User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with AlanH on the Pub Forum

The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon), Hastings

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
29-31 Havelock Road
Hastings
TN34 1BE

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon)

Quite a decent Spoons this one and looks to have had a recent make over from the freshly painted cream and grey finished walls. The pub was busy on our Thursday eve visit, mostly probably as it was curry night. There was a decent selection of ales across ten handpumps, so we went for the Firebird Parody. We also had a laugh with some of the local characters near the front of the pub. One particular Hungarian chap had us intrigued as he was trying to work out how much he had spent on beer in there, frequenting the pub every day over the last twenty years. There were Halloween decorations up and near the front door, was a display for Christmas and a Christmas menu.

On 8th November 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon)

Large Spoon's, fairly low-ceilinged but otherwise a bright uncluttered décor with a slight 1920s feel. Particularly well patronised by pensioners, even for a Spoon's. There is a Covered patio area to the front, handy if you are waiting for a bus, with a smaller patio at the back mainly used by smokers. Visited during a 'Dark side of the Pump' mini-festival so an impressive range of beers on, albeit at the expense of any real cider. Brewers represented included Westerham, Arundel, Roosters, and Exe Valley, alongside the usual Ruddles, Abbot and Doom Bar and condition was good.

On 21st January 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2195 recommendations about 2146 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon)

This is very much a standard Spoons dating from 2001. Apparently the bloke who invented television had connections with the town. I bet he didn't expect to find a place like this 90 years later showing subtitled news on flat screens.
It's one big square room with a low ceiling and a long bar along the right. It's rather dark inside and there is an assortment of tables and chairs. The beer selection compensated for the dreary interior with two banks of five hand pumps. There was something of a Locale festival on and the beers were Westerham Finchcock's Original, Grasshopper & Puddledock Porter, Arundel Black Beastie & Black Stallion, Long Man Copper Hop, Long Blond & American Pale Ale, Dark Star Hophead and London Pride. I went for the Long Man APA which was in excellent condition. This more than made up for the dull disposition of the place.

On 9th February 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon)

I visited the John Logie Baird on Friday evening just before the younger crowds started to pile in and found it to be not much different to the average Spoons. Cavernous, two plasma screens showing rolling news, drinks and meal deals. I have found over the last few years that the quality of service in the average JDW has improved immensely, but the training regime seems to have bypassed the JLB as I was stood at the bar for far longer than I should have been as the barmen walked around whilst staring at their feet. The bar supports ten hand pumps, although one of them had its handle missing, and there is a large selection of standard draught.

This is probably the best pub on Havelock Road, which is hardly a glowing endorsement.

On 2nd October 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon)

I think that the previous comments have just about summed up this pub.The only good thing about it was there was a fair range of guest beers.Best to head for the old town for much better pubs than this.

On 31st January 2011 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danielle Morgan left this review about The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon)

Absolutely disgusted their service and food. Went in roughly a week before xmas and ordered 2 breakfasts. The pub/restaurant was not busy. We waited over 45min before they arrived. When they arrived they were freezing cold practically and the toast anemic. We called someone over who took it away.We also noticed two other people had also sent them back. One Lady sent hers away after and got back before us by a considerable time. I could kind of understand if the place had been busy but it really was not.After waiting another 25min we demanded a refund. Was given one. The 2 men behind the bar looked like they really did not want to be there. One guy who just started his shift as the food was sent back was the only helpful and friendly one there. I am really disappointed. We had been xmas shopping and were looking forward toa nice breakfast and it ruined the morning. Sort it out wetherspoons. There really was no excuse for the disgusting manner in which it was dealt with and the shammy food. I never really complain but this really annoyed me.

On 28th December 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon)

One of the dingiest and unappealing ‘Spoons I have encountered. Hideous from the outside, depressing on the inside, the large interior has all the usual formulaic Wetherspoon traits but somehow it just all seems so much bleaker than even the most mundane ‘Spoons with its low ceilings, dark walls and generally dull ambience. Tables had been shunted aside to create open floorspace ahead of the Saturday night crowds and I shudder to think what it would have been like had I stayed for more than my fleeting visit. The tiny patio at the rear is of little use other than for those wanting a quick fag. The beers are as decent as usual with good 3 guest ales but they count for little in such dull surroundings. If JLB were still around to visit the pub that bears his name, I dare say he would consider it to be more at the black & white portable end of the market than High Definition flat screen.

On 24th August 2009 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon)

It bit like being in a foreign country where you don't speak the language - you just have to keep asking for what you want in English and pointing at it until they get the message... They had a reasonable, if not extensive selection from the current International Beer Festival (with several ununsed handpumps in evidence), with both the Robinson's Nosey Parker and the 'Wild Blue Yonder' from Oregon being in decent condition. Not a great atmosphere, so a middling sort of 'spoons overall.

On 19th April 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Manky Badger left this review about The John Logie Baird (JD Wetherspoon)

The trouble with 'spoons is there is this perception that they are all the same. They aren't. This is in my experience one of the better 'spoons in the south east.
It's not particularly good compared with other local treasures, but compared with other 'spoons, it's OK

20 April 2007
It's a 'spoons, but it's quite good as 'spoons go. They had five ales on, and there's not many places that do that.

On 17th November 2007 - rating: 5
[User has posted 155 recommendations about 154 pubs]