User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Hogs Back Taproom - not a pub? with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The William Morris (Lloyds No 1), Hammersmith, W6

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Swan Island, 2-4 King Street
W6
W6 0QA

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Pub SignMan left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No 1)

This is a typical London Wetherspoons branch with a prime location just off Hammersmith Broadway which has been branded as a Lloyds No 1 bar. Some nice, well-tended hanging baskets on the front of the building make the place feel quite enticing as you pass, but once inside, you’re confronted with a rather dated looking example of the chain. A central walkway from the King Street entrance has sizeable seating areas to either side, with a carpeted high table and stool area to your right and a bare boarded raised section to the left, full of standard tables and chairs. Several wood-clad pillars break up the front space, many of which have been decorated with modern pieces of art or the usual ‘Spoons local history boards. The walls also have plenty of dark wood panels, which helps make the place feel like a proper pub, perhaps even a bit cosy, which isn’t something you’d normally associate with a Lloyd’s No 1 bar. The panelling continues down the right-hand side of the room, all the way to the rear where another entrance can be found. The servery is along the rear wall too, starting from the point where the pub turns 90 degrees to the left, and it has a nice dark wood counter with some mosaic tile inserts and a typical mirrored bar back. Further seating can be found here, including some high tables and stools in the area directly around the bar, eventually giving way to banquette booths as you move further to the left, and eventually a raised seating area with plenty more tables and chairs next to a third entrance.
Ten handpulls offered five ‘Spoons regulars and just three guest ales, with two pumps out of action. I tried the Oakham JHB, which was good, as was the service, which was prompt and friendly, despite some hefty crowds around the bar when I first arrived. I also stopped here for a quick bite to eat and, as always, the food was out nice and quickly and represented good value for money.
I felt like I’d gone back in time when I stepped into this place, as it has the feel of a late ‘90’s Wetherspoons and is very much out of step with the sort of venue they seem to prefer these days. I quite liked that the place has a proper pub-feel to it, but I’m not sure it really achieved anything above and beyond that. It’s a reliable option when you’re looking for a quick drink or bite to eat in this part of town, but better all-round pub experiences can be had elsewhere.

On 29th November 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No 1)

A less than exciting modern exterior, particularly compared to the Swan next door, but inside is fairly comfortable and larger than you might expect, zig-zagging round the bar to further areas and a back entrance behind. And yes, Ray, there are numerous nods to Willam Morris himself, including sample displays but mainly the whole carpet which is to one of his original wallpaper designs! (see previous review). Of the two banks of handpumps, one seemed to be devoted to the regular stuff with the other carrying mainly guests. A reasonably pleasant Spoons.

On 30th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2265 recommendations about 2213 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No 1)

A fairly average Spoons that was a former Lloyds no 1. Disappointingly no feature walls of William Morris wallpaper to be seen anywhere. Then again would anyone really notice it anyway. We popped in on a Saturday morning and the place wasn't that busy, unless all the punters had gone alfresco down the side street entrance. The beer choice on our visit wasn't all that, so with a limited choice, we went for the Oakham Citra.

On 23rd June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No 1)

An above average JDW near the busy Hammersmith tube and bus station. The layout is well described, below. Ales on this time were Abbot, Doombar, Wimbledon’s SW19, Windsor and Eton’s Windsor Knot, Spitfire, bombardier and Little John. The pint of SW19 I had was in truly excellent condition, one of the best ales I’ve had in a Spoons. It was let down by the behaviour of some of the customers, but you can hardly blame the pub for that. I’ll definitely be back to use my coupons when passing.

On 31st August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2586 recommendations about 2560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No1 )

Visited on a whim as we finished up in the Hop Poles early. Wasn’t expecting much but was really quite impressed in context. The interior layout is a snaking single floor Spoons with dark wood panelling but well-lit. Loads of interesting ales available and almost no stagers - impressive for a busy Friday night. Sampled the Portobello Market Porter and Windsor & Eton Conqueror; the former was very good and the latter close to perfection. Now of course I may well have got extremely lucky but I can only judge based on my visit and I left reluctantly for my train. Not often you can say that about any visit to a Spoons, especially one in Hammersmith. 7.5

On 26th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No1 )

This is another 'spoons (I know it's Lloyds No 1 branded, but there's no real difference) a stone's throw from the Plough & Harrow. But this one is a bit superior in my opinion. There's an enormous space inside, but it's divided into separate areas because it stretches between King St and Lyric Square, and thus seems a little less barnlike than the majority of 'spoons. But everything else in here is typical 'spoons - prices, furnishings, decor, and customer base.

I had a half of Darkstar Meltdown (£1.20), and although a bit of an offputting name for a beer, it was absolutely superb. But Darkstar ales usually are. I fancied a tuna baguette, which seemed OK for £4.79, but the barman said that I get chips or salad for the price (chips obviously), and if that wasn't enough I got a pint (Twickenham's Autumn Red this time) included. Great value, but I think that from a "drink sensibly" perspective an option to but it without a pint might be an idea. This pub provides everything you expect from a 'spoons.

On 18th December 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No1 )

Not too bad if it is a sunny day and you can get a table in the square outside the side doors. Otherwise, you might wish to avoid this dingy hole with its unnecessary music and some fairly dubious customers arguing with the door staff. Beer-wise it's generally OK, but only six of the ten handpumps were on during my latest visit although thankfully four of these offered local Twickenham beers e.g. Four Grains at £2.45. Had all Lloyds No 1 branding removed in 2012 so seems to be a regular 'spoons again now.

On 5th November 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No1 )

I really don't understand how a geezer that flogged a few rolls of rubbish wallpaper to B&Q could get lionised by having a pub named after him. He must have been pretty stupid as moving from Waltham Forest to Hammersmith could never be a good idea.

The pub named after the man is officially a Lloyds No 1 despite being advertised as Wetherspoon on the outside and having an interior that is typically a Spoons. It's a low ceilinged room with very little natural light which makes it quite grim, but if the beer's OK who cares? There are signs around warning not to leave bags unattended, which is a bit off-putting.

There are ten pumps with a fair selection of ales which would have been better if they were all available. They were GK IPA and Abbot (no Ruddles), Yeovil Ruby which had gone off, Young's Special, Hobgoblin, Hawkshead Cumbrian 5 Hop, Three Castles Autumn Daze, Bingham Brickworks Bitter (Available Soon), Twickenham Yakima Valley ABA (Available Soon) and Portobello Carnival.

I went for the Cumbrian 5 Hop (£2.55) which was in excellent condition.

It is rather a grim interior and the beer choice was not as good as the one down the road, but it's not a complete disaster. The Swan, a GBG listed Nicholson pub is literally next door so those who don't like it here can swap over and pay a pound or more extra for a pint.

It's very handy for the Hammersmith & City and Circle Underground station, where I made my escape eastwards.

On 13th September 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No1 )

A large Lloyds variant of the Wetherspoons chain. You know the formula and what you're going to get.If you want character head next door to the swan.

On 1st March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2705 recommendations about 2648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The William Morris (Lloyds No1 )

I find this place really depressing - it's dingy, grubby and needs a bloody good clean and is probably one of the gloomiest 'spoons I've ever visited. On the good side, of course, is the normal decent range of well-kept ales of the chain. Overall, however, well below average.

On 5th August 2011 - rating: 3
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]

Page: 1 2