User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon), Ross-On-Wye

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Gloucester Road
Ross-On-Wye
HR9 5BS

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

Standard JDW. Two things were notable on my visit on the day before the country went into (mini) lockdown 3 - the whole of the UK in Tier 3 or Tier 4.

Proof of address was required. I am in Worcestershire, same Tier as Herefordshire but had no ID with me. The manager stated he would refuse service unless I could prove my domicile but did say an online receipt with address would suffice. Fortunately, I had been shopping the day before and had an email. In my mind, hospitality is either safe or unsafe, regardless of where you house is. I dont think pubs are doing themselves favours with this sort of draconian vetting.

In better news - a glorious pint of Theasktons Old Peculiar was £1.29.

On 4th January 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 697 recommendations about 691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

Modern and bright spoons with the usual beers on plus a couple of guests. We had a quick lunch in here but it wasn't great to be honest. I'd call again for the beer but not the food!

On 26th April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1087 recommendations about 1044 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

We were just about to walk back out after seeing all the pumpclips displaying the usual Spoons suspects over their two banks of five pumps. We did manage to spot one guest, which was Grainstore Ten Fifty which was decent enough. This was a well run and respectable Spoons, just a pity the beer choice wasn't a bit more adventurous on our visit.

On 8th January 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

Behind a traditional redbrick Victorian exterior lies a modern light, bright and airy JDW, housed, obviously, in the old Post Office. Given the interior décor I assumed it was a relatively recent opener but it appears to have been on the go for well-over 10 years, so maybe Timbo dipped in his pockets and gave this place a spruce-up a while back? 4 guest ales, I went for the Exmoor and Oakham JHB which were both in good nick. Rear patio (not necessarily with the finest views!), vaulted ceilings, skylights. Maybe a little dull but I was pretty happy with it as a Spoons experience.

On 16th July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

As noted below this is an old Post and Sorting Office. JDW have a number of them and these buildings don't always make the best Spoons. This one is no exception being a relatively small JDW with a low ceiling at the front where the Post Office Counter would have been and a larger high ceiling shed behind with the bar on the left and some alcoves on the right. Tall tables are near the bar and by the front windows. Again as noted below the whole place resembles a school dinner hall.
The bar has two sets of five hand pumps which had Abbot and Doom Bore doubled plus Ruddles on one set and Bespoke Golden Rule, Ringwood 49er, Bombardier, an "International" beer from Caledonian and a festival cider which it transpired wasn't even on. I went for the Bespoke beer (£2.49) which was in good nick. I came here on day two of the Cider Festival so thought it was pretty poor not to have any on. Despite the limited beer choice this is GBG 2017 listed. I thought it was poor and beat a hasty retreat back to Gloucester where the Regal had a chill cabinet with eight festival ciders.

On 9th July 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


jp cumbria left this review about The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

Plain and functional Spoons with school dining hall ambience. Popular with the locals, it is efficient and well run. Not a big choice of ale, with 3 regulars plus 3 extra - probably more in the tourist season. Had 2 excellent Bespoke and a good Wold Top with my nicely served meals.

On 15th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 22 recommendations about 22 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a terraced Spoon's pub and eatery, with patio area. It was, of course, the old Post Office, built in the last years of Victoria's reign. The building is in the typical red brick of the period, in a 17th century style. It has stone moulding around the doors and windows, with a couple of front gables and a rather unobtrusive oriel window. It is in the GBG 2013 for some reason. The interior is a long, straight room. It is blue at the front and green and cream at the back. It has an open roof, with skylights, and a few information boards on the walls - it is tidy enough other than the food scraps and the somewhat unappealing ducting. The TV wasn't on and there was no music. The service wa sfine and the clientele the usual Spoons mix - it has a family area. Beer; usual tap stuff, with Abbott, Ruddles, Ringwood 49er, Marston's Celebration Pale Ale, Lymestone 7 Stone Weakling (too cold and flat) and Lancaster Red. Another Spoons that makes in into the GBG despite inconsistent beer - yet again. I tend to drink half pints, as only every other one is any good.

On 24th August 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

As the name suggests, this was the old Post Office originally built in 1899 and closed in 1999 before opening as a Wetherspoons in 2001. Externally it still has all the Post Office hallmarks but the interior appears to have had a modern but tasteful refurbishment that fortunately doesn’t echo ‘Spoons usual faceless plastic image.

The front section was the old public space whilst the extended area where the main bar is now housed was the sorting office. The bar is quite airy thanks to the high pitched roof with its sizeable skylights. 2 incongrous air conditioning pipes run most of the legth of the roof. Opposite the bar are some tall backed upholstered booths whislt the rest of the furnishings are fairly standard. The décor includes some blue tinted old pictures that blend well with the simple colour scheme. There is a small patio at the rear which will probably be of more appeal to the smokers than al-fresco drinkers.

There were 10 pumps with a decent enough selection of guest beers available alongside all the usual ‘Spoons bargain goodies. My visit was on a Saturday lunchtime and all seemed quite mellow and civilized but I can’t speak for the evening crowds when such places sometimes take on an altogether different ambience.

Overall, this isn’t a bad little place and I’m sure that most people would find it above the normal JDW experience.

On 17th April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about The Mail Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

Another converted post office. it stands in the center of Ross on Wye.The place itself is wheelchair friendly but the only parking is on street. The road is very busy which can make transfer from vehicle to wheelchair, and back again , quite risky. Ross is also hilly in places.
The pub is well run with tables quickly cleared and it has a clean feel which is sometimes lacking in busy pubs.The smokers congregate at the rear where a patio overlooks a building site.The clientelle are a presentable bunch with plenty of grey haired crumbly visitors giving the place a civilised air.Plenty of real ale, tried the Titanic Triple Screw which I sank faster than its namesake. Very good.

On 14th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]