User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 5th December 2021) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Corn Exchange (Lloyds No1), Leicester

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
1 Corn Exchange, Market Place
Leicester
LE1 5GG
Phone: 01162538533

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Corn Exchange (Lloyds No1)

One large room with an island bar. Twelve hand pumps. Couldn't spot the speakers that you'd expect from a Lloyds outlet, but there again, I didn't look for them.

On 17th March 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Corn Exchange (Lloyds No1)

I'm surprised none of the reviews below have picked up on the fact that this one is a Lloyds. There was music playing at a fairly high volume when I arrived here late on a Thursday afternoon. As mentioned below it's a huge wooden floored room with an island bar and an upstairs area that I didn't look into.
The bar has ten hand pumps which had the JDW Trio Of Doom doubled up, a cider, Wold Top Wold Gold, the Everard's International Defender and Ascot Anastasia Stout. This isn't a bad selection for a Lloyds but it all got a whole lot better when I noticed that the latter two were "Manager's Specials" going out at £1.70 a pint. Given the standard guest price of £2.35 I would have expected these to be £2.49. I went for the stout which was in perfectly good condition. The cheap pint was a bonus but probably shows that they struggle to sell the real ales here.
I thought this was a better Lloyds than most but only average as a JDW.

On 29th June 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Corn Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a 2 floored JDW with an interesting balcony. It's quite a smart pub and there are loads of screens all around the pub. I called in on a Thursday night at about 9:30 and it was pretty busy, but not stupidly so. I got served fairly easily and watched the football showing on the big screen behind the bar. My pint was fine and there were quite a few guest ales available alongside the usuals. It's a decent JDW in my experience.

On 20th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2928 recommendations about 2846 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Corn Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

Was back in again Friday last week for a pre crawl-of-Leicester pint and primarily for the low cost breakfast which can be made even lower cost with a CAMRA card as this gives 20% off food as well as 20p off a pint in this particular 'Spoons.
The other good news is that the overpowering purple interior I experienced last time has been replaced with a toned down pastel colour that is much more pleasant.
The bad news is that the local 'personalities' who stalk the bar area of the Corn Exchange have not been replaced and were out in force at 11.00AM on a Friday morning. How you can get that loopy so early in the day is a mystery to me.
I still like this outlet of the Wetherspoons empire, but if they could loose the local nutters I could review it higher than the average I gave it last time.

On 26th March 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1770 recommendations about 1714 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Corn Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

Housed in a landmark city-centre building with a grand front staircase originally used to access the first floor level. Central island bar in a rather cavernous space also featuring a mezzanine balcony. Reasonable range of real ales from ten handpumps, including Sadlers JPA (£2.15).

On 22nd March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Corn Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

Massive and very busy Wetherspoon's on two levels. Had a very good selection of real ales.

On 22nd August 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Corn Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

I’ve been to a few Wetherspoons up and down the country, and as they go I liked the Corn Exchange. Firstly it’s a fine old building, which has probably been saved from the wrecking ball by making it a pub, so full marks to Mr Wetherspoon for that. This one is bloody big with a central bar area and lots of seating to left and right, and then a very impressive mezzanine floor with lots of seating. The only negative was the strange Purple colour chosen for the décor.
And secondly the food and beer were reasonable quality and cheep. Four Sunday roast and beer deals for £22.00, served promptly and efficiently, and you can’t say fairer than that.
The downside ?. well , as usual the cheep beer and spirit prices attract those that would be better off attending The Priory, even at 1.30PM on a Sunday Lunchtime.
And especially ones in High Streets or Town Squares next to market places like this, can attract a real mixed bag of clientele.

On 14th February 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1770 recommendations about 1714 pubs]