User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Euros Prediction League with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon), Leamington Spa

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
112-114 The Parade
Leamington Spa
CV32 4AQ
Phone: 01926883733

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

Fairly typical spoons with a reasonable choice of beers. The first selection I made had to be returned as it was like drinking a pint of vinegar! Having said that it was changed without fuss and my second choice was fine.

On 23rd June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1102 recommendations about 1046 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

Reopened after a two week refurb, though non-regulars would be forgiven for not noticing. It remains as described below, but with new carpet and lick of paint and so on. Immensely popular with the usual Spoons brigade as well as shoppers during the day and students later on. It's also the obvious breakfast spot for residents of the nearby Travelodge and Premier Inn.

On 20th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 524 recommendations about 516 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

As noted below this is an old school conversion of two shops. The two shops provide natural areas with the bar on the right and seating on the left. It's a big place that extends back a long way and I didn't even notice the upstairs area.
The twelve hand pumps had the JDW Trio Of Doom doubled up, one available soon, four festival ales and Backyard Hoard. I went for the Lancaster Admiral Archer (£2.15) which was in good enough nick but hazy. I thought this was an average Spoons.

On 4th April 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a decent enough JDW. We had breakfast here one morning (hard fried egg though) and called in both nights for a drink. Very narrow, but it goes back a long way. There are 2 entrance doors at the front and 1 at the rear. The main area is split level and there's also a raised area at the rear with booths. A good selection of guest beers on the bar and all the ones I had were in good nick. Unusually for a JDW there was a darts match being played on our Monday night visit. The teams pub had closed suddenly and they'd asked if they could play the rest of the seasons matches here. JDW said yes and installed a dartbord for them. A nice touch.

On 6th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2870 recommendations about 2789 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

This is very much an old style looking Spoons inside. The pub was on two levels, the main bar was situated on the right and down a few steps to a lower seated section. As the pub was so long and split into two levels with lots of booth seating areas, all as I can say is that it felt like being on a ship. 11 ales and 2 ciders on handpump. On this midweek visit, I went for the Harpoon IPA, as the American Craft Festival was on.

On 11th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

An attractive dark blue frontage, the right hand side looks like another ship they've knocked the place into. Very long, dark and cavernous inside, with a 1997 JDW ‘catalogue library’ section to the left and plenty of their catalogue booths from the same ‘brown’ era. The long bar hosted an impressive array of ales and my Innis & Gun was in good shape though the cloth-eared barmaid thought I'd ordered a pint and a half and got on the grumpy bus when corrected. Unusual for a JDW in that one of the TVs was switched to the horse racing with sound turned up, attracting a gaggle of slackjawed punters. Packed out on my visit with no spare tables on a Saturday afternoon, this must be one of Mullet Man's biggest money-spinners despite the fairly perfunctory feel.

On 1st November 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

Two-part 'spoons, cobbled together from adjacent buildings on a slightly different level, and not obviously a pub with frontages little different from the nearby shops. Plenty of seating available in the large upper and lower rooms. Busy, but efficient bar and food service. 12 handpumps offering a pretty good selection of beers from smaller breweries (e.g. Milestone Loxley Ale at £1.90).

On 24th March 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6214 recommendations about 6214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

A long thin standard Wetherspoons between two streets.

I actually prefer the other Wetherspoons, the Jug & Jester, but one of the guys I was with preferred this one, mainly due to the fact you're more likely to get served and a seat here, but its all too standard for me.

On 16th October 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

Usual standard Wetherspoon's with not a lot in the way of guest ales.

On 24th June 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


mick spall left this review about The Benjamin Satchwell (JD Wetherspoon)

The pub in general is what you would expect from a Whetherspoons the food is good, the ale is good and the service is good except for St Georges day when the Polish manager would not serve anyone wearing anything to do with England, I wonder if this would happen on Paddy's day. needless to say I will not be using this place until he has gone

On 25th September 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 4 pubs]

Page: 1 2