User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 3 with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon), Birmingham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
The Arcadian, 70 Hurst Street
Birmingham
B5 4TD

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Distinctly unremarkable 'spoons comprising a large, irregular 'L'-shaped space with various different seating areas and a few patio tables out front. Dimly lit, with two separate bar counters. Ten handpumps in total, but always has lots of duplicates and mostly the usual Ruddles / Doom Bar / Abbot suspects, with Stonehenge Great Bustard being the most interesting thing on offer on my latest visit. Always a disappointment, but I get drawn back occasionally as somewhere to eat if arriving on a late train before stopping overnight in one of the nearby hotels.

On 6th July 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Not the best Spoons in the world, it has to be said. There is a bit of a bizarre layout with two separate bars despite the fact that the place is pretty much open plan. There was a set of hand pulls at each bar but these were duplicates, including Doom Bar, Ruddles, Oakham JHB and another guest that I can't remember.

It was particularly busy on Sunday evening and there was a group of 9 of us but we managed to pounce on a table when one cleared so we could all sit together. We ordered food and some of the options weren't available due to a problem with the grill (so basically beefburgers were out) and we got a rather funny look of the barman when we tried to order pizza off the kids' menu and he said rather sarcastically "this is Wetherspoons mate, we don't do pizza" - I pointed it out to him on the menu and he explained they use the same menus nationally and some pubs may have a pizza oven but they don't. I didn't much care for his attitude though.

Nobody seemed to be in any kind of rush to clear dirty plates or glasses off the tables and they were stacked up all over the place.

Overall a dark gloomy Spoons with service to match. Its one saving grace is that there is no upstairs area so the toilets are on the ground floor.

On 14th November 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 541 recommendations about 482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Not the greatest spoons. My pint of Golden Newt tasted like there was one living in it and had to be returned. The Double Maxim was also off so only IPA and Abbotts to choose from - I chose neither. Thank god for the range of craft beers - the Devils Backbone saved the day! The food was decent though - perhaps I just called at a bad time for beer.

On 11th April 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1088 recommendations about 1045 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Set in Brum's Chinatown this is a fairly untypical JDW. It's rather dark and gloomy inside with a low ceiling, lots of wood and a mix of tiles and wooden floors around the bar areas. There are two bars and only the smaller one as you enter was in use. On a rainy Tuesday afternoon it wasn't all that busy.
The beer choice was poor with GK IPA & Abbot, Doom Bore, Backyard Spring and Green Jack Trawlerboy's Best (I think!). I had a go at the Steak Club mixed grill here (£7.99) which included a drink so I went for the Banks's Devils Backbone on keg. The mixed grill was up to scratch. The standard guest ale price here is £2.49.
I didn't think too much of this one but I've found in general that JDWs in the centre of large cities are inferior to their suburban counterparts.

On 15th May 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Have to agree with most other reviews. A really poor Wethers with only 5 beers to choose from. Its a large enough place and was pretty full on this Wednesday afternoon visit. Not one to be rushing back to.

On 30th September 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Pretty poor JDW , very quiet on my early Saturday evening visit with only a dozen or so customers in .
Not a great selection of ales and my Backyard Hoard was pretty ropey .

On 26th April 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 781 recommendations about 670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

A modern Spoons' pub/eatery with patio area, formerly O'Neills, and a part of the Arcadian Centre. There are two entrances, in brown, in an unispiring building of brick and white. There is an open plan L-shaped room that is in green, blue, patterned wallpaper, wood panel and having a stone area and fireplace that seems as random as the customers. The usual Spoons food was served, which does the job if it isn't too complicated. The service was fine. There was no music and the TV was silent news. Mirrors and info boards are on the walls, along with a few pictures. Beer; usual stuff, with four ales from arong the world - I had something called 'O' from Norway - but to be honest, I can't be too sure. It turned out flatish. Spoons have been getting a little better in my personal opinion (beer-wise) however, this wasn't great. Flip-a-coin, heads try it, tails don't.

On 9th April 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

The Dragon Inn was my first port of call on my Birmingham crawl.
I thought it would be fairly quiet at 9.20 in the morning,how wrong could i be,the place was heaving and only one poor bar person serving.
The interia is roughly L shaped with two seperate bars,i went to the front right bar because the other bar to the rear left was not in use.
The pub has pretty low ceilings and a wood floor and the usuall spoons seating.
I noted 5 beers on the bar where i orded my beer,i had a drink of Salopian Darwen which was a very nice drink,the other beers i noted were Maxim Double Maxim,Beowolf Dragon Slayer,plus Spoons regulars Abbot and Ruddles best.
I was happy enough having a drink here,it just took so long to get served,luckily the people waiting formed a queue which meant we all got served in the right order,i was pleased with this because after i joined the queue a gang of 20 lads came in wanting beer and breakfasts before going to the cricket.

Pub visited 17/8/2013

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Although this Wetherspoons continues to be up and down, most recently its been on the up. Its more unusual lay out and seemingly more attentive staff makes it a notch above other Spoons and on a par with Briar Rose in Birmingham.

The beer choice remains smaller thn some Spoons but my locally sourced Backyard Blonde was a very good pint and actually better quality than other nearby specialist real ale houses.

Hopefully on the up and a good source of beer in Southside.

On 8th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Dragon Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Oh dear, oh dear. I believe the principal behind Wetherspoons pubs is fine, but I personally can't get on with all of them, though there are fine examples.

The main priniple of having a good choice of often well kept beers is great. Here, however is the worst example I nhave met of this. On my visit they had one, yes one, cask ale - that being a Marstons staple.

It is ok in side, but must admit I left for a pint next door in the Old Fox.

On 8th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]

Page: 1 2