User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon), Gravesend Town, Gravesend

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
181-183 Windmill Street
Gravesend
DA12 1AH

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Robert READ left this review about The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon)

GREAT STAFF, ALWAYS

On 19th May 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 84 recommendations about 63 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Robert READ left this review about The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon)

Noisy, loud, brash but good microwave food and cheapest beer around. You know what you are getting and to be honest I like it.
Breakfast to die for, hide in a booth and pretend you are somewhere else....

On 19th May 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 84 recommendations about 63 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon)

This pub is named after a bloke who ages ago published books for children including one called Reading Made Easy. Why write a book about that? Just go to Paddington and get on almost any train or if you're not in a hurry go to one of the higher numbered platforms at Waterloo
This one is apparently a converted bed shop dating from summer 1998. At around 10:45 on a Friday morning it was busy with a fair contingent of the Spoons daytime brigade. There are two main areas the front one has the bar on the right and mostly tall tables while the rear area down some steps is quieter and has just lower tables and chairs for eating.
On the bar there were two banks of six pumps with the 2 GK Beers and Adnam's Broadside. Also were Long Man Copper Hop and Otter Bright available soon, Westerham British Bulldog, Dark Star Hophead, Caledonian Nogne O Asian Pale Ale, Marston's Old Empire, Wold Top Wold Gold, Hobgoblin and a cider. I went for the Hophead which was in pretty good nick but had a slight haze but I did spot a pint nearby that wasn't all that clear and one that was..
This is probably a slightly above average Spoons. It is GBG 2015 listed, I'm not sure on the basis of this single visit if that is justified. As the school reports would say "could do better".

On 19th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon)

The Robert Pocock was busy with diners taking advantage of the cheap Wetherspoon’s fare during my Friday afternoon visit. The interior consists of a bar and seating area, another seating area down a few steps and some balcony seating upstairs where the toilets are located. There is also a disabled toilet opposite the bar where some snugs are located. Unsurprisingly there is a plasma screen that was showing muted rolling news.
Standard draught is available and I counted twelve hand pumps that were drawing a mix of JDW regulars and guests.
There are extended opening hours until midnight except for Fridays and Saturdays when it is 1am.

This place is pretty much what I would expect from a Spoons, nothing special but handy to know of.

On 11th March 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon)

It seems that a town ain’t a town these days unless it has a Wetherspoons and Gravesend’s Robert Pocock (a local historian, naturalist, antiquarian and printer) is probably one of the above average members of JDW family.

There pub is an amalgam of 2 buildings with entrances at both ends in different streets. The large interior is quite rambling, if a little cavernous in places, but with lots of alcoves and recesses to tuck oneself away. Further seating can be found on an upstairs balcony from where you can admire the dangly sculpture that resembles something from a 60’s space programme. The usual snippets of local history, characters and old town photos are dotted about and the usual discounted food and drink apply.

There was a good range of Festival ales on my most recent visit although 2 or 3 guest beers are usually the norm and whilst there are 2 or 3 pubs nearby that can now match the ale selection, they obviously can’t compete on the prices.

I have been here on several occasions at various times of the day and evening and, maybe just by sheer luck, have never encountered any of the usual undesirables that normally grace such establishments although I dare say they do make an occasional appearance.

On the whole, I have always had a decent time here and would certainly rank it among the better 'Spoons in the area although I can understand those to whom it would come over a bit run of the mill.

On 6th April 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon)

Only ever use this as an early house and that's about it's only redeeming feature.

On 3rd March 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon)

A JDW established in a well restored old building in the rough bit of Gravesend's town centre, the Robert Pocock represents the worst of Spoons's traits. The door was guarded by manky-looking gang of teenagers smoking and getting in the way. The loudmouthed staff consisted of 3 people behind the bar but only one was prepared to serve, and there were very few customers. Six ales and one cider on. I had a pint of Tom Woods's Vanilla Orchid which was too cold and not enjoyable. I will not be in a hurry to come back.

On 30th November 2010 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2424 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon)

Large Wetherspoon's with a single bar and a couple of drinking/eating areas with a further drinking area upstairs. As of most of my visits to this pub there is not much in the way of guest beers. Several times the locals were complaining that the beer was "too clear"!

On 20th July 2008 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2039 recommendations about 2020 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Robert Pocock (JD Wetherspoon)

A better-than-average Wetherspoons, with a pleasant lunchtime atmosphere and a wide range of customers. A good selection of real ales, as you would expect.

On 25th June 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]