User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th Decenber 2019) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Trackside, Bury Central, Bury

Pub added by Andrew Evans
Bolton Street
Bury
BL9 0EY

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Trackside

Unfortunately no sign of any steam locos on our visit, still the beer was good. We went for the Boilerhouse Craft Pale at £2.50 a pint which was in good condition. I don't think you can go far wrong with the beers in here as the place is always busy, so the turn over of beer must be quite rapid. The pub had a choice of 12 ales on handpump and the place also serves some food.

On 9th March 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Trackside Bar

I agree that this is the pub that justifies a visit to Bury. It's a bit of a shed like building alongside the East Lancs Railway platforms. It has a red and black tiled floor and the shed joists are covered with pump clips.
There are now 12 hand pumps that were all going on my Friday afternoon visit with beers from Saltaire, Squawk, Moorhouse and numerous others. I went for the Rammy Craft Mango Beach (£3.50) which was in good nick.
Once again the prezzy railway brigade have come up with a real winner.

On 22nd October 2018 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steven Holt left this review about Trackside Bar

As Al says, best pub in Bury. Piston Broke the regular house beer, always very good, plus an ever changing choice. You just can't beat it.

On 2nd August 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 7 recommendations about 7 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Trackside Bar

The best pub in Bury. 10 real ales to choose from. Sit outside and you're next to a railway line complete with steam train.

On 23rd July 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3376 recommendations about 3293 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Trackside Bar

Ten hand pumps serving real ales, which are listed on a blackboard to the left of the bar - letters denote approximate beer styles, with "pale" predominating, accounting for seven out of 10, including the regular Outstanding Piston Broke. In addition there were six real ciders, brought from a stillage behind the bar. I tried the Piston Broke and the one dark beer on the menu, Stockport Brewery's Stock Porter. Both beers were in good condition, and I can imagine aficianados of pale beers would stay for a longer session than I did. As a pub it has the atmosphere of a subdued beer festival, but if that's what floats your boat, go for it.

On 30th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2458 recommendations about 2320 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Trackside Bar

Called in several times since my last review. The last time being after the beer festival again. A top notch selection of well kept ales, quick and friendly service. On top form again.

20/11/2010
Called in after the Bury Beer Festival. It seemed to have lost its way a bit last time we called in, but we had been told that it was now back at its best. They were right. Eight ales on handpump plus a couple of real ciders. The board on the wall tells you the ABV and whether the beer is light or dark. Both the beers we had were in top condition. It's a long room like most station buffets with the bar at one end. Basic dining style tables & chairs throughout and the walls & ceiling are covered in pump clips. To reach the toilets you have to leave the bar and go along the platform. They're a friendly bunch in here and it's a pleasant place to go for a pint. Listed in the GBG 2011.

On 18th December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2762 recommendations about 2689 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Trackside Bar

called in this fine little bar on a cold and wet wed to find a very nice little place with well kept beer and nice staff what more could you want cheers

On 23rd October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 91 recommendations about 82 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Trackside Bar

This really is a real ale lover’s paradise. There were nine ales on from diverse breweries, and when one of the ales went off it was replaced immediately by something else, which is a sign of a well managed pub. I had pints of the Kelham Island Pale Rider and Outstanding Beer Co (a local brewery according to the barman) Trackside Broke Piston. Both were in superb nick, and prices ranged from £2.30 to £2.80. I didn’t see any sign of food or menus, but it was doing a very good trade with real ale drinkers during my mid afternoon visit on Tuesday.
The pub is located in a building located on one of the platforms at the old Bury Burton St railway station. The building itself is purpose built and relatively new, and is built in the traditional style of a railway booking office. This line is apparently no longer part of the national railway network, but is owned and utilised by railway enthusiasts. The bar itself is fairly long and narrow, which is inevitable being housed in a building looking like a booking office. The ceiling is covered by hundreds of pump clips, as testimony to its ever changing ale policy. Furnishings are normal tables and chairs down both sides of a central aisle – a bit like a train I suppose. I spotted a small TV on one of the walls (switched off) and there no fruit machines, games machines, etc. There are also a fair number of picnic benches outside on the platform.
There’s no reason to visit here unless you want to visit somewhere seemingly dedicated to the provision of an impressive selection of well kept ale at decent prices. Therefore it’s a must visit pub for any discerning drinker visiting Bury.

On 24th September 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2555 recommendations about 2473 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Trackside Bar

Called in on Tuesday and found a good selection of 9 ales, all listed on a board with indicators to show whether light or dark and the prices as well. Selected 3 ales new to me, 1 from Batemans and 2 from Acorn brewery, plus one from Moles. All in good condition and served by friendly staff.

On 21st January 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andrew Evans left this review about Trackside Bar

Fantastic Real Ale Pub, situated on the East Lancs Steam Railway platform.
You'd think you were back in the sixties!

On 5th February 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 151 recommendations about 149 pubs]