User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Plough & Harrow (JD Wetherspoon), Hammersmith, W6

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
120-124 King Street
W6
W6 0QU
Phone: 02087356020

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Plough & Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

I had to put my sunglasses on when we walked in here, with the brightly coloured orange and red walls. This modern style Spoons is very retro in décor and would suit a prime spot, maybe on the seafront in Brighton. The pub wasn't overly busy on our Saturday morning visit, just a few at the bar and the rest tucking in to a breakfast, maybe they called in from the nearby Holiday Inn Express. We found the beer choice much better than the Spoons up the road, so we went for the Ascot Final Furlong.

On 25th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Plough & Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

Pretty much as described below. The staff were not the most welcoming – the barman was rude, the waiting staff less so. There was an annoying clique of locals blocking the bar so it was difficult to see what ales were on, though with a bit of persuasion they made way to reveal pumps dispensing Abbot, Doombar, Trumans Swift and Bow Bells, Bison By The Horns, ELB Mandarina, Old Peculiar and Sambrook’s Junction. Not really worth the walk up from the station.

On 17th October 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Plough & Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

This is as bogstandard a 'spoons as I've visited. The barn of a room is carpetted and crammed with cheap tables and chairs, with some tall tables/tall stools of course. But the cheapness of the place is reflected in the beer prices - my half of Twickenham Autumn Red was £1.05, which is very good by London 'spoons standards.

But they did have one thing that I hadn't seen in a pub before. Prominently displayed was a tall (eight foot or so) sign specifying how to go about ordering food in a pub in nine different languages. This must be useful, as there is a Holiday Inn as part of the same premises, which must presumably attract overseas visitors. This is a standard 'spoons; it's nothing special.

On 18th December 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Plough and Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

Large bright and airy Wetherspoon's that served a good range of real ales at the right price. Much more of an open plan than the other jd up the road.

On 19th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Plough and Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

Don't be deceived by the original pub name, this is a converted car showroom! A more appropriate name may have been "The Moon Under The Holiday Inn" as it is housed beneath what must have been one of the original Holiday Inns that is now badged as a Holiday Inns Express whatever that means.

It's a huge room with the bar on the right as you enter and large windows down the left. If you imagine a converted car showroom then that's exactly what it is like! The decor is rather modern, in fact it looks more like a Lloyds No 1 than the real thing down the road.

They had ten pumps, all in use with no duplicates or uninvited guests. There were GK IPA and Abbot (no Ruddles), Adnam's Ghost Ship, Young's Special, Adnam's / Sixpoint Bengali Tiger, Inveralmond Pundie, Great Newsome Pricky Back Otchan (is that a foreign beer?), Wadworth's / Chelsea Sunset Red, Dark Star Hophead and Oakham JHB. It's a bit more expensive than other Spoons, but not as dear as I expected it to be as Hammersmith is virtually Central London (£2.40 for standard guests and £2.55 for premium). I went for the super premium Bengali Tiger (£2.70) which was in excellent condition. The pub has lost the GBG status it had for 2013 in the 2014 issue, which is a shame as despite the higher prices and hideous modern decor it was the best of the five Spoons visited on the day.

On 13th September 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Plough and Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

This defo the better of the 2 Mcspoons in Hammersmith.Large straight bar with plenty of light flooding in with windows all the way round.Always a good selection of guest ales and kept in good condition.Not a great fan of Wetherspoon chain but this is definitely one of my favourites.

On 20th February 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Plough & Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

Modern 'spoons at the quieter end of King Street. Not much to comment on architecture-wise, but it does benefit from having extensive windows under a covered walkway along the side of the building which prevents the interior from looking too gloomy. With ten handpumps, the selection is usually pretty good (with several festival ales on e.g. Smuttynose Murrikan Mild at £2.25 during my latest visit). Overall, certainly rather more enticing than the William Morris up the road.

On 7th April 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Plough and Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

OK on the outside but I always feel it's dingy and grubby around the edges inside - I just never feel it's clean. Usual decent range of well-kept beers and cheap microwave pre-pack food of the chain at cheap prices.

On 16th July 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Plough and Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

There has apparently been a pub on this site since 1419 however the last Plough & Harrow before Wetherspoons resurrected the name dated from 1903 and was demolished in the 1960’s. The current incarnation opened 2002 and is housed in a modern block shared with a Holiday Inn. That may sound horrendous and, to be honest, this was never one of my favourite Wetherspoons but I have slowly warmed to it on my more recent visits.

The modern interior is rather bland and, like most ‘Spoons, a bit soulless although it is all neat and tidy if a bit departure loungish. The pubs is deceptively large and fully open plan apart from a small separate room at the rear that I have only just discovered despite being here on about a dozen occasions. The glass frontage and sides do let in a good amount of natural light making it quite fresh and airy and it doesn’t suffer from feeling cramped or claustrophobic. There are some modern prints and the usual displays of local information giving a potted history of the area's theatres, buildings and personalities.

Beer wise, there are 10 hand pumps and they generally have a good selection of guest ales alongside the usual suspects. I have eaten here out of convenience on several occasions and never had cause for complaint although service at the bar can sometimes be a bit wanting

The pub is a fair trek from the tube station and far enough out of the way to lose the Apollo crowds so it comes in handy as a meeting place or for a quick couple of cheap pints and quick meal. My visits have always been early evening and getting a table is never a problem. I have also yet to encounter any problematic customers and compared to the William Morris nearer the station, the Plough & Harrow feels like paradise.

On 1st June 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Plough and Harrow (JD Wetherspoon)

Ultra-modern Spoons with a chrome and glass feel. A long and narrow interior has a room at the rear for diners. The bar, broken up at intervals by pillars, is not ideal for getting served in a timely fashion. Talking of the bar, there were plenty of handpumps with a good range of ales on and the two I had were in great shape. The glass frontage overlooking the pavement and main road is a decent place to bag a seat. I was expecting to run the full gamut of dossers given the location but the clientèle were much more civilized than I expected. Ideal if you’re gigging at the Apollo (I was) and I’d be happy to pop in again.

On 1st February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]

Page: 1 2