Delboy 20 left this review about The George Wallis

Another Spoon like Wolvo offering which is open early as well. Silhill brewery North Star black ale and Robinsons Trooper on when I called. The North Star was in good shape. Ok to pop in for one and I would call again.

On 8th January 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 928 recommendations about 897 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The George Wallis

Stonegate version of a Spoons and not dissimilar apart from many sports TV screens and background music, luckily neither being intrusive at time of visit. Otherwise typical, bland interior. Upstairs there is a smaller bar available for functions. On the handpumps were Doom Bar, Hobgoblin, Proper Job and a Slaters. No real cider apparent though.

On 8th November 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2047 recommendations about 2002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The George Wallis

While this does rather resemble a Spoons it's like one of the worst Lloyds outlets as it had music playing and TVs literally everywhere. There is also an idiot booth at the rear which is an ominous sign for a weekend evening. There were lots of people in mostly eating on a Saturday afternoon.
There were six hand pumps which had one available soon, Marston Lancaster Bomber, Thornbridge Jaipur, Holden's Golden Glow, Doom Bore and Bateman's Mellow Yellow. I went for the Golden Glow (£2.52 discounted) which was in good nick.
I'd rather go to a genuine Spoons than this place and wouldn't return.

On 17th September 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The George Wallis

As everyone says it's a Spoons-a-like, so spoonsish I nearly gave the barman a Camra voucher but he asked if I had a Camra card so embarrassment was spared all round. 6 pulls of national stuff, drinkable but nowt special. Loads of screens showing football games and some cricket, ironically there’s a sports themed bar upstairs apparently. Not sure CCTV in the gents is entirely nice.

On 9th September 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The George Wallis

Very Spoons like with some reasonable ale. Pity it was packed with Wolves fans.

On 2nd January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1474 recommendations about 1472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The George Wallis

Definitely a Wethers-a-like. 5 handpumps on the bar dispensed 5 ales of which I tried the Springhead Ginger Pig which tasted of neither pig nor ginger and very much like a bunch of rosemary and lavender. An open plan place that isn't great but isn't bad.

On 7th April 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3367 recommendations about 3283 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The George Wallis

Aparently a Litten Tree pub but its more Wetherspoonsy than Wetherspoons inside with its furnishings and layout! It won't win any awards for architecture but its actually nicer than the 'Spoons, a much better effort and feels nice inside for what it is.

6 real ales including one from Woods, a Banks' Howling Wolf and a stout.

On 12th November 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Litten Tree

A predominantly glass frontaged Litten Tree chain pub/eatery set under a dreary 1960s office block. Has a nice view of the bus stops.

The interior is an L-shaped open plan room with a raised section and a DJ area with dance floor. The large wood serving bar is to the right on entry. The decor is a safe cream and piney wood panel, with a mix of wood, stone flag and carpet flooring. The ceiling is cream. The place is populated mainly by food tables, but i haven't eaten here so can't comment on that, although there are some leather comfy seats. There are lots of silent TVs showing footy and Sky Sports News etc. A few pictures and posters break the walls. The service was fine and the clientele small but mixed at my visit.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Bombardier, Woods Shropshire Lass, Shropshire Lad and Enville White on handpull. Had a quick half of the Enville which was better than i expected.

An experience that i expected to be dull turned into something a lot better - i wish i had had the time to try the Woods's beers, but will return to do so. I echo the Monster's review below - i would return!

On 6th March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Litten Tree

This is a modern city centre bar that is owned by the Town and City Pub Company, it was previously a shop until around fifteen years ago. It has one open plan room with a bar counter against the right hand wall in the back corner, a raised area on the left with booths and a hand rail which divides it from the rest of the room, a second raised area in the back left corner which has a large projector screen on the back wall. Also against the back wall in the middle of the room is a large DJ’s booth and in the front right corner are some leather sofas. The décor is contemporary with lots of pine and mirrors, I counted six large flat screen TV’s dotted around the room and I believe that most televised football matches are regularly shown here.

Regular ale is Wells Bombardier with three changing guest beers, which on this occasion were Woods Shropshire Lad, RCH Pitchfork and Salopian Requiem Porter (Cask Marque). I think the Shropshire lad was just past its best but the other three were in good condition, over the last two years this has become a bit of a well kept secret, the landlord changed six months ago but carried on the good work regarding proper beer and its £2.00 a pint for card carrying CAMRA members.

I’m not usually a big fan of modern bars but the beer selection and quality were good so I would pop in again for a pint or two. I think that this is a definite indication that younger people are becoming more educated and selective about what they drink, if a “trendy bar” such as this can sell four real ales then the future is looking bright.

On 7th February 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Litten Tree

Called in here last night and was suprised to see 3 new handpumps on the bar. There were two ales on, Bombardier and Deuchars. I asked for a pint of the Bombardier. The girl serving had little or no idea how to serve the beer but after a request for a top up (she tried to serve me a pint with a 2 inch head) I found the quality to be surprisingly good. A major step forwards for this pub. I'm going to have to up my rating by a point or two. Keep it going guys.

On 7th July 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2746 recommendations about 2674 pubs]