User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Snacks with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon), Welling Central, Welling

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
55 Bellegrove Road
Welling
DA16 3PB
Phone: 02083041600

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon)

Another day, another' spoons. I was in too late for the traditional breakfast, so went for the healthy option of 10oz gammon steak with chips and peas. At £8.55, and including a pint of excellent real, not too bad a deal. Guest ales in here were £2.15 a pint, which is about the cheapest I've seen in a 'spoons recently when they weren't having a festival. I failed to note all the beers, but as I recall there was a decent selection of guest ales available, which seems to have been an improvement on that experienced by the previous reviewer.

But the pub has all the usual 'spoond characteristics. They have a raised area at the back, and then it's up a another couple of flights of stairs to reach the toilets. It's a bit of a hike if you're sitting at the front of the pub, as we were. It's a standard conversion 'spoons, which did the job it was supposed to do when we were looking for a bite to eat in the middle of the afternoon.

On 29th October 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon)

Before the fire a few years ago this was a pretty decent Spoons where you could usually find an interesting pint. On the strength of two recent visits this has clearly changed. The building still has a similar layout but any concept of a decent choice of beers seems to have vanished. The right hand bank of six hand pumps have just the JDW Trio Of Doom doubled up while the left hand bank included two ciders leaving a possible total of four guest ales. The four supposedly available were the latest International beer from Banks's Brewery, Hogs Back TEA, Marston's Bombardier and Brain's SA. I went for the International one which it transpired wasn't on. the clip was still showing when I left but the Bombardier one was not there. I had a TEA and an SA (£2.15) which at least were in good nick but brown and boring.
It's still a reasonable building but the score drops to 4 for the rubbish beer choice and deliberately advertising beer that the staff know aren't available.


Visit 26/07/2014

The beer today was nowhere near as good as last time. I tried a Portbollo VPA which was pretty poor, a Clarence & Frederick Amarillo which was reasonably OK but not as good as it could be and the Westerham 1965 was much the same.
Maybe a cleaning of the lines is due or some casks have been exposed to prolonged heat but it was disappointing and I've knocked the score down to 7.
On the plus side I did get a Flaming Dragon curry with trimmings for a "Special Offer" £3.99.

Visit 29/11/2013

This Spoons is GBG listed and for once I am in full agreement. It does have the nicotine bouncers on the door and a large contingent of the daytime Spoons brigade at the front, but none of this put me off. It's the usual shop conversion but it does have an unusual layout with various different levels as described below. More importantly there was a good selection of beers from the twelve pumps even though three (Oakham JHB, Brains SA and Theakston's Black Bull) were available soon. The ones on were the two usual GK offerings, Ringwood Best, Directors, Hobgoblin, Green Jack Red Robin and Clarence & Frederick's Cascadian Black. The Cascadian was so good I felt compelled to stay for a second pint. There's not much else in the area pub wise with the notable exception of the rather unusual Door Hinge a walk or a short bus ride East of here.

On 3rd September 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon)

A large modern style Spoons, which really stands out along the high street. I also liked the amount of space in here with lots of seating areas on different levels. The curved bar on the left hand side of the entrance was smart in style and well illuminated. Two banks of six handpumps, with the majority being the usual suspects and some coming soon. We did manage to spot Southwark Brewery LPA, which was an added bonus.

On 17th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon)

I saw nothing inside to confirm to me that this was once a bank however would you expect to find the opulence of a City bank in an outside suburb, probably not. The interior is of more interest than many high street JDWs being tiered up to three levels as you move towards the rear. Beyond is an outdoor area for al fresco drinking and the smoking fraternity. The bar is at the lower level as you might expect, service was efficient and brisk although many of the more interesting beers had the dreaded "Coming Soon" label attached. I was here for an early kick off football game including my team so had a spoons breakfast which didn't disappoint and I have to credit the girl who served both my pint and food order as being simply lovely in attitude as well as all the rest.
This apart, what's on offer, a spoons, probably a better one but with less than usual standard toilets. The usual notes on the walls included stuff about highwaymen on the old road out of London and the nearby Danson Estate.
Worth a look in before settling in for a few in the Door Hinge micropub up the main road.

On 9th March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon)

This reasonably large Wetherspoons pub on the main drag through Welling was previously a Natwest Bank - something not entirely apparent from its present layout, which sees an unusual three tier, split level set-up. You enter into the large ground floor area with a curved servery over to the rear left. A mix of quarry stone, carpet and mosaic tile flooring helps create areas which feel a little different from one another, as opposed to the usual uniformity of Wetherspoons design and décor. There is loads of standard seating, including on a raised, bare boarded area to the left which also boasts bookshelves and a TV screen showing rolling news coverage. A front mezzanine area looks down over the main bar and seating area, whilst stairs at the rear of the room lead up to two further seating areas. The first of these is relatively small, with a drinking ledge and high stools overlooking the main bar area, a long banquette serving two tables, exposed brickwork and a few modern art prints on show. The top level meanwhile has standard tables and chairs plus a couple of booths, a rather bland colour scheme and some floral wallpaper. Access to a rear outdoor seating area can surprisingly be gained from up here. Although the pub doesn't have the opulence of the city centre 'Spoons bank conversions, I did still feel that the place looked a lot classier that your average suburban Wetherspoons branch and enjoyed a relatively relaxing pint in comfortable surrounds.
The bar supports twelve handpulls which were dispensing five 'Spoons regular ales and five guests, leaving two pumps unclipped. Having literally just read about their beer in the London Drinker magazine, I was pleased to find Bexley Brewery's 'Redhouse' on one of the pumps and enjoyed a well kept pint of it. The pub is apparently one of the best places to catch this relatively new brewery's beers.
I was pleasantly surprised by this visit and could quite happily have stayed here for a couple more. It was starting to get a little hectic on my Saturday evening visit, so can imagine there are good and bad times to visit, but I left with a favourable impression and thought it was a good contrast to the nearby Door Hinge micropub.

On 7th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2423 recommendations about 2423 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon)

Named after a local Turnpike Trust Compnay who managed the toll road income that went a fair way into developing the local infrastructure, this is a reasonably sized, fairly modern style Wetherspoons with an reasonably appealing interior that is certainly less representative of the chain than the norm.

The larger front area has a raised section to the left with bookcases and one of the 2 muted TV’s present. The angled bar is centrally located ahead and beyond this, a few steps lead to some additional seating and a small patio at the rear.
Stairs near the main entrance lead up to a curved balcony and a surprrisngly pleasant and secretive roof garden. There is a good deal of natural light emenating from the largely glazed frontage and skylights making the place feel quite airy.

The beers and food are the usual ‘Spoons offerings with 4 or 5 guest beers across the 12 pumps ranging from some the ruglar suspects to a few more obscure micro choices and some middle range stuff not commonly attributed to the chain. I’ve never had any problems with service and whilst Welling isn’t the most luxurious area, I have never seen any major issues with customer behavior.

Overall, one of the more aesthetically pleasant ‘Spoons outlets in my experience and certainly one of Welling’s better drinking options.

On 2nd May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon)

A typical wetherspoons but welcome in this area that is devoid of anything decent.
Serves a purpose but not much else.

On 28th August 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon)

A large bar downstairs with a gallery upstairs.Every thing in this pub seems to be upstairs including the rear outside drinking area.Not much in the way of guest beers but the ones I did try were in good order.

On 29th November 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The New Cross Turnpike (JD Wetherspoon)

Nothing much to look at from the street, but inside it is pretty spacious (if dark) with further seating in a brighter area upstairs and a roof-top area outside. Lots of handpumps, with a decent selection of festival ales and usual suspects. My pint of Saltaire Bulldog Brown Ale was an excellent way to spend £1.79. Must be about the best pub in the area for proper beer.

On 24th April 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]