User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Felix Holt (JD Wetherspoon), Nuneaton

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
3 Stratford Street
Nuneaton
CV11 5BS
Phone: 02476347785

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Felix Holt (JD Wetherspoon)

Ah.... JDW on a Saturday Afternoon - the equivalent of being trapped in a real life Hogarth Painting.

Its all there....

Filthy Tables
Prams parked next to mobility scooters
Pensioners on their hands and knees after the loose change dropped by someone else
Parties doing shots at 1pm
An airport length single file queue at a long bar

The beer was excellent - Oakham Inferno - and ordering from the Apps bypassed the bar scrum. Nine chips on my dinner plate. Facebook has suggested I might be interested in joining the "Wetherspoons Paltry Chip Count Club". I did and it is hilarious.

On 15th November 2021 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1355 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Felix Holt (JD Wetherspoon)

There was a large smokers committee meeting outside,while the interior is square with the bar along the far wall and raised booths along the left side.Library books filled the high shelves on both walls.It's unremarkable but proving popular on Curry Thursday with a friendly hubub around the place.The handpumps are split into the 3 for the trio of Doom and 6 guests which on my trip were Orkney Red McGregor,Saddler's Mud City Stout,White Horse Wayland Smithy,Purity UBU,Davenports Summer 'Telse and a decent Byatt's Urban Red .All guests at £1.99,no "available soon" signs and ale in good nick fully justifies the 2020 GBG entry and makes this a very worthy stop on any crawl around town.One of the better 'spoons.

On 27th September 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2748 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Felix Holt (JD Wetherspoon)

Enjoyed our visit to this Spoons that appears in the 2019 Good Beer Guide with friendly service and a decent choice of ales on offer. There were a couple of Oakham beers on and the Blue Skies IPA was fine.

On 27th March 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1339 recommendations about 1222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Felix Holt (JD Wetherspoon)

I agree with Aqualung, this is a pretty outstanding Spoons. The pub was busy on our Thursday night visit and we found the service to be fast and friendly. Also they had a decent selection of ales across their nine pumps. We went for the Backyard Hoard and Byatt's Regal Blonde, one of my favourite breweries.

On 4th July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Felix Holt (JD Wetherspoon)

This is very much an old school Spoons getting it's name from someone in a book by some bloke or other. It's a square low ceilinged room with typical furnishings wood panelling and books on the side walls.
The bar is at the far end and has a bank of three hand pumps and another bank of six. The JDW Trio of Doom are banished to the group of three while the main set had a good selection consisting of Oakham Citra, Purity Saddle Black, Evan Evans Fly Half, Adnam's / Stone Amber Ale, Byatt's Regal Blond and Elland Nettle Thrasher. I went for the Citra, Saddle Black and Regal Blond (all £2.29) and all were in excellent condition. The Oakham Citra in particular was outstanding.
I really liked this one and will definitely return as I discovered later that I had missed a new micropub just around the corner.

On 2nd February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Felix Holt (JD Wetherspoon)

Oh Wetherspoons, oh Wetherspoons, why oh why. This is as typical a stereotype Wetherspoons as you are ever likely to find. One open plan room, standard furniture and pine fittings, poor service, including the wrong order, depite the number of people on. The one saving grace here was the 5 real ales kept very well, but apart from that..head, meet brick wall..

On 28th July 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1456 recommendations about 1434 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Felix Holt (JD Wetherspoon)

Pretty ordinary 'spoons, but with a good selection of Real Ale festival beers on at £1.55 per pint (including the interesting, hoppy California Pale Ale) one really can't complain too much.

On 12th November 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Colin Gooch left this review about The Felix Holt

Typically uninspiring Wetherspoons. Beers and lagers well kept and the service is brisk and efficent but oh dear the food is dire. The cod & chips looked as though the cat had played with it and the filled baguettes were like trying to chew an old training shoe.

On 21st March 2008 - rating: 4
[User has posted 60 recommendations about 57 pubs]