User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

GW, Swindon

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
73 Station Road
Swindon
SN1 1DH
Phone: 01793694997

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about GW

Modern bar in a small hotel opposite the station, with a bright if somewhat featureless open plan interior. At the back is a well-maintained courtyard area. Three ales from Arkells seemed very well-kept. Handy if waiting for a train, as there is a departure screen provided.

On 28th June 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2268 recommendations about 2216 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about G W Hotel Bar & Grill

Massively modernized Arkells pub/hotel, could still smell the newness. Island bar with fake slate tiled front, modern pale shades abound in the décor. Live train departure board, selection of papers. Three Arkells ales on: Wilts Gold, 3B and Tinge of Ginge. I tried a half of the latter which was unusually palatable for an Arkells beer and served in pretty good shape, if perhaps a tad cold. Perhaps a bit soulless at present (the refurb needs to bed down) but worth a look. 6.5

On 10th July 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The G W Hotel Bar and Grill

You wouldn't guess from the outside, but this large Arkells hotel bar has a bright modern interior with various seating areas. Also has a pool table and two dart boards plus a large rear patio. Beer availability varies, with two of three handpumps on during my recent visit in both the upper and lower bars - Wiltshire Gold and 3B (£3.00). Overall, not a bad spot for a pint if waiting for a train from the nearby station.

On 3rd March 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The G W Hotel Bar and Grill

A spacious, airy and modern renovation of the old Great Western Hotel, and as such part of Swindon's railway heritage. The atmosphere was lively (bearing in mind it was mid-afternoon when I went in), although some of the clientele were a bit irritating - business "walts", "ladies what lunch" and two people (presumably of opposite sex) trying to eat each other. The staff was pleasant, if a little amateurish. All that aside, the beer was well kept - Donnington Brewery Founder's Day was most enjoyable. There were also two Arkells on, but I didn't have time to try them as my train was due. Well worth dropping in while waiting for a train, or a good place to start/end a town crawl.

On 5th August 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2600 recommendations about 2573 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


an_ ecumenical_matter left this review about The G W Hotel Bar and Grill

Surly landlord,sulky staff,untidy,cloudy low measured ales and full of office idiots who don't really know why they're there. Still to be avoided.

28 August 2009
Asked for a 3B's but it was off. New barrel was put on with by surly manager type with several tut tuts as if it was my fault it had run out. Less that adequate amount of beer was pulled through,though with no water to flush out the dregs of the previous barrel. Had to take the pint back because it was cloudy and got questioned and had the whole staff examine it before it was replaced by a clearer though less than full pint. Don't bother.

On 4th December 2009 - rating: 2
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 38 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The G W Hotel Bar and Grill

The Great Western now shortend to G W is Arkells flagship pub opposite the train station.
The pub has been opened out inside and now has a large room that has lots of different drinking areas this has bare pine boards.
There were three real ales on the bar i had a drink of Arkells 3B and this was very nice the other beers were Arkells 2B and Kingsdown Ale.
I have been here quite a few times while waiting for a train and have usually found a seat towards the back of the pub where it is a bit quieter.

Pub visited 29/9/2001

On 29th September 2001 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]