User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon), Fratton, Portsmouth

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
78-82 Fratton Road
Portsmouth
PO1 5BZ
Phone: 02392779742

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon)

This mid-sized branch of Wetherspoons looks like a typical shop conversion from the ubiquitous chain but is in fact located in the former headquarters of the Portsea Island Mutual Co-Operative Society – a fact that is illustrated in several photographs dotted around the place and elaborated upon on the front of their menus. It’s a fairly run of the mill, single room set-up with a large open space helpfully broken up by numerous pillars and assorted sections of former partitioning walls. The servery is found along the left-hand wall and has a pretty nice dark wood counter and basic, typical ‘Spoons bar back. A few high tables and stools have been positioned opposite the bar, but the room has mostly been furnished with simple tables and chairs supplemented by the occasional row of bench booths, each partitioned by a nice frosted glass screen. The walls are half panelled, which might well have given the place a bit of a classic, traditional pub feel, were it not for the fact that the uppers have been painted a drastic shade of yellow, tempered thankfully by the numerous information boards, old local photos and odd bit of bright modern art which hides large swathes of wall space. The inclusion of a dartboard is a nice touch and keeps this place in line with a lot of the nearby back street boozers which tend to have boards of their own.
There was a mighty fine ratio of eight guest ales to just two ‘Spoons regulars on the bar – a most unexpected sight but one I couldn’t quite bring myself to take advantage on, given the somewhat fragile state in which I arrived here the morning after an extensive crawl around the city. Instead, I took advantage of a cheap and cheerful full English and several refilled mugs of tea. The barmaid here was exceptionally friendly, in a way you stop and take notice of in a ‘Spoons, as it’s so unexpected.
On entering, I felt like I’d been in this pub a hundred times before, such is the formulaic nature of its presentation, but over time, I warmed to the place, thanks to the interesting history of the building, the warm, cheery service and the wide, admittedly unsampled, ale selection. The pub has a good location around the corner from Fratton station and would be a good bet for a stop-off before embarking on a journey.

On 19th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon)

The John Jaques is an open plan spoons with a bar that supports ten hand pumps. The usual cheap Spoons food and meal deals are available. I found the service to be very friendly and on point. I was surprised to see a dartboard, I think this is a first in a JDW for me.

On 10th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon)

An average one room Spoons which is only a couple of minutes walk from the nearby train station. The pub was surprisingly quiet on our Friday night visit, which was around 9pm. I went for the St Peter's Brewery Bloomin' Marvellous and was one of the best beers of the day and only £2 a pint. Whist Mrs A went for the Saltaire Amarillo, which was also in fine form.

On 2nd April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon)

While not the greatest of Wetherspoon's, still a reasonable pub especially for the area. Generally a bright, modern feel although a low ceiling and lots of square edges do not help the atmosphere. Reasonable beer range including local guests and usual 'Spoon's facilities, although unusually including darts. Has a side outdoor area off the pavement.

On 18th August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2265 recommendations about 2213 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a shop conversion that consists of a single open plan square room.
I turned up here on an early Saturday evening to find it in a completely shambolic state. Two television screens were blasting out football at a ridiculous volume despite there only being a minority of those present watching. I went up to the bar to find that four of the ten beers had gone off and nobody seemed to be doing anything about it. Needless to say this "family friendly" pub was devoid of any families.
The beers available were the JDW Trio Of Doom, Spitfire, Welton's Headless Horseman and Flack Manor TPA. I went for the Headless Horseman which was in good nick and is the only thing that saves this dump from the Score Of Shame. Astonishingly it appears in the 2017 GBG.

On 17th October 2016 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon)

Standard 'spoons, albeit with a partially opened-out interior that effectively breaks up the space a bit. Two banks of five handpumps on the counter; mostly usual suspects, but a few interesting beers such as Itchen Valley Russian Winter (£2.40).

On 27th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon)

Occupying a former Co-operative Stores, this is a large squareish room which pretty much follows the JDW format seating wise with crammed in tables, carpeted and the bar along one side. There is a through fireplace centrally towards the rear which helps to break up the space plus a few piers to the side which again form partially divided sections. Otherwise it is a spoons not a bad one, the football was on with sound, Portsmouth FC scarves behind the bar, good for a spoons a clear dedication to local beers, with a display in a corner dedicated to local breweries and reinforced by the selection including offerings from Irving, Oakleaf and Weltons.
The usual framed montages to local persona, George Meredith, writer and poet, Charles Chubb, local inventor of the lock bearing his name, surprisingly Arthur Conan Doyle, apparently he was a GP in Pompey before relocating to Baker Street. John Jacques himself was a leading figure in the Co-operative movement.
I'd say this is one of the better examples of the chain, reasonable beer selection and a good atmosphere.

On 6th April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon)

A typical High Street JDW, straight out of the box, complete with silent gaming machines, silent Sky tv and a lot of less-than-silent winos. Inside was very dark and dismal. The staff were a mixed bag - one really helpful, friendly chap and another biped that looked like an extra from the "Thriller" video. There were 5 ales on - I had a pint of Ruddles Best for old times' sake and was surprised to find it in very good condition. This pub provided a welcome pint and a meal from the normal JDW range, but I wouldn't make it a regular stop-off.

On 5th November 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2586 recommendations about 2560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The John Jacques (JD Wetherspoon)

Large open plan Wetherspoon's that didn't have much in the way of guest ales on my visit.

On 24th August 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]