User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

The John Russell Fox (JD Wetherspoon), Andover

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
10 High Street
Andover
SP10 1NY
Phone: 01264320920

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The John Russell Fox (JD Wetherspoon)

Unexceptional Wetherspoon's in old newspaper offices. Low tables at the front, with a high tabled area near the bar, then a surprisingly large room to the rear mainly used by families and diners. There is one separated room to the side which offers some escape from the general melee. A reasonable selection of beers, including a couple of interesting local ones

On 3rd August 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2479 recommendations about 2424 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The John Russell Fox (JD Wetherspoon)

Bland uninspiring and horrible place. Yes all the beers were on but refer to the first four words.

On 5th August 2017 - rating: 2
[User has posted 1468 recommendations about 1451 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The John Russell Fox (JD Wetherspoon)

Well described below, I would just add that there is a rather unsightly lift used to raise wheelchairs and other stair-challenged items from the main bar area to the upper bar area at the back. I found the bar staff rather dull and apathetic, one female in particular who provided a temporary distraction as we watched a small drop of snot accumulate on her nose ring before plummeting to the bar, thankfully missing the beers; we didn't think she even noticed. The young chap waiting at the tables was much more energetic and hygienic. There was the usual collection of chav families with bleating babies, but otherwise it wasn't too bad, even by Andover standards. The beers on the 10 handpumps were TPA, Old Thumper, Razorback, Ascalon, Doombar, Ruddles, Abbott, Old Hookey and 2 ciders, so actually not a bad selection. A cliché, but a safe bet if pressed.

On 12th July 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2772 recommendations about 2740 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The John Russell Fox (JD Wetherspoon)

I assumed when arriving at this place that it was a shop conversion but apparently it was the offices for the local rag. As noted below it's a typical JDW with a wider area for food at the front then the bar area and another food area at the rear. It was doing a good trade on my Thursday early afternoon visit.
The bar has ten hand pumps which had the JDW Trio Of Doom, GK IPA, Caledonian Edinburgh Castle, West Berks Dr Hexter's Healer, Maggs' Mild & Mr Chubb's Bitter, Flack Manor Cracker and White Horse Village Idiot. I went for the Dr Hexter's which I'm not sure was as good as it could be but was drinkable.
I thought this was a fairly average JDW but at least there was no beers doubled up or available soon.

On 3rd February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The John Russell Fox (JD Wetherspoon)

One of those larger-than-it-initially-looks 'spoons with several different seating areas as you go further back. Apart from the preserved Intertype machine near the front, there is little to say about the interior apart from the fact that the furniture and decor is relatively light and helps avoid too oppressively a feel as you move away from the windows. Reasonable selection from two banks of five handpumps, including a pair from Flack Manor (e.g. Flack Catcher, £2.49).

On 31st January 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6687 recommendations about 6687 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The John Russell Fox (JD Wetherspoon)

Not exactly improved much since my last visit, though the Intertype setting machine was mildly interesting.

December 2011
Andover’s JDW, this was surprisingly quiet for a Saturday as usually there’s barely room to swing a cat in most Spoons at that time. Basically a long narrow room with the bar to the right, it’s the usual Wetherspoons interior with nothing too interesting to report. Two guest ales in addition to the standard Abbot, with others ‘coming soon’ – (not being fully stocked up on a Saturday evening is a dereliction of duty, surely?) . Anyway, the Stonehenge was good but the Everards Sleigh Bell was pretty ropey. The quiz machine wanted to pay and we walked away £15 better off, so I’d return for that at least. Otherwise, pretty weak. Rated 4

On 27th January 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 4219 recommendations about 4206 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The John Russell Fox (JD Wetherspoon)

Unmistakeably a Wetherspoons, blue signage, all doors across the front street face, bar towards the rear, light wood furniture of mixed types, part carpeted, those odd screens/shelves, old photos and information boards of local interest, old newspapers as well, low staffing levels although this lot are quite friendly and quick; tables in the middle at an angle, leather sofas at the front; oh and no beermats but the usual ephemera of menus and other stuff littering the table. There are a few more machines than usual for JDW and the low rent customers aren't as noisy as in some 'spoons, the more refined customers were, well, normal drinkers. The beer, on 10 handpumps, was well up to scratch on this occasion and the outside screened off area free of nicotine addicts.

On 13th June 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2462 recommendations about 2253 pubs]