User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
In the Hop Garden with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon), Bromley

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
23 Westmoreland Place
Bromley
BR1 1DS
Phone: 02084641586

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

We had the misfortune of arriving in here on Halloween, so service at the bar took ages, plus people with no manners trying to push in front. This large barn is featureless apart from coloured panelled art glass, illuminated from behind, found at the back of the pub between a row of seating booths. Annoyingly there was a large back of gaming machines positioned opposite the bar near the seating area, where we found a seat. Ale wise three from Sambrooks, plus the usual suspects and Adnams Ghost Ship. We went for the Ghost Ship which was in excellent shape, maybe fresh on for Halloween.

On 22nd November 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

one of those dreary one roomed open plan Spoons but at least it’s reasonable on a morning. I wouldn’t want to be here when it’s busier. nice beer choice so probably a decent option for Bromley.

On 1st February 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 735 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

A very brief visit due to a train connection, not the best spoons I've been in, a barn of a place and it was absolutely heaving. Handy for Bromley South station though. An L-shaped space, curved frontage, slightly raised areas here and there. As the last pub of the day it did a job. Three or four on as well as the usual trio. The pub is named after the childrens' author who resided nearby.

On 26th November 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

The Richmal Compton is a Wetherspoons pub that is almost opposite Bromley South train station,so it was off the train and straight in here.
Once inside there is a large L shaped room with the bar on the right side,there are raised areas to the front front right and rear left,the seating is mainly normal tables and chairs with just a few tall ones,the rear right area is set aside for family dining,children are not allowed out of this area.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Weltons English Pride which went down very well after my journey down here,the other beers i noted were Upham Stakes,Oakleaf Flakes,Banks & Taylor SOD,Acorn Bulls Eye, plus the usuall Spoons beers like Ruddles and Abbot.
The pub was very quite and almost empty on my mid Saturday morning visit,i was happy enough having a well laid back drink here.

Pub visited 14/2/2015

On 14th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

Large 'L'-shaped bar, with modern furniture and decor (hinting at its former guise as a Lloyds No 1 bar). Reasonable selection of real ales from the ten handpumps, including Milk Street Zig Zag Stout (£2.29) on my latest visit. Handy for Bromley South station.

On 29th September 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a converted supermarket rather than shop dating from 1999 and is diagonally across the road as you leave Bromley South Station. I arrived here around 12:30 and it was starting to fill with young suits from the nearby offices. I think I prefer the usual Spoons daytime saddos to this lot. It's a huge barn of a place with large windows down one side making it fairly light.
Once again the dreaded Doombar was here as an uninvited guest. There were ten pumps, with one line being cleaned, the two GK beers and the boring Doombar that left six guests. These were Brewster's Calamity Jane, Young's Special, Deuchar's IPA, Double Maxim with Portobello Carnival and By The Horns Diamond Geezer as two Locale beers.


I went for the Diamond Geezer (£2.29) which was in good condition.

On 31st August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

Just over the road from Bromley South station, the Richmal Crompton is very handily located for anyone looking for a quick pint whilst awaiting their train and, given that it’s a Wetherspoons, will probably be the first port of call for anyone arriving in town for the first time. The pub used to be a Lloyds No 1 Bar but has since been rebranded as a standard Wetherspoons and the interior reflects this by falling somewhere between the two. It has a large L shaped interior with a wide space at the front packed with seating before the servery appears along the right hand wall. Opposite there is ample room for vertical drinking as well as a raised section under some large windows which look out over the adjacent arcade. The room extends to the rear right, past the end of the bar where another large open space has been filled with tables and chairs and a few smart looking booths line the back wall. There are also some large bookcases here, around which a few sofas have been arranged. The décor is typical of the chain, such as the images of famous people with local connections on the walls and the TV screens showing rolling 24 hour news channels.
I counted ten hand pumps at the bar, but just three guest ales were available on my visit. I opted for a pint of the Batemans Summer Swallow and was very pleased to find it was in excellent condition. The staff were, with the odd exception, a surly but efficient bunch and the food I tried was no better or worse than you’ll find in other ‘Spoons outlets.
Some of the comments below made me wonder what horrors might await me in here on a Saturday night, but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed a lovely pint in familiar, if uninspiring, surroundings. Bromley has little to offer in beer terms, so I would consider this place to be a relatively safe bet for future visits.

On 20th September 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

This pub is named after the lady who wrote the Just William novels, and who was also a teacher at Bromley High School when she really got stuck into her writing in earnest. The pub is a bog standard Wetherspoons and is typical of the brand, being an enormous drinking barn, with the usual mix of tall tables/stools, sofas, and normal tables and chairs. It’s fairly characterless, but is ideally placed opposite Bromley South station, and of course provides the usual range of cheap beer (there were six guest ales on during my visit – the Orkney Red MacGregor I had was £2.35 a pint) and pub grub. Numerous prints of miscellaneous people adorned the walls (Darwin, Malcolm Campbell, David Bowie, Siouxsie Sioux, et al).
This is not the sort of pub you make a beeline for to enjoy a traditional pub experience, but it does what it sets out to do in providing cheap food and drink for the Bromley masses, and is handy for anyone waiting for a train.

On 25th January 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

One of the most unpleasant JDWs it's ever been my misfortune to visit while waiting for a train. It's a large, multi-level modern hall populated by morons - rude, indifferent bimboes (of both sexes, I should add) masquerading as bar staff, humourless yobs pretending to be door stewards and characterless under-twenty fives who seemed unaware that what passes for music and the conspicuous consumption (from the bottle) of alcopops was turning what was left of their brains into jelly. I was tripped over by a girl when I entered, with no apology or even recognition. My newspaper was stolen from the table in front of me by someone who melted into the crowd. When I eventually got a beer (the staff stood apathetically looking around, trying to work out whom to serve next) it was Hopback Bitter, one of 9 ales on; it was far too cold and well past its best - it took so long to try to get it changed that I had to leave it and go for my train.

Never again - next time I'm in Bromley I'll find somewhere else.

On 16th June 2011 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Richmal Crompton (JD Wetherspoon)

A very large Lloyds No 1 bar selling a fair range of real ales. Can get very busy. opposite Bromley South railway Station.

On 26th June 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]