User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Quay (JD Wetherspoon), Poole

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
21 The Quay
Poole
BH15 1HJ
Phone: 01202664380

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Quay (JD Wetherspoon)

A rather poor Spoons by JDW's poor standards, one long extended room with formula furniture, a mere five handles with usual suspect beer with the exception of Titanic Mild, which surprise surprise was off despite the clip being proudly displayed, the beer I finally went for was served in the cheapest, flimsiest plastic cup imaginable. Crap.

On 14th June 2018 - rating: 2
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Quay (JD Wetherspoon)

The exterior of the Quay might suggest that it's a shop conversion but apparently it was originally a warehouse. I saw no evidence of a second floor so assume that on a rainy Tuesday in January it was closed. Inside it stretches back a long way with the bar towards the front on the right. There's fairly typical Spoons furniture with tall stuff around the bar and lower tables and chairs elsewhere. I noticed the food here was more expensive than most other of their outlets nationally. The bar had just five hand pumps with the JDW Trio Of Doom and Ringwood 49er & Boon Doggle, one of the poorest choice of beers I've ever seen in a JDW that isn't a Lloyds. I asked if they had Devil's Backbone and they didn't so had a 49er (£2.69) which was OK but if anything I would have preferred it slightly cooler. £2.69 is expensive for a JDW but 10p cheaper than the other outlets visited in the area.
I thought it was a rubbish Spoons and a complete waste of time.

On 1st February 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Quay (JD Wetherspoon)

A fairly mundane Spoons from the outside but much more interesting within. Fairly narrow but quite deep, there’s a wood heavy interior and attendant touches, feeling like a converted grain store but I guess that’s probably contrived. Two rooms, one after the other and less characterful at the back. Apparently upstairs seating with decent harbourside views but I missed that. Five ales at the bar with three good guests. My Mordue Americana was almost perfect. Lots of offers on and the beers were dirt cheap even by Wetherspoons usual standards. I quite liked it here and would pop in again if in Poole. Given reviews below, perhaps there’s been a change for the better. Mind you I went in way outside of tourist time…

On 26th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Quay (JD Wetherspoon)

A former warehouse converted to a pub in 1996 (then known as The Spotted Cow) and taken over by JDW in 2004, this particular establishment is, by Wetherspoons standards, poor. It occupies a prime 2-story location adjacent to the eponymous wharf. The upstairs is a terraced mezzanine, the ground floor a part-carpeted, part floorboarded narrow bar with the usual seating styles and a restaurant at the rear It is scruffy and dirty, only three ales on and staff whose apathetic indifference borders on charmless ignorance. When I eventually received the pint of Ringwood 49er I ordered, it was over-gassed, too cold and served with a sneer by a supercilious teenager. Tim, in the unlikely event that you're reading this, please consider lessons in courtesy as part of your staff's induction. I don't intend to return for a while.

On 1st September 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2908 recommendations about 2875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Quay (JD Wetherspoon)

Former warehouse, featuring an elongated main bar with more seating upstairs around the mezzanine bar area. Patio seating area out front overlooking the waterfront. Five handpumps on in each bar, with a rather dull selection of Ruddles, Doom Bar, Abbot, Cumberland, Pedigree and Brakspear's Bitter (£2.55) being served.

On 25th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Quay (JD Wetherspoon)

A large Wetherspoon's that goes a long way back from the Quay.It is a bit dark & dingy but there were some good real ales on and it is in a very good location.Friendly staff.

On 31st August 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Quay (JD Wetherspoon)

I revisited this pub recently and I'm happy to report that it was much busier than last time and offered a better range of guest ales at drinkable temperatures. I tried a pint of Mordue Summer Tyne and found it very refreshing and well kept. It's still the archetypal Wetherspoons, with all the drawbacks that suggests, but it is as good as any other the other pubs on the Quay and certainly offers the most interesting beer selection, so if you're intent on sticking to pubs along the Quay, this one would be an essential stop off.
5th Feb 2010
In line with the decline of Poole nightlife, this place was all but empty at 8pm on New Years Eve. There were three guest ales on, two from the local Ringwood brewery, but the Fortyniner was served so cold that frankly, I could have been drinking anything.
The interior is of the typical Wetherspoons style and is notable only for the vast amount of (often empty) space afforded by the large traditional front area, rear lounge section and upstairs bar. Probably best appreciated in the summer with a few tourists making up the numbers and the possibility of sitting out on the Quay.

On 5th August 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2813 recommendations about 2813 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


andrew parr left this review about The Quay (JD Wetherspoon)

Stanard Wetherspoons pub selling the usual food and drink,very nice outside seating area,wether permitting.

On 8th October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 105 recommendations about 100 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dan bert left this review about The Quay (JD Wetherspoon)

First pub of the day on a recent visit to Poole. A number of people in there eating an early lunch plus a fairly large group of more seasoned drinkers sitting near the door. Their loud and colourful language fuelled by fizzy europop made this one of the more depressing Wetherspoon experiences I've had recently.
Upon visiting the toilets upstairs I discovered another bar that was much more pleasant. It was fairly busy upstairs and the windows at the front looked to afford a good view out over the harbour.
My tip would be to go to the upstairs rather than the downstairs. If I ever return I will follow my own advice!

On 22nd March 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 19 recommendations about 19 pubs]