User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon), Chichester

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
West Street
Chichester
PO19 1QD

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

We tried visiting this city centre branch of Wetherspoon's on our last visit to Chichester on Christmas Eve, 2017. On that occasion, we walked in only to find an empty pub with staff not serving due to a flood (I believe that was in the cellar).

Back again on a sunny Sunday afternoon, the pub was much more lively. It's a typically large Wetherspoon's with seating in various sections. Its bar stocks the usual 'spoon's staples - Greene King Abbot, Ruddles Best & Sharp's Doom Bar with 4 not particularly local guest beers - Purity Mad Goose, Lancaster Black, Ringwood Old Thumper & Redemption Big Chief. There was no real cider that we could spot.

This pub's location opposite the magnificent Chichester Cathedral and within easy reach of the city centre shopping area, along with its range of cheap real ales and mass-produced food will always draw the masses, but I found it below par by Wetherspoon standards.

On 27th June 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2452 recommendations about 2451 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

Nice exterior but bog standard Spoons inside, a generally mediocre beer lineup was saved by Oakham JHB, It wasn't enough to make me want to return though.

On 2nd January 2020 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1871 recommendations about 1844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

Spoon's in a splendid Georgian building, but the interior is hampered by a central staircase so feels smaller and a bit poky. A fair range of mainly local ales alongside the usual offerings, otherwise pretty predictable.

On 26th December 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3334 recommendations about 3271 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

This large 'spoons opposite the cathedral was packed on my Saturday morning visit but also pretty soulless.

Long and quite dark in parts, the bar occupy’ s most of the right side of the pub as you enter and is pretty long. 12 hand pumps with 8 different ales and 1 real cider on. Being 6 Nations time, I choose a rugby inspired pint from Langham's Brewery Nice Try @ 4.5%, a decent & well kept pint.

The pub was packed with barely any spare tables, most of the clientele were eating with not so many of the usual ‘spoons crowd in here on my visit.

A fairly non descript review of a pub that didn’t do much for me.

On 27th March 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

This old hotel has been converted to a large relatively opulent single room Spoons as well described below. It was getting quite late on my visit so didn't get to note all the beers but did spot Dark Star Winter Meltdown & Revelation, Adnam's Rogue Brutal IPA, King Lost Kingdom, the usual 2 GK beers, Doom Bore and a Langham's beer.
I went for the Adnam's Rogue Brutal IPA which not only was not in that good nick (cloudy) but unless I was overcharged was a ridiculous price for a small town Spoons, £3.19. They have two casks of this in my local Spoons so I know I will be drinking it there for £2.35. If I ever return to Chichester I will probably avoid coming here and the score is knocked right down for the poor expensive beer.

On 9th February 2015 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

For me this was one of my better Wetherspoon experiences, and due to its position just down the road from our Travelodge accommodation, it was utilised for morning brecky and mid-afternoon beers, although we avoided it in the evening when like a lot of ‘Spoons it turns into a crèche for the local youth, and especially in a place like Chichester where the local council has kept any nightclubs from being opened in the town.
Firstly it’s a former pub, being the original Dolphin & Anchor dating from 1910, when the two neighbouring separate Inns of the Dolphin and The Anchor were combined into one pub. And although the internal space is quite large by other Chichester pub standards, it’s not a cavernous soul less space like some of the Wetherspoons conversions can be.
Secondly, the double aspect corner position with lots of windows, and the use of light wood and light colours makes this quite a bright and airy Wetherspoons.
And last and most importantly the two banks of six pumps on the main bar on the right as you enter. were all going during my couple of visits and with only three given over to the usual house ales, this left plenty of choice on the others. These included a good range of locals including Langham’s Black Swallow and a couple from Ballards with the Best and Wassail on.

On 19th June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2102 recommendations about 1988 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

For a long time this Wetherspoons has had a poor ale range and of not very good quality but on my recent visit this was much better. Place was packed as usual but let's hope that the current manager keeps up the nice selection of ales in a town that has lost a lot of charming pubs to the restaurants and chic market.

On 22nd October 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

Large Wetherspoon's in the city centre that gets packed.Not a very good selection of real ales on my visit.Better off going to The Bull

On 25th July 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

Situated in a prime location directly opposite the cathedral (serving up free God burgers on the green which made for a handy snack), this is a JDW with 12 ale pumps though only six different ones were actually on. My Itchin Valley was good enough, even if the dilapidated pump clip kept falling off during the pouring process (other ‘guests’ were Bishops Finger, Hobgoblin and 49er). The interior is basically one large room that dramatically narrows in the middle to accommodate the toilets. The skylight above the bar in this area makes for some welcome brightness. A number of the walls are tiled and painted red, which looked quite smart. Not sure what the striking golden thing atop the building exterior was. Middlingly pleasant as far as Spoons go.

On 18th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5072 recommendations about 5055 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Dolphin & Anchor (JD Wetherspoon)

A traditional-looking building from the outside, with no obvious corporate branding and a prime location directly opposite the cathedral. Inside, much as you would expect except that a lighter shade of wood has been used than in many other 'spoons and thus it has a lighter feel, particularly if you get a seat near the windows. Twelve handpumps, with a couple of duplicates and two "Available Soon" but a reasonable selection of local ales including a fine pint of Arundel Castle at a very reasonable £2.15.

On 3rd February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 8086 recommendations about 8086 pubs]

Page: 1 2