User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Justice Mill (Lloyds No 1 Bar), Aberdeen

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
423-425 Union Street
Aberdeen
AB11 6DA
Phone: 01224252410

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 4 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Justice Mill (Lloyds No 1 Bar)

The Justice Mill is a long thin Wetherspoons. The six hand pumps on the long bar were drawing Inveralmond Lia Fail, Oakham Ales JHB, Brains SA, GK Abbot Ale, Snails bank Rhubarb and Deuchars during my recent Monday evening visit. A standard and premium keg range was also available. The usual cheap food menu with meal deals was present, as were the muted TV’s showing rolling news.

On 15th July 2019 - rating: 3
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Justice Mill (Lloyds No 1 Bar)

This is a large modern feeling Wetherspoons at the opposite end of Union Street from the Archibald Simpson. The pub has a long but relatively narrow interior that is unfortunately devoid of any particularly interesting features. Entering from Union Street, you find yourself in the front seating area with lots of standard tables and chairs, plus a few banquette booths to choose from. The servery appears mid-way through the pub, just past the tell-tale sign of a DJ booth. The bar is very long and the handpulls have been split into three separate banks, all quite some distance apart, so you need to pretty much walk the full length of the bar to figure out exactly what beers are on. Opposite the bar, high tables and stools fill the space whilst a long banquette runs along the right-hand wall with a lot of the locals perched along its length. The rear part of the room has space for quite a few more tables and chairs in an area decorated with plain mirrors and local photographs. At the very back of the room, there is a high metal ceiling with huge floor to ceiling windows looking out over the houses behind. There is also a staircase which leads down to a rear entrance at the back of the pub. There are plenty of TV screens throughout the pub, including one large screen, all tuned to the usual muted rolling news channel.
The ale range here is a bit more modest than in their other Union Street branch, with just three guest ales and three ‘Spoons regulars to choose from. I ended up with a pint of Oakham JHB which was okay, although I’ve definitely had this beer served to me in much better condition this year.
I didn’t particularly warm to this place, which I found a little stale, characterless and formulaic for my liking. It does offer the chance to find some interesting ales, but there are other pubs not too far from here that also cater for that need and in more interesting, comfortable surrounds than this.

On 13th July 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2494 recommendations about 2494 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Justice Mill (Lloyds No 1 Bar)

Incredibly long and narrow Wetherspoon with blaring sports, neon lighting and cackling locals. The interior is split into three sections, both the end parts are a bit quieter with the Lloyds No1 nightclubby bit in the middle. Two banks of three pumps with half an acre between them and after all that there was only Caledonian Edinburgh Castle as a genuine guest (it was at least in good nick). Not worth the trudge down Union Street, the Archibald is much better for your Spoons fix. This one is a bit of a rotter.

On 20th March 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Justice Mill (Lloyds No 1 Bar)

This Spoons is a full blown Lloyds as there was music playing when I arrived on a Tuesday evening. Like many of these outlets it no longer has the Lloyds branding outside. It's been well described below and I didn't even venture into the Justice Mill Street part of it. I saw what looked like a large idiot booth next to the bar. It wasn't that busy.
It may no longer have the external Lloyds branding but it has the common problem with many of these outlets of a rubbish beer choice. The two sets of three hand pumps had the Scottish JDW Trio Of Doom, one unused, Stewart Cross Fire and Windswept Blonde. I went for the Cross Fire which was completely rank and I returned it. The only credible replacement was the Windswept Blonde (£2.19) which wasn't rank. When I returned to the bar for a bottle of Green Devil the Cross Fire didn't even have the clip turned.
The most incredible thing about this dump is that it's GBG 2018 listed. I certainly wouldn't return as the Archibald Simpson is the better of the two Aberdeen JDWs by miles.

On 18th September 2017 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Justice Mill (JD Wetherspoon)

Must be one of the longest pubs in the country, stretching a whole block between two streets. Nothing much to say about the semi-modern interior, except that the single room just goes on and on... Pretty dull real ale selection too from just five of six handpumps, with the 'international' Air Reet Eagle (£2.19) being the pick of the bunch.

On 16th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


grant bjorkelund left this review about The Justice Mill (JD Wetherspoon)

Yes the front of this place looks rather depressing, you walk in and its dark until you get to bar then dark again when you pass the bar from the other end, you get a rather good pint in there but i like a pint of ale now and again and its rather poor for choice, the place has its good but a rather amount of dodgy characters use the place as its very cheap, the food is very cheap and to be honest its like eating a microwave meal, ive complained several times but no one is interested. You sometimes have to wait ages for a drink whilst staff stand and chat, staff often short change you, as in all jd wetherspoons pubs they put the toilets so far away by time you get back you need the toilet again, the disabled toilets are a right disgrace with undesirabled using it, staff dont check it, if you use the disabled toilet at back be warned as you leave tap on and the water raises in the toilet which is illegal, i dont go in there much as they dont put on live football when its on bbc or itv unless its the world cup, this place needs a very big job to bring it back to its natural way.

On 22nd August 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 21 recommendations about 20 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Justice Mill (JD Wetherspoon)

This Lloyds No.1 branch of Wetherspoons has a small and quite ugly frontage on Union Street which is hardly the most enticing start. Inside is a bowling alley of an interior that never seems to end. The décor is contemporary and it seems quite dark and dingy despite the subtle tones of the modern lighting. A series of booths down one side have wooden arch covers that make it feel like you are sitting in bus shelters.

The ale selection is quite poor by Wetherspoon standards, especially in a city the size of Aberdeen, with just 1 guest ale supplementing the regulars. Everything else about the food and drink is trademark ‘Spoons, cheap and cheerful, good value for money but largely forgetful.

There are a couple of TVs and and at the far end, a Big screen that was showing World Cup football during our visit. This end backs on to Jusitice Mill Road, hence the pub name, and from the high ceiling with its lighting rig, I presume that this is the clubby end at the weekends.

Very much a below average Spoons in a city where there is some healthy competition and overall, not a place I would particularly wander back to in a hurry, especially once the club evenings kick in.

On 23rd July 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


William Purnell left this review about The Justice Mill (JD Wetherspoon)

A Lloyds No1 Bar in the Wetherspoon stable

On 18th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 218 recommendations about 205 pubs]