User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bars with no draught with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon), North Cheam, Sutton

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
552-556 London Road
Sutton
SM3 9AA
Phone: 02086441808

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Relatively bijou Spoons in a slightly peculiar location away from the main hubbub (a 1995 opener which probably explains things). Nothing particularly striking décor-wise, some light coloured wood along with some booths; I wonder if this was an early attempt at a refurb of the older parts of the estate before Timbo got more confident at being original. Notably clean, all tables cleared and the mature staff were lively. Four guest ales which seemed a stretch given the size of the place but no problems with my Oakham Bite The Bullet (NBSS 3.5).

On 15th June 2024 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5322 recommendations about 5305 pubs]


Pub SignMan left this review about The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Pretty much the only pub in this part of North Cheam, this is a very simple, single room, open plan branch of Wetherspoons. The pub occupies a vaguely rectangular room with carpet throughout and low wood wall panelling beneath cream uppers. The servery appears midway down the right-hand wall and has a modern wood panelled counter with shiny brass foot rails, polished stone top and a decidedly uninteresting, modern mirrored bar back. Seating comes mostly in the form of standard tables and chairs, with high stools to the front and some comfy looking banquette booths down the left and rear walls. A few small pillars through the centre do very little to break up the space but perhaps show us how the pub was converted from two shop units. A few smart shelving units opposite the bar are full of books, bottles, paintings etc, whilst the walls have the usual local interest photos, plain mirrors and a few 'Spoons information boards.
The three regular Wetherspoons ales were all doubled up across the banks of handpulls, although there were still six guest beers, which were all seemingly part of the ongoing beer festival. I tried Steel and Oak Easy Stout, all the way from Vancouver, and a bargain at £2.25 a pint. It was a very nice beer, served to me by a friendly barmaid, and had I not needed to dash for a bus home, I would happily have stayed for a second. I also ate here and found the food portion to be generous and the service as prompt as always with this chain.
South London 'Spoons are all a bit much of a muchness in my experience, and this suburban branch certainly slotted nicely into that category. What it lacked in charm and interest, it made up for with good service and great beer, so all in all, I ended up quite enjoying my time here, even if the pub itself just blurs into the mass of 'Spoons from this part of the world. Its great to have this option in what is a bit of a beer desert, but I wouldn't make a trip out here especially.

Date of visit - 14th October 2023

On 5th January 2024 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3166 recommendations about 3166 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Standard-issue 'spoons, converted from the ground floor of a very dull block, with the usual low ceilings and limited natural light. However, the furniture and decor are lighter than some, so that helps a bit. Moderate selection of real ales from the two banks of six handpumps, from which I selected the 'international' Naikita (that would have been great value at £1.99 but which had, perhaps, been sitting in the pipes for a while).

On 5th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 8268 recommendations about 8268 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

A basic Spoons setup as described below,two banks of six hand pumps, one set was all usual Spoons suspects,while the other six were more of interest, these were
Butcombe Rare Breed,Marstons Empire IPA,Redemption Pale Ale, Redemption Hopspur, Butcombe Crimson King and an international beer collaboration ,Yeastie Boys Golden Perch, brewed at Wadworth's brewery. The pub itself did little for me but my pint of Rare Breed was very good.

On 24th June 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1968 recommendations about 1941 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

North Cheam is a dismal ribbon of suburban sprawl along the busy A24 not to be confused with Cheam itself a mile or two up the road and a good spot for pubs. All the usual stuff is present and correct, second hand car dealerships, drive through Maccy D's, places selling builders' stuff, chicken and kebab shops. You could be on the edge of any city really. This one though, has a branch of Wetherspoons sitting in one of the low-rent parades of shops, which is slightly out of character. The Wetherspoon's itself isn't, that could be anywhere too and it's very much their usual shop-conversion arrangement. Much the usual JDW clientele too, and very busy early evening mid-week. Service was as slow and half-witted as you expect; Sambrook's Wandle when finally obtained was in poor shape.

Does what it says on the tin.

On 19th February 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 574 recommendations about 566 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Given the name of this pub I arrived on it's doorstep not really sure whether it actually existed or not. Happily it did! It's off the beaten track for a Spoons as the nearest station is a long way off. It's situated on the A24 through North Cheam, being part of a small suburban area of shops.

This is a fairly typical Spoons that was doing a brisk trade on my visit mainly with the local retired folk eating out. They were somewhat unprepared for the Autumn beer festival as there were only two on, the other ten pumps having the two GK beers, Courage Best, London Pride, WJ King Harvest and Brighton Blonde, Hepworth's Prospect, Adnam's Sixpoint Bengali Tiger and one unused.

The Innis and Gunn Toasted Oak and Thwaites / Elysian Avatar Jasmine IPA (Both £2.15) were in good nick.

On 20th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a standard conversion Wetherspoons pub. It comprises of one longish room, with the bar counter on the right, some booths down the left hand wall, and serried ranks of normal tables and chairs, plus a couple of tall tables and tall stools, down the middle. Being a Thursday, the beguiling aroma of curry pervaded the atmosphere.

It’s a struggle to say anything about this pub that I haven’t already said about countless other ‘spoons. But I’ll try - my pint of Titanic Molly Brown Ale was top notch and almost certainly my beer of the week, and at festival prices further reduced by a CAMRA voucher to £1.65 a pint certainly cheered me up.

On 4th April 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

A typical open plan Wetherspoons layout but with a few booth type seats seperated by half height partitions. Not as large as some of the brand and probably better for it. There is a real fire on a side wall complete with fireguard and bookshelves either side. A statue of Henry VIII stands guard between the two sets of entrance doors (Nonsuch Park, a former Royal hunting ground and palace is just up the road). There is also a framed appreciation of Edwin Landseer, Queen Victoria's favourite artist who lived nearby at one time. The central bar rather surprisingly had six guests beers, two real ciders plus the usual range of Ruddles and so on. It doesn't look much from the outside but I found this place rather good for a 'spoons.

On 2nd January 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1708 recommendations about 1681 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Nonsuch Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Usual Wetherspoon's with a fair selection of guest ales

On 21st November 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]