User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Hogshead, Wolverhampton

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
186 Stafford Street
Wolverhampton
WV1 1NA
Phone: 01902717955

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Hogshead

Yet another of Stonegate's town centre pubs, targetting students from the nearby university. What was once the Vine Inn according to the exterior brickwork has been gutted and refurbished in distressed wood and tiling, divided up into separate areas with numerous sports TVs. There is a largish enclosed yard at the rear for outdoor drinkers. An excellent range of beers though, with 9 or 10 ales of the more-interesting variety on, plus a number of craft keg offerings.

On 8th November 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Hogshead

The Good Beer Guide throws up these random entries. You wouldn't think for a minute that this chainy looking pub would be in it.

However, there was a good choice of around 6 real ales on and my wainwright was superb.

Not sure the decor, ambiance or experience is my cup of tea but worth a visit for the tick.

On 30th June 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Hogshead

An open plan pub with 10 handpumps serving 8 beers on this visit. Its ok but not great and it does seem very sport orientated. The beer selection was pretty good though most people were drinking lager only.

On 8th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Hogshead

Having decided to try the other GBG listed pubs in Wolverhampton other than the excellent Great Western (my normal watering hole when in these parts),and having been disppointed with the real ale options that we found,this was a desperate last throw of the dice.It's large,it's a sports bar,it's full of young people but thankfully there is commitment to a range of real ale with a mix of national brands and some local micros,most of which I failed to note .However like a beacon in a sea of despair ,I spied Oakham Citra which was in excellent form and flew down.So much better than you might assume from the outside,give this pub a go.It's a lot better than several other GBG listed pubs in town.

On 7th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Hogshead

Originally built in 1885, this place traded as the Vine Hotel (see stained glass pane near the front entrance) until 1983 when it closed and was converted to office use. The imposing street corner building eventually returned to pub use in the late 1990's, forming part of the Hogshead chain, and it still trades under this name today. My visit was rather poorly timed, as I found myself descending on the pub alongside several hundred disgruntled Wolverhampton Wanderers fans, so that the place was packed to bursting, making it very difficult to get served. Thankfully the pub is well equipped for such a scenario, with plenty of vertical drinking space and an efficient bar team helping greatly. The pub has a large single room set up, bare boarded for the most part, with the bar running the length of the back wall. The servery is fairly functional with not much going for it - a TV screen acts as the centrepiece to the bar back and a large pump clip collection has spilled out across the bar back and down the right hand wall. Numerous pillars and sections of wall break up the sight lines through the room, hinting at a possible previous layout. A raised carpeted seating area under the front windows allows for some comfortable table and chair groupings, whilst a few high tables and stools fill the space in front of the bar. The room has a classic red and cream colour scheme but very little in the way of visual distraction apart from several TV screens showing Sky Sports News and a live football match.
This pub sets itself apart from other Hogshead venues by virtue of an excellent beer policy which saw nine cask ales and a small selection of craft keg beers available on this visit. The handpulls were dispensing Holden's Bitter and Golden Glow, Kinver Edge (£2.90), Black Ram and Full Centurion, Springhead Drop of the Black Stuff and Robin Hood, Exmoor Stag and Robinsons Trooper, whilst the keg taps offered several interesting beers including two from Brewdog. My pint of Kinver Edge was very lively and it took a bit of skilful pouring to fill the glass, but thankfully it tasted fine. The pub's commitment to real ale was recognised by the local CAMRA branch who made it their Pub of the Year for 2013.
It was hard to get a proper feel for this place when it was so crowded, but despite giving the initial impression of being a bit of a drinking barn, the atmosphere was notably different to your average city centre chain bar and I got the feeling that this place has found a good way of attracting a wide cross section of the community. The good beer alone makes this place worth checking out and it is a dead cert to include on any crawl around town.

On 14th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Hogshead

I was surprised to find that this was an original old pub as my addled recollection is that the interior wasn't very "pubby" but rather like a shop conversion. I also completely forgot about the CAMRA discount.
My handwriting was so bad by this point that I failed to note all the beers on offer. I went for the Brain's Ryecatcher which was decidedly vinegary and was changed for Titanic Stout however with the member of bar staff trying to tell me that it was like that because it's a "craft" beer. The Stout was in perfect condition. The pub seemed OK to me but it's a bit worrying the fact that one of the beers had turned to vinegar.

On 15th June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Hogshead

This large corner pub is owned by the Stonegate Pub Company. To me this pub is worth a look in, as they have a good range of nine ales on handpump. The prices they were charging were also reasonable and also you can get a Camra discount. The barman who served us was very helpful and knowledgeable about the ales he was serving. We went for the Potbelly brewery Redwing and Broughs Brewery Springfield. We too noticed the stained glass panel over the entrance.

On 13th November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Hogshead

Actually called the Hog's Head since the downfall of the chain, this has kept up its serving of a good selection of real ales. Its a real ale bar done in a modern way, a fine high ceilinged night time City Centre bar, that is a great mix of styles and a fine place for meeting and drinking.

The beer is ducking slighhtly and does need a lick of paint, but not worried, it still appears to encompass the original spirit

On 12th November 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Hogshead

A bit like a better 'spoons in looks and atmosphere although I guess it was part of Whitbread's Hogshead chain at one time. Tall light wood furniture in one area, more standard size on a raised area with a balustrades, plus the screens tuned to sports with the sound off is rather reminiscent. There is also plenty choice of beers with nine ale pumps plus a cider on a tenth, condition was fine as well. Its got a pool table at one end and a couple of bandits. Reasonably busy on an early afternoon I expect it will get rammed in the evenings, not a bad pub and quite central.

On 8th October 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Hogshead

Large town centre drinking den, housed in attractive building built in 1894 as The Vine (note the nice stained glass above the doorway). I went in due to the promise of eight ales on the go according to the Good Beer Guide, with a CAMRA discount (10%) advertised at the bar. There was a decent selection of local and national brands available plus a real cider (Old Rosie). My Williams Red was £2.20 and was a bit vinegary - I got it exchanged for Mad Goose but there was clearly a bit of tardiness about it from bar side and it wasn’t taken off in the 20 minutes I was there. Outside of the ale, this is a typical town centre drinking barn – large open plan layout, loud music and muted SKY Sports. A quiz night was advertised and the place is apparently is very popular with the students, this being pretty much the first place they hit from the walk into town from campus and cheap to boot.

I wasn’t overly impressed given the quality of the other pubs I’d also done that day. You pays your money and you takes your chances...

On 19th June 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]

Page: 1 2